We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Proximity Sensor  (Read 3490 times)

Offline BrianAz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +0/-0
Proximity Sensor
« on: December 28, 2010, 12:59:36 am »
I noticed a Proximity Sensor option in Advanced. Haven't been able to find any details on it. Hoping it is meant to be something that would recognize when my iPhone enters/leaves my house? Something like : http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=1997.0

Offline tknmncr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Proximity Sensor
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2010, 01:51:46 pm »
I agree, they have absolutely no mention of it anywhere in the app or their site.  But, after experimenting with it, I discovered that is simply enables the proximity sensor in the phone.  So, all it does is make the screen go off if you get your hand anywhere near the top of the phone.  I'm not sure why you would ever want this "feature".  But, that's what it does.

Offline BrianAz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Proximity Sensor
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2010, 02:24:15 pm »
Thanks. Must be iPhone 4 only I guess. Doesn't seem to work for me.

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Proximity Sensor
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2010, 11:43:25 pm »
This was a feature request of mine when iVera first came out.  ;D
It allows you to keep the application loaded if the phone is placed face down on a table or something instead of waiting for the app to load.
It works for 3G up.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline BrianAz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Proximity Sensor
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2011, 10:19:40 pm »
This was a feature request of mine when iVera first came out.  ;D
It allows you to keep the application loaded if the phone is placed face down on a table or something instead of waiting for the app to load.
It works for 3G up.

JOD.

Ahh ok. I'm looking to detect when people enter/leave the house. Not sure if it's feasible, but it seems like it's working for others by detecting the IP of the phone on the lan.

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Proximity Sensor
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2011, 10:21:25 am »
I think what you may be looking for is the ping sensor plugin.

http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Ping_Sensor_Plugin

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline MikesTooLz

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Proximity Sensor
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2011, 10:08:19 pm »
also, if you have your ipad in a folio case this would turn the screen off/on when you close or open the case, saving power rather then if you left the ipad on, and you then wouldnt have to press the sleep button to turn off the screen.