Author Topic: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.  (Read 1678 times)

Offline Kainen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« on: August 13, 2017, 09:24:41 am »
Hi!

I'm on a clean install on a Vera Plus and upgraded the Firmware to the latest version this morning (1.7.3015)

I have about 30 devices installed and everything is working fine except my latest addition of a Fibaro Single Switch 2 (FGS-213 ZW5 v3.2) that constantly reports "Can't detect device".

When I flip the switch on or off it works and Vera says that the device is responding again... then a couple of minutes later it says "Can't detect device".

I read in a thread that setting CommFailure variable to 0 would help but this does nothing.

Anybody got a solution for this? It's highly annoying when Vera says that a device isn't working when it clearly is...

Thanks in advance for any help solving this issue!

Offline Kainen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 09:25:49 am »
I should probably add that the device has never been working for me, not on the old firmware or the new...

Offline bjork

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 02:35:06 pm »
I have the exact same problem with the Fibaro Single Switches that I have. They work when controlling them, but go into "Can't Detect Device" mode shortly after. If any one has found a solution to this, please share it here.

Offline pls90

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2017, 04:48:39 pm »
same thing here. I have 2 of the single switches, one is ok, the other is on "can't detect" most of the time

Offline Sorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
  • Karma: +81/-10
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2017, 07:10:32 am »
Hi there, to my knowledge, most of the issues with Fibaro switches and dimmers should be resolved in the latest betas.


Please check with our support team to see if there are still any recurrent bugs open with this device and if it's something else that needs to be reported and resolved.
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION for Customer Care Department - 24/7

Offline Iiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2017, 11:42:50 pm »
I have the same problem with all the FGS-213 switches.

Offline TJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2017, 02:45:43 pm »
Me too, same issue...

Offline tini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2017, 01:38:06 pm »
Hi I just upgraded my Vera Lite to the 7.0.23b (from 7.0.22) yesterday evening
My Fibaro FGS-213 still acts the same. I can control it (on/off) and it returns power consumption,
but it keeps saying "Can't Detect Device"

An upgrade to 7.0.23 did not help. Still the same.

/Tim
« Last Edit: October 14, 2017, 02:27:49 pm by tini »

Offline Andr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2017, 05:48:23 pm »
Same here :-(

Offline ninkasi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +12/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2017, 10:22:17 pm »
Assume you've tried removing it, and adding it back in? Pain I know, but sometimes that can help with devices having issues....
Home Automation veteran. Rolled own, then MisterHouse and X10, now Vera - mysensor arduino and ESP8266 network - zwave lights, locks, switches - milights - yeelights - google home(s) - Broadlink RM - raspberry pi(s) with various scripts for power and weather station - Logitech Harmony - Imperihome

Offline tini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2018, 05:47:12 pm »
Hi. Did just upgrade to 1.7.1017 (7.0.25) firmware on my Vera Lite.
The result is still the same.
I can control light on/off and I receive power readout from the switch.
But the poll algorithm "can't detect device".
Could it be because the poll requires Z-Wave+ ?

/Tim

Offline ingebratt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2018, 09:43:44 am »
Same problem here. Running on Vera Plus fw 1.7.3501.

I had the same problem on a VeraLite, but I recently bought the Plus. Upgraded the firmware first and then included every unit from scratch. Still the same behavior, works like intended but get the annoying error message.

Offline benC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2018, 02:58:20 pm »
Exact same problem here. Just installed a single switch 2 on My Vera edge running latest production firmware, and same issue. Works fine, reports power, but getting error message. I guess it?s something to do with fact adding as generic zwave device rather than a specific named device but don?t have option as it isn?t there. I did wonder if adding as a fibaro double switch would work and get the right XML files that have specific fibaro settings in them maybe seeing as Vera have done the work on the double switch. 
I also hate the fact it installs three devices for one switch but that isn?t Vera?s fault.

Probably why this only has a compatibility of 8.

Any tips appreciated

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1544
  • Karma: +13/-2
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2018, 07:22:29 am »
I just installed a new Fibaro Double Switch and had no problems with that device.

However after the last update the "Can't detect device" message came back on a Fibaro Dimmer 2 device.

To hide the message, I change Automatically Configure to No.

Offline benC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro Single Switch 2, Can't Detect Device.
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2018, 09:10:13 pm »
thanks CW-KID

that did work.  I noticed on a few other devices I have like the Aeotec Smart Plug 6, it is setup by default with "Poll this node at most once every "0" seconds"

So I tried that for the Single Switch, and that stopped the message.  Of course now vera isn't polling the device, but I have no idea what that does anyway, and now I don't get the message.

Either way message is gone.  and everything still works.