We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Change Device ID  (Read 3445 times)

Offline Cor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1249
  • Karma: +8/-4
Re: Change Device ID
« Reply #15 on: September 22, 2017, 02:13:38 am »
Ah , ok ..... so just the parent with this "luup.attr_set("id","desired_id",current_id)" . and than with the advanced settings change the ID Manually as well.


But the idea is not to have to update the scenes/ID, since they should than use the ID of the old device for the new device.


When I first make a backup and try this , when it doesn't work and screw things up , I can than use the backup so all is back to it's previous state? . I won't be able to screw up that much with this code and manually change the ID's?

Thanks,
Cor

Offline Cor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1249
  • Karma: +8/-4
Re: Change Device ID
« Reply #16 on: October 03, 2017, 02:53:14 am »
Just tried this . Didn't work. The Parent device was gone and I was left with 2 "appliance modules"....

Thankfully I made a backup  8)


It would be nice if there will be an option to exchange a device easily, these devices don't have an eternal life  :(

Cor

Offline michelhamelin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Change Device ID
« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2019, 09:49:59 am »
You can use the following code in the 'Test Luup Code' section (Apps - Develop Apps):

luup.attr_set("id","desired_id",current_id)

Replace the desired_id with the new ID and current_id with the id at present

Before it was working but now in the address bar it show in red not secure and no change is made.
Why ?
is there another way to do this?