Author Topic: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb  (Read 2463 times)

Offline yacobid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« on: November 04, 2017, 05:37:09 pm »
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=27482&cl=res&utm_source=171017_email&utm_medium=email&utm_content=zwave_bulb_hero&utm_campaign=171017_rgbbulb

has anyone used this Zwave RGB bulb yet?  Its significantly cheaper than the aeotec that is confirmed to work and not that much more than a white LED.   Was looking to use it for an outdoor post light.

Offline sely

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +2/-3
Re: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2017, 03:37:35 pm »
I bought 4.  Work OK, no frills.  Color display on Vera UI doesn't show the selected color.

Offline paulcusick3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2018, 08:18:16 am »
Hi - I just bought two of these.  They worked for maybe 10mins.  Now they only turn on/off and dim.... do not change colors.  When I look at the variable history in AltUI, it shows the change, but then it changes right back to cool white:

Date   Old   New
03/15/18 8:08:37.328   0=0,1=0,2=232,3=60,4=11   0=230,1=0,2=232,3=60,4=11
03/15/18 8:08:36.554   0=230,1=0,2=161,3=233,4=11   0=0,1=0,2=232,3=60,4=11

I tried to Delete via VERA and AltUI and it will not delete.

Anyone else?

About to try parameter 255 which resets bulb to factory

Offline fwsfish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2018, 12:12:05 pm »
I bought eight of them. Four ground level and two for each porch level. They work great. I set scenes where each floor is different ie red-white-blue  or green for St Patties day etc. My only complaint is changing the colors is tedious. In order to get each bulb exactly the same you have to use your computer (phone and ipad much less precision) ......find the color you like.... and go into the variables screen to copy the numerical value. You must then copy that value to each other device as current color and target color. Too bad there is not a way to simply choose basic colors like "warm white"-"red"- "blue" etc.

Offline paulcusick3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2018, 03:01:25 pm »
I have two - agree that changing color is harder than I would like; and programming a scene requires hex number.  Also they get recognized as dimmer light on Alexa; not RGB.  The ones I got were manufactured by Hank in China.

Offline Ionut S

  • The handler
  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • A Tribute to Dedicated Insanity
Re: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2018, 07:04:32 am »
Hello, we've added an Integration Request for this device, it should get included, tested and released asap.

Thank you for your feedback and interest!

Slow and steady till' you're ready.
- Customer Care -

Offline jmhitchcock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2018, 08:27:46 am »
Hi - I just bought two of these.  They worked for maybe 10mins.  Now they only turn on/off and dim.... do not change colors.  When I look at the variable history in AltUI, it shows the change, but then it changes right back to cool white:

Date   Old   New
03/15/18 8:08:37.328   0=0,1=0,2=232,3=60,4=11   0=230,1=0,2=232,3=60,4=11
03/15/18 8:08:36.554   0=230,1=0,2=161,3=233,4=11   0=0,1=0,2=232,3=60,4=11

I tried to Delete via VERA and AltUI and it will not delete.

Anyone else?

About to try parameter 255 which resets bulb to factory

I'm assuming you sorted this out, but I discovered that the white channels override the color channels. I thought my bulbs were bad and was going to return them because they stopped changing colors. Then I read somewhere that they give preference to the white channels.  What was happening was I had slid the slider for the whites all the way down and changing colors did nothing.  Once I slid it down all the way (which is sort of tricky for my big fingers and the app) colors work again.

Offline techstyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: monoprice Zwave RGB Smart bulb
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2018, 05:48:47 pm »
I bought 3 of these, they installed fine but now I get "cant detect device" errors.  2 are at the front of the house and one is at the back.  The front two are either side of my garage door.  The garage door opener is connected to a Linear garage door opener which includes a repeater so i thought they should be in range as that device is 10_15 ft away

Anyone else have similar issues, or can suggest trouble shooting?