Author Topic: First Schlage lock issue ever  (Read 347 times)

Offline fleetmack

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +1/-0
First Schlage lock issue ever
« on: October 10, 2017, 01:08:54 pm »
I moved, so wiped my VeraLite completely and am re-installing all my locks. I should clarify that by "wipe completly", I reset the z-wave so that it forgot all my devices, and I removed the scenes. I couldn't figure out how to do a hard reset. I am on the most recent firmware, though I am at work right now and the Vera is not connected to my router right now, so I can update this later with the exact firmware.

I took one Schlage lock from my old home, paired it, and it works fine and dandy like cotton candy.

I bought another new one, BE469V, and have tried the following. For each of these, I have the VeraLite controller powered to the wall (not on battery) and about 1 foot from the Schlage lock, and have a Cat5e cable connected to it, so it's powered on with a hard-wired ethernet connection:

Attempt 1: Unpair + Pair using the + and - buttons on the Schlage lock:  Pairs fine, shows up, says "Waiting for secure classes". I've let it sit for up to 3 days, but it never does anything

Attempt 2: Unpair + Pair using the online interface to virtually put the VeraLite into remove and add mode. Same outcome - the device shows up, but permanently says "waiting for secure classes"

I contacted support on this, and their verbatim response was, "I managed to connect to the unit and to work on the settings, now I will kindly ask you to re-include the Schlage door lock back to the system ( and the rest of the locks) and everything should be OK."

So I have no idea what they did.  I've since tried virtually every combination of unpairing and repairing the new lock, with the same outcome each time.

Any ideas? I'm going crosseyed and my wife is sick of my cat5 cable running all the way across the house to the front door and I'm getting sick of the damn lock!

Offline fleetmack

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: First Schlage lock issue ever
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 10:34:47 am »
After 2+ weeks of trying everything, what finally worked for me:

Reset the Schlage lock. I didn't know this could be done. But after I did this, I again unpaired, and then paired, and I'm fine and dandy now:

Instructions on resetting the Schlage lock from Schalge's site: (note: this will erase all your custom door codes)
Ensure the factory default user codes are available.  All user codes will be erased by the FDR process. The user codes can be found on the back of the inside assembly and the back page of the user guide.
Remove black battery cover (slide cover up).
Remove battery connector.
Press and hold the Schlage button on the keypad.
While holding the Schlage button, reattach power.
The green check on the keypad will flash three times and the inside Schlage button will flash three times.
The first time you press the Schlage button and enter a user code, the lock will go through the Setup process.

Offline Priest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: First Schlage lock issue ever
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2017, 11:53:51 am »
I wish I has seen your initial post on this.  I would have told you to do the reset function you found.... sorry dude.

I had to do that reset function on my first Schlage lock I bought as it seems someone had bought it, programmed it, then returned it to Amazon and it was sold to me as new.  Once I got it reset it worked flawlessly, so I didnt worry about returning it myself.  That lock has been a workhorse for a couple of years now and is only on its second set of batteries.  I bought another Schlage recently because of the track record with my first.

Offline homeuser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: First Schlage lock issue ever
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2017, 11:57:41 am »
After updating to the latest FW I started having problems with this lock. I went through this whole process but continued having the same issues with the lock.

After going through all this headache I read on this forum the latest FW has a known issue for this lock. I emailed customer support asking for a lower FW version for VeraLite that works with this lock and still waiting to hear back.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,51467.0.html
« Last Edit: October 23, 2017, 12:07:26 pm by homeuser »

Offline bobbydoedoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: First Schlage lock issue ever
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2017, 07:10:18 pm »
Any Updates by Vera yet?  as i have yet to see any new firmware to download. 

Offline bobbydoedoe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: First Schlage lock issue ever
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2017, 07:33:36 pm »
Vera, do you think you can get us a fix on this buy by early Dec? 

Offline Dansker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: First Schlage lock issue ever
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2017, 03:37:14 am »
Yes, impacting me as well. A brutal choice between Locks or Alexa..., would really like to see locks work again.