Author Topic: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive  (Read 1520 times)

Offline Dansker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2017, 02:19:51 am »
Vera/Alexa is working really well for me. A VeraEdge and VeraPlus on the same Alexa account.

Use it from home with one Echo and 3 Echo Dot. Voice-Alexa-Vera works 100% for me.

I do have problems from the Android Alexa app: nothing works, gives "Server is unresponsive."

After all the bashing of the Vera crew, I must say the Alexa interface was/is a very positive experience, for me. Thank you.

Offline Ersan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #16 on: November 11, 2017, 12:01:13 am »
This is the second time I've had to switch back to habridge since the official Vera skill was released  :-\ - the first time being when the entire system was down for 4-5 days.

Grouping devices in a room with an Echo and saying "Lights On" or "Lights Off" isn't working on any of the devices that do not respond to the in-app commands.  Additionally, scenes no longer work.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2017, 12:04:45 am by Ersan »

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Karma: +3/-1
  • Black Cat Control Systems
    • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #17 on: November 11, 2017, 12:54:27 am »
FWIW, I've added 6 new scenes, none work.
Not a good experience for a new Echo user, so I'm off to buy a Google Mini and see what happens with it.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline cgmartin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #18 on: November 12, 2017, 02:10:34 pm »
Grouping devices in a room with an Echo and saying "Lights On" or "Lights Off" isn't working on any of the devices that do not respond to the in-app commands.

I can confirm that the Alexa-enabled groups are a new v3 feature not supported by the current v2 Vera Control skill.

Additionally, for the new "lights on" feature to work in v3 the devices need to be discovered in Alexa as a LIGHT display category as opposed to a SWITCH (or other types).

As a feature request for a new Vera Control v3 skill, I would like it if the user could select the display category for each device from the skill initialization page (the page where you can include each device or rename them before discovery). Basing the Alexa display category only on the Vera device category or subcategory might cause problems with other clients and how devices are organized with the current category/subcategory scheme.

Offline Mark.butler1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #19 on: November 12, 2017, 03:21:53 pm »
I can confirm that the Alexa-enabled groups are a new v3 feature not supported by the current v2 Vera Control skill.

Are you sure on that? While the alexa-enabled groups are a new v3 feature, I got mine working such that I can ask the lounge echo to 'turn off the lights' and it obliges by just switching off the Lounge Group.  Likewise, from the Bedroom Echo, I can control the Bedroom group the same way.  Previously I had to address it as the group name (I.E. "turn off Lounge Lights" or "turn on Bedroom Lights").
That functionality (for me at least) is working fine and this is something that has gone a long way improving the WAF.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2017, 03:35:46 pm by Mark.butler1 »

Offline cgmartin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #20 on: November 13, 2017, 08:43:46 pm »
Are you sure on that? While the alexa-enabled groups are a new v3 feature, I got mine working...

I was pretty sure at least, but great to hear it is working for you. This was the feature I was most excited about when they announced it.

I had tested with the following list of devices together in the smart group:
  • LIGHT (cat:3, sub:0, in-wall on/off switch) - custom v3 skill
  • LIGHT (cat:2, sub:1, in-wall dimmer switch) - vera control v2 skill
  • SWITCH (cat:3, sub:0, in-wall on/off switch) - vera control v2 skill
  • SWITCH (cat:3, sub: 1, smart plug) - vera control v2 skill

Only the LIGHT #1 with the custom v3 skill was operating with "turn on/off the lights", none of the other v2 devices.

I just tried another test, removing #1 from the smart group so that there were only v2-managed devices and it successfully operated LIGHT #2! (but not the other switches)

Apologies, it can work with the current v2 skill. It just needs to show up as a LIGHT type in the alexa app.

Odd that it doesn't seem to work with a combination of v2 and v3 skills.

Offline mcv.vlad

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #21 on: November 14, 2017, 09:14:08 am »
As a feature request for a new Vera Control v3 skill, I would like it if the user could select the display category for each device from the skill initialization page (the page where you can include each device or rename them before discovery). Basing the Alexa display category only on the Vera device category or subcategory might cause problems with other clients and how devices are organized with the current category/subcategory scheme.

This sounds reasonable. I'll forward this up the chain.

Thanks

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Karma: +3/-1
  • Black Cat Control Systems
    • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #22 on: November 14, 2017, 07:34:15 pm »
Has anyone managed to get Blinds/Shades/Awnings working?
I've created the scenes, which work manually, but Alexa isn't recognising the commands.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline Mark.butler1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #23 on: November 19, 2017, 04:48:28 pm »
Apologies, it can work with the current v2 skill. It just needs to show up as a LIGHT type in the alexa app.

Odd that it doesn't seem to work with a combination of v2 and v3 skills.

Those are interesting observations.  Since I'm fairly new to building my home automation system, the majority of devices I have are showing up as a LIGHT device type in the Alexa app.  It just so turns out that all the groups I have 'alexa enabled' only contain 'Light type' devices, and thus work - Beginners luck!

One of the rooms I'm yet to fully kit out is my Daughter's bed room.  She currently has only a bedside lamp controlled by a Smartplug.  Since she also has a local Echo, I'll try setting a group up for her.  As Alexa app shows this as a device type 'Smartplug' I'm expecting it not to work based on cgmartins findings.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2017, 04:50:11 pm by Mark.butler1 »

Offline TheMuuj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #24 on: December 14, 2017, 01:03:47 pm »
Has anybody figured out a workaround?

None of my lights seem to work.  I've updated the firmware on my Vera Edge.  I've reinstalled the Amazon skill to get it to re-authenticate several times, but every time I go back to the skill page it says "there was an error retrieving permissions."

If I use voice commands to control any device, my echo responds with "(device name) doesn't support that."

None of these are new Skill v3 features.  These are all things that were working fine in the past and have not been working for several weeks now.

Offline Mark.butler1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #25 on: December 16, 2017, 04:11:32 pm »
https://status.getvera.com states there is an issue at the moment..

Offline otakup0pe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +3/-2
    • Jonathan Freedman
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #26 on: December 16, 2017, 04:26:51 pm »
I do find it hard to believe that Amazon released its V3 API with no backwards support and breaking all V2 skills.

Can we get an ETA on this please ?

Amazon is usually pretty good about announcing changes ahead of time....

I'm hoping that is the case this time, as opposed to Vera having gotten the developer alerts but not actually managed to get things implemented in time....

Offline nickb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: All Vera Commands report server is unresponsive
« Reply #27 on: December 30, 2017, 03:31:55 pm »
Were there any workarounds?

I've reinstalled my Alexa Skill (as the non-beta, though curiously on clicking the info it still shows an icon for DevUK), and relinked several times, and now the situation is worse - nothing responding, and Alexa commands all fail with "The hub xyz connected to isn't responding. Please check on the Hub"