Author Topic: VeraPlus 1.7.3015  (Read 13201 times)

Offline pls90

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #60 on: August 26, 2017, 05:00:28 am »
after upgradint to latest firmware I noticed my zwave network is continuously degrading.
The first picture attached shows network quality before the upgrade,
the second picture shows current network. I am shocked!
When I switched from Vera Light UI5 to Vera Plus UI7 I went the hard route and excluded / included every single device.
Network was very solid, I never had the "can't detect device" issue.
First morning after the firmware update to 3015 I had 3 devices showing "can't detect", the second day there were 5!
Only today I realized how bad my zwave network has become.
I need to downgrade to firmware 1.7.2935.
Can someone please point me to a download link.
I cannot seem to find it.
Thank you.

-edit-
getting even better. I tried to address the "can't detect device" issue with ex-/including one of the devices in question.
Not working any more:
ERROR: Z-Wave network failed to go into learn mode
I tried rebooting 2 times to no avail

- edit 2 -
contacted support, they sent me the link to the previous firmware.
I downgraded and restored the backup from before new firmware install.
Sadly, I still get "ERROR: Z-Wave network failed to go into learn mode"
I will have a look at the zwave network quality in the next couple of days.

- edit3 -
attached screenshot of network after one night
several devices (marked yellow) dont seem to be part of the mesh any more.
They do report status correctly, but all are very close to vera, so probably no message hopping necessary
« Last Edit: August 27, 2017, 02:28:06 am by pls90 »

Offline ceefin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #61 on: August 26, 2017, 10:16:49 am »
Quote
Z-Wave network failed to go into learn mode

I had this same problem. I reinstalled the latest firmware, but haven't had a chance to test it yet. I hope that it works, otherwise I'm going to have to back down a few versions as well.

Offline pls90

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #62 on: August 26, 2017, 04:01:14 pm »
you might be right  :(
Looks like we will have to go back even further, see my edit above.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #63 on: August 26, 2017, 04:15:56 pm »
I must be having a senior moment here. What is the tool you are using to check your z-wave network?
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Karma: +71/-24
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #64 on: August 26, 2017, 04:45:34 pm »
I think this is on AltUI. (under the "More" Menu and in Zwave network)
« Last Edit: August 26, 2017, 04:51:01 pm by rafale77 »
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (138 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 205 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline pls90

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #65 on: August 26, 2017, 05:04:19 pm »
yes, exactly as rafaele77 said

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #66 on: August 26, 2017, 05:50:56 pm »
Aha.. I don't have that installed. Oh well...
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Karma: +71/-24
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #67 on: August 27, 2017, 04:05:18 am »
This firmware is really junk. This is the 4th time my Zigbee chip just died for the 4th time since the upgrade. Regretting to have upgraded
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (138 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 205 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 404
  • Karma: +26/-64
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #68 on: August 27, 2017, 09:56:52 am »
Although I had initial success with this firmware, I have had to go back to the previous version.  NONE of my zwave devices were able to be viewed with the standard web interface.  Interestingly enough, they continued to function in scenes.  RE-installing a backup would result in the zwave devices returning but ONLY for the length of time it took to install the backup.  Once completed, the zwave devices would vanish.

Tech support couldn't resolve the issue on the latest firmware and agreed that I should roll back to the previous version.  They were kind enough to eliminate the prompting to upgrade to the latest version. 

I have two edge boxes with the exact plugins in two different locations with ONE exception.  My home box had the concord 4 plugin.   My home box is the one having fits.  Not saying the concord 4 plugin is responsible, just wondering if it could be causing some issues.

Given that everything is working on this current version I will probably keep this vera edge on that platform.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
VeraSecure; Concord 4 Panel; 6 IP Cameras; Imperiehome; Housemodes; system monitor; DeusexmachinaII; Vera Concierge

Offline pls90

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #69 on: August 27, 2017, 10:19:12 am »
I too will try and go back one more version. to which version did you roll back to? could you please post the download link for that firmware version?

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 404
  • Karma: +26/-64
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #70 on: August 27, 2017, 10:38:17 am »
I too will try and go back one more version. to which version did you roll back to? could you please post the download link for that firmware version?

This link has some useful information: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=32278.0

For the Vera Edge I went back to 1.7.2931.  If you look on the first page of the above link you need to use the links that have download1204 in the address and extrapolate what version the firmware you desire would be.   Please be careful and make sure the firmware you are downloading will work on your device.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
VeraSecure; Concord 4 Panel; 6 IP Cameras; Imperiehome; Housemodes; system monitor; DeusexmachinaII; Vera Concierge

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Karma: +71/-24
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #71 on: August 27, 2017, 12:19:43 pm »
I went all the way back to 7.0.20 on which I had never seen any zigbee problem. Let's see if it holds...
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (138 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 205 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline pls90

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #72 on: August 27, 2017, 03:16:05 pm »
I rolled back to 1.7.2608.
Let's see how zwave network will behave.

-- edit --
zwave network is still stable, no more significant drop outs, BUT
I am still unable to include new devices: "ERROR: Z-Wave network failed to go into learn mode"

I had contacted support before all this started because of a Fibaro binary sensor was not working.
This is what support wrote back:
"I had check the binary sensors, and apparently they were not affected by any issues. Investigating further I had uncovered some z-wave issues which I had fixed by re-writting the z-wave firmware.
However, after I had reloaded the software engine I lost the connection to the unit."

I power cycled my unit as suggested by support to realize that all my physical devices were wiped from my unit.
I restored a backup and since then I have been struggling with degrading network and loss of ability to include devices.
So obviously  "rewriting zwave firmware" has caused all this.
Will have to wait until support gets back to me.

Does writing firmware not include zwave firmware (probably not, otherwise the rollback would have remedied my issue).

Very frustrating.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2017, 11:16:55 am by pls90 »

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Karma: +71/-24
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #73 on: August 28, 2017, 12:04:31 pm »
I rolled back to 1.7.2608.
Let's see how zwave network will behave.

-- edit --
zwave network is still stable, no more significant drop outs, BUT
I am still unable to include new devices: "ERROR: Z-Wave network failed to go into learn mode"

I had contacted support before all this started because of a Fibaro binary sensor was not working.
This is what support wrote back:
"I had check the binary sensors, and apparently they were not affected by any issues. Investigating further I had uncovered some z-wave issues which I had fixed by re-writting the z-wave firmware.
However, after I had reloaded the software engine I lost the connection to the unit."

I power cycled my unit as suggested by support to realize that all my physical devices were wiped from my unit.
I restored a backup and since then I have been struggling with degrading network and loss of ability to include devices.
So obviously  "rewriting zwave firmware" has caused all this.
Will have to wait until support gets back to me.

Does writing firmware not include zwave firmware (probably not, otherwise the rollback would have remedied my issue).

Very frustrating.


I am suspecting that 7.0.21 and 7.0.22 have made some changes to the zwave chip code to maybe improve support for some new devices. Both upgrades seem to be erasing or corrupting network settings for both zwave and zigbee which take a few days (almost 2 weeks for me on 7.0.21) to eventually work itself out through nightly heals and device reconfigurations (or for zigbee, hard reboots of the vera). 7.0.22 has been even worse. I have now reverted back to 7.0.20 and so far, it's been holding up. At least there is a decently working firmware version I am grateful for, which is the first for quite some time on UI7.
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (138 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 205 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
  • Karma: +47/-9
Re: VeraPlus 1.7.3015
« Reply #74 on: August 29, 2017, 05:40:34 pm »
Ended up with some of devices hidden in the WEB UI but work fine in the Apps, and they are actually there and working.

For example 3 of my 5 PLEG devices are hidden but I can access them through the device list in PLEG app, and they are working fine.
1 of my z-wave devices is hidden,4 of my wink devices are hidden including the Wink device itself.
Even more weird, a child device of the EZMultiply is hidden but only on one of my EZMultiply's
1 of my Concord 4 sensors is hidden.

What a mess!
Sent an email to support and turned on remote access.

Sheesh.