Author Topic: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7  (Read 1516 times)

Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: +6/-6
UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« on: October 26, 2017, 04:58:58 pm »
Long time Vera user but have stayed on UI5. When UI7 came out there was so much complaining about stability and other drama I chose just to pass.

Wondering now if has enough miles on the odometer that I should make the plung and jump over. I have a fairly comlicated setup with 40 or so controlled devices and a could (simple) LUUP scripts.

I have several cameras and they were nadled poorly in UI5 so wondering if that has gotten better in UI7

any words of caution before I make the leap??????
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)

Offline ninkasi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2017, 05:34:03 pm »
I'd be careful simply because you have a Vera Lite - so memory may be an issue. I like UI7 and find (for me) it's pretty stable so I think it's worth the upgrade, but you may want to consider doing so as part of a hardware upgrade - get new Vera, add to network as secondary controller, shift everything over to the new box, retire the old one...... just a thought!
Home Automation veteran. Rolled own, then MisterHouse and X10, now Vera - mysensor arduino and ESP8266 network - zwave lights, locks, switches - milights - yeelights - google home(s) - Broadlink RM - raspberry pi(s) with various scripts for power and weather station - Logitech Harmony - Imperihome

Offline ninkasi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: +10/-0
Home Automation veteran. Rolled own, then MisterHouse and X10, now Vera - mysensor arduino and ESP8266 network - zwave lights, locks, switches - milights - yeelights - google home(s) - Broadlink RM - raspberry pi(s) with various scripts for power and weather station - Logitech Harmony - Imperihome

Offline Sorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 923
  • Karma: +77/-8
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2017, 05:47:02 pm »
as an additional step for good measure, I would update all the plugins to the latest, then I would create a full backup (z-wave +user_Data) , save it to computer.
Then reset the unit to factory defaults -> wait for it to come back clean -> upgrade to UI7-> restore the previously made backup, as soon as the unit comes back.
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION for Customer Care Department - 24/7

Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2017, 07:15:14 pm »
I'd be careful simply because you have a Vera Lite - so memory may be an issue. I like UI7 and find (for me) it's pretty stable so I think it's worth the upgrade, but you may want to consider doing so as part of a hardware upgrade - get new Vera, add to network as secondary controller, shift everything over to the new box, retire the old one...... just a thought!

That?s a thought. I use my Vera a lot so spending a bit for a hardware refresh isn?t objectionable.

Thanks for the suggestion.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)

Offline invisiblewave

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2017, 10:44:57 pm »
UI7 is so bad I went back to my old Vera 2, my new VeraPlus is still sitting in the box.  It's a huge step backwards.  Unless you really, really need to run a garage door controller or something, stick with UI5.  I only visited the forum today to find out if there was a replacement for UI7 that would render my VeraPlus usable!

Offline nautcasprt6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2017, 08:56:46 am »
I am in the same boat as the OP but after seeing what invisiblewave said, I may stay on UI5.

Invisiblewave - how long ago was it that you were on UI7?

Offline ny2pit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2017, 09:50:03 pm »
Let me ask a stupid question.

I have a few Aeon microswitches embedded IN devices (like the lamp portion of a fan). 

I've been considering moving from my still-work Veralite running UI5 to some newer hardware with UI7.

I hear lots of mixed messages ....  but that aside, what i fear the most is having to disassemble outlets/plugs/fans etc. to unpair and then re-pair the Aeon switches ....

Is that reality?  No way to exclude/include without opening things up all over again? 

-ny2pit

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1082
  • Karma: +5/-4
  • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2017, 10:03:39 pm »
That is the reality.
You could just leave UI5 running using it as a secondary controller with a new Plus to add your new(er) devices.
I've left my Vera Lite UI5 running as a seperate system to an Edge on UI7.
Another possibility would be to use Imperihome to bridge the 2 together. It's going to be horses for courses in this situation and only you can be the judge as to which way to proceed.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, Fantem Tec and then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline ny2pit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2017, 10:34:05 pm »
Zed -

 Thanks for the reply .... I think I'm gonna hold for now, all is working, and I can't stomach the thought of opening up switches and fans, etc. to exclude and include all over again .... along with rebuilding scenes.

 I'm probably overstating, I don't have more than a handful that would need work to get at, but it still seems unappealing. :-)  From reading all the issues with UI7 most recent upgrade, I think I'll stick with what I got.  I'm working so far...

 Good to know you can use the VL as a secondary though - that idea may come in useful!

 Thanks,

 ny2pit

Offline Jasonejc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2018, 09:19:37 pm »
I'm in the same position, I have lots of Aeon micro switches and other such devices all over the place.  I have over 200 nodes on the network.  It recently started failing for a lot of devices which some require power off/on to reset and others just no longer working at all.  I'm considering upgrading but not if it requires me to rebuild the entire system again!

What options are available for upgrading or moving to another system?  Does anyone have experience with something other than Vera that works just as well or better?  I"m still on Vera3 with UI5

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10070
  • Karma: +761/-141
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2018, 09:32:59 pm »
You might talk to Vera Support.
They have a Z-Wave chip firmware update that I am testing with on my Plus  ...
That solved many of my Z-Wave problems.

The Z-Wave version is 4.61 L:1  (Settings - Z-Wave settings)


Offline Sorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 923
  • Karma: +77/-8
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2018, 04:49:12 am »
Indeed, Z-Wave version is 4.61 is a new version that contains important improvements in routing and it's going to be a prerequisite for the upcoming Z-Wave S2 framework.

Customer Care can supply you with it until this is officially pushed into the firmware.
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION for Customer Care Department - 24/7

Offline robk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2018, 07:58:50 pm »
does this zwave update apply to older vera3 devices?
can a ui5 zwave network be imported to a new ui7 upgrade?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10070
  • Karma: +761/-141
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2018, 09:29:21 am »
NO and YES/NO you can upgrade your Vera 3 to UI7 ... but if you move to the newer Veras you need to start over.!