Author Topic: Is this a good thermostat choice?  (Read 576 times)

Offline Sammy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
  • Karma: +3/-3
Re: Is this a good thermostat choice?
« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2017, 06:53:05 pm »
Something else I just noticed with the CT101, is that in the default plugin for the thermostat that gets created, you can only set the currentsetpoint, you can not set separate heat/cool setpoints using the up/down arrows.

This is where PLEG comes into play. With PLEG you can tell the thermostat what mode to be in and what temperature to set it to based on the input logic conditions.

Offline gibby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Is this a good thermostat choice?
« Reply #16 on: November 02, 2017, 09:14:45 am »
Something else I just noticed with the CT101, is that in the default plugin for the thermostat that gets created, you can only set the currentsetpoint, you can not set separate heat/cool setpoints using the up/down arrows.

This is where PLEG comes into play. With PLEG you can tell the thermostat what mode to be in and what temperature to set it to based on the input logic conditions.

I do this already, but I there is no way I can come up with all the scenarios for when my wife says she is too hot or too cold....

Offline Sammy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
  • Karma: +3/-3
Re: Is this a good thermostat choice?
« Reply #17 on: November 02, 2017, 06:48:23 pm »
Something else I just noticed with the CT101, is that in the default plugin for the thermostat that gets created, you can only set the currentsetpoint, you can not set separate heat/cool setpoints using the up/down arrows.

This is where PLEG comes into play. With PLEG you can tell the thermostat what mode to be in and what temperature to set it to based on the input logic conditions.

I do this already, but I there is no way I can come up with all the scenarios for when my wife says she is too hot or too cold....

I feel your pain.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,51759.msg333284.html#msg333284

Offline gibby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Is this a good thermostat choice?
« Reply #18 on: November 03, 2017, 10:15:00 am »
Something else I just noticed with the CT101, is that in the default plugin for the thermostat that gets created, you can only set the currentsetpoint, you can not set separate heat/cool setpoints using the up/down arrows.

This is where PLEG comes into play. With PLEG you can tell the thermostat what mode to be in and what temperature to set it to based on the input logic conditions.

I do this already, but I there is no way I can come up with all the scenarios for when my wife says she is too hot or too cold....

I feel your pain.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,51759.msg333284.html#msg333284

I am thinking about trying 2 of the Nest E's...

Offline cc4005

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is this a good thermostat choice?
« Reply #19 on: November 03, 2017, 10:27:01 am »
I am thinking about trying 2 of the Nest E's...

I'd be very interested to hear how it goes if you go ahead with them.

Offline Tim89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is this a good thermostat choice?
« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2017, 10:02:15 am »
Hi, I bought the Ecobee 3 a while ago and I am really happy with it. It has the ability to create multiple zones and or sensors that you can use to reroute energy to the rooms that are most important to you. I really like this as I work a lot from my home study room and spend a lot of time there, so I can set up the thermostat so that most of the warmth goes to that room and other rooms that I do not use do not get heated, thus saving me money. The ecobee multiple zones option is really neat. However, you can also opt for the Ecobee 4 but it is a bit more expensive since it is newer.