Author Topic: Bought Linear GD00Z-5, is it really a 5??  (Read 232 times)

Offline Skelly

Bought Linear GD00Z-5, is it really a 5??
« on: October 26, 2017, 05:59:00 pm »
Newbie here: Bought this thing on Amazon, was shipped from a third party. It's in a plain white box, and there is a sticker labeled GD00Z-5 covering the GD00Z-1 label. I was wanting a "5" since I wanted the extra range that ZWave + offers. Is there a way I can tell if it's Zwave vs Zwave + from the Vera console?

Thanks!

LS

Offline John M.

• Administrator
    • getvera.com
Re: Bought Linear GD00Z-5, is it really a 5??
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2017, 05:25:59 pm »
Hey there,

As far as I know that number at the end for Linear GDO, is only there to differentiate the re-branded versions of the same device.

ALL versions of this GDO are Gen5 or Zwave+ , so you should not worry about this.
John.M. ▾ Senior Customer Care Advocate
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION (Pacific Time Zone, UTC -8 )
Monday - Friday   12:00 am ? 06:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday   04:00 am ? 06:00 pm

Offline niharmehta

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2017, 03:35:36 am »
Linear/Evolve/GoControl has polluted their channel with old and new to get rid of stock. I went through this a while ago.
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,40470.msg299723.html#msg299723

There was absolutely a difference between Linear branded 04 that are relabeled and real 04's with the 500 series chip.  If your device shows "Go Control" on the box (and device)  and specifically states Zwave+, you SHOULD be OK.   If the box does not show this, and the device says "Linear" on it, I would guess you do not have a Zwave+ device. 
I went through a half dozen of them including opening it to see the chip between the re-stickered -01 and the GoControl real -04 devices.