Author Topic: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7  (Read 355 times)

Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: +6/-6
UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« on: October 26, 2017, 04:58:58 pm »
Long time Vera user but have stayed on UI5. When UI7 came out there was so much complaining about stability and other drama I chose just to pass.

Wondering now if has enough miles on the odometer that I should make the plung and jump over. I have a fairly comlicated setup with 40 or so controlled devices and a could (simple) LUUP scripts.

I have several cameras and they were nadled poorly in UI5 so wondering if that has gotten better in UI7

any words of caution before I make the leap??????
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)

Offline ninkasi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2017, 05:34:03 pm »
I'd be careful simply because you have a Vera Lite - so memory may be an issue. I like UI7 and find (for me) it's pretty stable so I think it's worth the upgrade, but you may want to consider doing so as part of a hardware upgrade - get new Vera, add to network as secondary controller, shift everything over to the new box, retire the old one...... just a thought!

Offline ninkasi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +5/-0

Offline John M.

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
  • Karma: +44/-4
    • getvera.com
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2017, 05:47:02 pm »
as an additional step for good measure, I would update all the plugins to the latest, then I would create a full backup (z-wave +user_Data) , save it to computer.
Then reset the unit to factory defaults -> wait for it to come back clean -> upgrade to UI7-> restore the previously made backup, as soon as the unit comes back.
John.M. ▾ Senior Customer Care Advocate
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION (Pacific Time Zone, UTC -8 )
Monday - Friday   12:00 am ? 06:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday   04:00 am ? 06:00 pm

Offline curiousB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2017, 07:15:14 pm »
I'd be careful simply because you have a Vera Lite - so memory may be an issue. I like UI7 and find (for me) it's pretty stable so I think it's worth the upgrade, but you may want to consider doing so as part of a hardware upgrade - get new Vera, add to network as secondary controller, shift everything over to the new box, retire the old one...... just a thought!

That?s a thought. I use my Vera a lot so spending a bit for a hardware refresh isn?t objectionable.

Thanks for the suggestion.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
VeraLite (1), Leviton VRI10-1LX (8 ), VP00R-1LZ (5), VRS15-1LX (1), Intermatic CA3500 (10), CA5100 (1), Aeon Labs DSC26103 (5), Foscam FI8918W (2) , FI9821W V2 (1), DLINK DCS-932L (2), DCS-930L (1), GE45604 (2), GE45603 (5), Honeywell RTH8580WF (2), HA-09WD (1), Kwikset 910TRL ZW (1), Aeon MMote (2)

Offline invisiblewave

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2017, 10:44:57 pm »
UI7 is so bad I went back to my old Vera 2, my new VeraPlus is still sitting in the box.  It's a huge step backwards.  Unless you really, really need to run a garage door controller or something, stick with UI5.  I only visited the forum today to find out if there was a replacement for UI7 that would render my VeraPlus usable!

Offline nautcasprt6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2017, 08:56:46 am »
I am in the same boat as the OP but after seeing what invisiblewave said, I may stay on UI5.

Invisiblewave - how long ago was it that you were on UI7?

Offline ny2pit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2017, 09:50:03 pm »
Let me ask a stupid question.

I have a few Aeon microswitches embedded IN devices (like the lamp portion of a fan). 

I've been considering moving from my still-work Veralite running UI5 to some newer hardware with UI7.

I hear lots of mixed messages ....  but that aside, what i fear the most is having to disassemble outlets/plugs/fans etc. to unpair and then re-pair the Aeon switches ....

Is that reality?  No way to exclude/include without opening things up all over again? 

-ny2pit

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Black Cat Controllers & Control Systems
    • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2017, 10:03:39 pm »
That is the reality.
You could just leave UI5 running using it as a secondary controller with a new Plus to add your new(er) devices.
I've left my Vera Lite UI5 running as a seperate system to an Edge on UI7.
Another possibility would be to use Imperihome to bridge the 2 together. It's going to be horses for courses in this situation and only you can be the judge as to which way to proceed.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline ny2pit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: UI5 holdover, time to go to UI7
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2017, 10:34:05 pm »
Zed -

 Thanks for the reply .... I think I'm gonna hold for now, all is working, and I can't stomach the thought of opening up switches and fans, etc. to exclude and include all over again .... along with rebuilding scenes.

 I'm probably overstating, I don't have more than a handful that would need work to get at, but it still seems unappealing. :-)  From reading all the issues with UI7 most recent upgrade, I think I'll stick with what I got.  I'm working so far...

 Good to know you can use the VL as a secondary though - that idea may come in useful!

 Thanks,

 ny2pit