Author Topic: Device type  (Read 724 times)

Offline chrlod

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Device type
« on: October 24, 2017, 04:01:35 pm »
I have quite a few relays used to actuate different equipment. In Vera (Vera Plus UI7) these show up as lightbulbs, and are toggled by the "Turn All Lights On/Off" switch.
I understand that I can change the device type and icon.

I found this wiki: http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_Device_Categories

However it is not clear to me excatly what I need to change and how.
Can someone explain what the advanced params really do?
   device_type
   device_file
   device_json

Say I want my relay to show as a valve or a switch instead of a light bulb. What would I need to change, and would changing it have any other possibly unwanted effects?

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1270
  • Karma: +31/-32
Re: Device type
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2017, 08:12:04 pm »
That link is to change the category and subcategories values, found in the advanced setting of a device.  Example attached for a door sensor.
Vera 3, 1.7.1030, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs sensor, NuTone garage door, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual/Multi Switch, Weatherunderground, LB60Z-1 bulb

Online rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1148
  • Karma: +52/-22
Re: Device type
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2017, 04:05:43 am »
I have quite a few relays used to actuate different equipment. In Vera (Vera Plus UI7) these show up as lightbulbs, and are toggled by the "Turn All Lights On/Off" switch.
I understand that I can change the device type and icon.

I found this wiki: http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_Device_Categories

However it is not clear to me excatly what I need to change and how.
Can someone explain what the advanced params really do?
   device_type
   device_file
   device_json

Say I want my relay to show as a valve or a switch instead of a light bulb. What would I need to change, and would changing it have any other possibly unwanted effects?

If what you are trying to change is the icon, it is stored in the device json.
If you open up the json you will find if the icon has a subcategory dependency. You can extensively modify the json to use your own icons. I would recommend to make a copy of the current json file for your device, rename it, and change the icon file names in it then upload the new json and use the renamed json in your device.
 
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (131 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 199 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Offline bigmusic11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Device type
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2018, 05:59:29 am »
I am trying to do the same thing.
I have a light that is showing up as a wall plug.
I change the Category number from 3 to 2 and Subcategory from 3 to 0
I copied this from another device that shows a light bulb. Doing this did change the icon from a wall plug to a light bulb but it only stays like that for about 1 min before it changes its self back to a wall plug. How do I open or change the json file ?

Offline bigmusic11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Device type
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2018, 09:59:26 pm »
Solution for changing device icon from wall switch to a light bulb as advised from customer care.

 1. go to one of the bulbs in the settings area

2. click on Advanced and go down to SUBCATEGORY and change it to 8

3.reload the engine by clicking from the same menu on new service→ reload engine

4. refresh the page

Also check here the list of categories for the devices, this is what we use as a guide for this cases:

http://wiki.mios.com/index.php/Luup_Device_Categories


Offline Fitzy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Device type
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2018, 12:01:03 am »
Hi All

Changing device categories and sub categories is pretty straight forward but is anyone able to advise how I can stop UI7 from constantly re-configuring the device and changing the settings after they are changed?

Once I change a device sub-category to what I want the device works perfectly but overnight Vera will reconfigure the device and change it back.... it?s so frustrating 😡.

TIA

Online rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1148
  • Karma: +52/-22
Re: Device type
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2018, 02:30:31 am »
When you get into the device page and choose your device, click on settings and change the "automatically configure" option to no. save the changes. This should stop your device from automatically configure.
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (131 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 199 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Offline Fitzy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Device type
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2018, 06:30:12 am »
I have tried this and within half hour or so Vera still reconfigures the device :-/

I?ve even noticed it has even re-created a whole new device and placed a ?1? at the end of the device name.

This is after the automatically configure option is set to no and saved.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2018, 07:55:03 pm by Fitzy »

Offline Fitzy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Device type
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2018, 04:36:36 am »
Anyone have any ideas ???

Online rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1148
  • Karma: +52/-22
Re: Device type
« Reply #9 on: Today at 02:29:24 pm »
Not sure, I have 2 dozens of devices which I manually configured and they have never changed back. It sounds to me like the vera did not consider the device as having completed configuration and is therefore trying to configure it again so in fact you are dealing with a new child device. What kind of device is it?
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (131 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 199 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa