Author Topic: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1  (Read 1489 times)

Offline techstyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« on: August 31, 2017, 08:43:34 pm »
Code: [Select]
:~/VeraConcierge$ java -jar ConciergeServer.jar service
Aug 31, 2017 7:40:24 PM V:ConciergeServer:main:Server:127.0.1.1:8989
Aug 31, 2017 7:40:24 PM V:VeraConnect.VeraConnection:GetVeraIDs:UI6-50009731

When I talk to Vera Concierge he says he is unable to get a configuration from my Vera - this sounds like it is connected

how do I set the right IP address?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-142
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2017, 07:00:21 pm »
It will not work with a loopback address:

See:
  http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,48913.0.html

If this is linux ... your machine needs a fixed address and that address needs to be in the /etc/hosts file.

Offline techstyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2017, 10:05:47 pm »
Thanks

Yes this is an Ubuntu 16.04 nachine

So:
Code: [Select]
cd /etc/
Sudo nano hosts

Then change change the reference to your machine.  My machine is called "Mother"

Code: [Select]
192.168.1.101  Mother
Where 192.168.1.101 is the ip address of your machine

Did this and now it works.

I have played a little with it and can get the system to make announcements to the Chromecast but I couldn't get the system to turn on a light.  It did say:

Code: [Select]
Dimmer:Porch light off in the room: Porch, what else?
BUT the light did not change

Offline GaryOkie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2017, 05:17:06 pm »
Thanks for posting this techstyle!

I'm trying to set this up on a Raspberry PI3, and was having no luck getting the conciergeserver to recognize the Google Home device due to the server being stuck on 127.0.1.1 loopback .    Just configuring a static IP wasn't sufficient, and as you have explained, updating the hosts file with the static IP & hostname did the trick!

@Richard - good stuff to include in the setup or diagnostic info. 

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-142
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2017, 10:01:14 am »
Added advice to various config problems to the new "Connectivity" button on the Local Concierge Server (version 1.031)

Offline RHCPNG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2017, 05:57:27 am »
Hi guys,

I've upgraded my debian system to 9 and now I get the loopback address. I've still have a static ip address and the ip address is still in the hosts file.

Any ideas?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-142
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2017, 02:22:24 pm »
See the notes:

Find your host name by typing:
      hostname

Edit your /etc/hosts file ... add a line:

      Your.Static.IP.Address        YourHostName

Reboot.

Offline RHCPNG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2017, 05:14:47 am »
See the notes:

Find your host name by typing:
      hostname

Edit your /etc/hosts file ... add a line:

      Your.Static.IP.Address        YourHostName

Reboot.

Yeah I was aware of this, but I overlooked a new line in the hosts file that was added by the upgrade. It is fixed now.

Thnx!

Offline Newzwaver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 268
  • Karma: +4/-3
Re: Vera Concierge server 127.0.0.1
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2018, 10:03:02 pm »
Hi Richard,

I have two Vera's on the same network and obtains conductivity and the order doesn't any ideas why?