Author Topic: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore  (Read 1681 times)

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1364
  • Karma: +9/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #30 on: February 26, 2018, 07:51:26 am »
I've just tried the new command in a web browser and it works already

Code: [Select]
http://VERA-IP/port_3480/data_request?id=lu_action&output_format=xml&DeviceNum=140&serviceId=urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1&action=SetTarget&newTargetValue=1
So guess I should start now updating all my LAN devices and apps that use these types of http commands send to Vera.

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1364
  • Karma: +9/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #31 on: February 26, 2018, 07:59:53 am »
When running a command in the browser to run a scene it works and the scene is run but there is an error in the brower.

Code: [Select]
http://VERA-IP/port_3480/data_request?id=lu_action&serviceId=urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1&action=RunScene&SceneNum=14
This page contains the following errors:
error on line 2 at column 46: xmlns:u: 'Unknown Service' is not a valid URI
Below is a rendering of the page up to the first error.
OK

However when running a command to control an actual device I do not get any errors in the browser it says something like:

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
<u:SetLoadLevelTargetResponse xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:SwitchPower:1">
<JobID>5511</JobID>
</u:SetLoadLevelTargetResponse>

Offline Sorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Karma: +69/-7
    • getvera.com
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #32 on: February 26, 2018, 11:32:26 am »
Although I'm a fairly technical person, it's not my area of expertise as I'm not a developer.
But if you are a developer and find discrepancies or issues, in working with the API please use the email in the https://goo.gl/P6k4bP to bring it to our guy's attention.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 12:17:00 pm by Sorin M. »
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION for Customer Care Department - 24/7

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1364
  • Karma: +9/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #33 on: February 27, 2018, 04:50:07 am »
This is the response I had from tech support via email

"Please note that we have introduced in our firmware a restriction on the port 49451 for security reasons so yes, each plugin that is using that port won?t work no more but a solution to this would be a downgrade to the version 1.7.23.

I will kindly ask you to tell us what Vera do you have so we can send you the downgrade link exactly."

I then said I didn't want to downgrade and was hoping the developers at Vera could take a look at the DLNA plug-in to see if they could fix it.

"I?m sorry but this is not possible, this decision was made already and unfortunately there is no way back, the only solution is to downgrade the version of the firmware and to stay on it.

Thank you for understanding."


Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #34 on: March 10, 2018, 10:19:23 am »
damn! thanks for the continued up dates on this CW-Kid. Don't know why but I stopped receiving email updates so didn't realise there were new posts.

Yeh I can't really downgrade as their are some devices I use now which have support was only added in recent firmware versions.

Guessing we can only hope the developer updates the plugin now that the issue is known!

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1364
  • Karma: +9/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #35 on: March 12, 2018, 10:22:32 am »
I would be interested in a solution as well, particularly for the TTS announcements.
Looks like yet another reason I purchased the Vera for has gone by the wayside.  >:/
Seems like if we give this thing another year or two, it'll just be another router with Zwave operations.

TTS annoucements with the DLNA plugin have been problematic for some time, with the Microsoft and Google TTS engines.

However I previously modified some of the DLNA plug-in files to allow you to use the "RV" (Responsive Voice) TTS engine in Vera scenes.

See my original post about that here.

My TTS broke again recently, probably due to me reinstalling the DLNA plug-in / or me uploading DLNA plug-in files again to Vera for the issues raised in this thread.

I then remembered I previously edited two files to add support for the "RV" TTS engine and I have uploaded those files again today and now my TTS is working again.

I have also included the suggested line change in this thread.

Code: [Select]
OLD line
new Ajax.Request (command_url+'/data_request', {

by NEW line
new Ajax.Request (data_request_url, {

So attached here below are the modified files you would need to use the "RV" TTS engine in your Vera scenes.

Look at the RV-in-Scene.png to see how to use the RV engine in the Vera scenes advanced editor.

TIP:

I only now use the DLNA plug-in for TTS to send to one device in my Kitchen, for one particular scene.

For all other TTS announcements from Vera, I have been using the Imperihome plug-in for Vera and the Imperihome control app on an always on wall mounted Android tablet.

In your Vera scenes advanced editor, you can select the Imperihome device and select the function SAY and when that scene is run the TTS announcement goes to the tablet running Imperihome app etc. I then connected the tablet via Bluetooth to the Amazon Echo speaker in my living room, so all the Vera TTS announcements are now heard on that one Echo speaker device.

That's one down side of using Imperihome for TTS though, the announcements can only be sent to one device, I think?.
But its much more reliable than TTS in the DLNA plug-in ever was.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 10:33:56 am by cw-kid »

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1364
  • Karma: +9/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #36 on: March 12, 2018, 10:50:18 am »
I've tested the "RV" TTS engine in the DLNA plug-in with two devices.

I have a SqueezeLite emulated Squeezebox running on my WHS 2011 server, this is connected to an amp / speakers in my kitchen. This presents itself as a DLNA device.

And I have a LibreElec Kodi HTPC in my daughters room and again this presents itself as a DLNA device.

I have two scenes in Vera now, to send TTS via the DLNA plug-in.

One scene for the kitchen device that says "Beer Assistant" and one scene for the Kodi PC in my daughters room, that says "Turn off the TV and go to bed please".

I've tested running both scenes and both worked OK and the TTS was played on the target device.


Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #37 on: March 19, 2018, 12:02:12 am »
Did you end up Down grading CW-Kid? and that is how you are using the DLNA plugin with the other TTS engine as mentioned in your above posts?

I might submit a ticket to Vera on this one as well, can't hurt to pepper them a bit on this.

The Imperihome scenario does sound like an option for me as I do have a Sony Andriod tablet but in reality I don't want to add in another point of failure by having to have that "always on" and having it linked to just one speaker isn't much good either kinda defeats the purpose of DLNA being able to point at any device that you want to render the announcement.

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1364
  • Karma: +9/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #38 on: March 19, 2018, 07:01:32 am »
No I never downgraded the Vera units firmware.

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #39 on: March 19, 2018, 07:38:46 am »
No I never downgraded the Vera units firmware.

Then how is the DLNA plugin working for you?

Offline MarcusB

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #40 on: March 25, 2018, 11:11:09 pm »
Non-maintained plugins are being analyzed as we speak, to see what is their impact on our users base and if is there any possibility of updating them ourselves. This is not a process with a definitive time frame.

Thanks Sorin,
That's good to know.  Hopefully this is something that your programmers will pick up.  The impact to Vera users is pretty huge.  For a home automation system to not be able to control any AV equipment in a home is pretty bad.

Offline rjayyyy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #41 on: March 25, 2018, 11:14:56 pm »
Non-maintained plugins are being analyzed as we speak, to see what is their impact on our users base and if is there any possibility of updating them ourselves. This is not a process with a definitive time frame.

Thanks Sorin,
That's good to know.  Hopefully this is something that your programmers will pick up.  The impact to Vera users is pretty huge.  For a home automation system to not be able to control any AV equipment in a home is pretty bad.

Hey MarcusB, I have a currently open Vera Support ticket, working back and forward with them on this. Not sure we are getting anywhere with it currently but working on it non the less ;)

Offline MarcusB

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DLNA CONTROLLER does not work anymore
« Reply #42 on: March 25, 2018, 11:29:45 pm »
Non-maintained plugins are being analyzed as we speak, to see what is their impact on our users base and if is there any possibility of updating them ourselves. This is not a process with a definitive time frame.

Thanks Sorin,
That's good to know.  Hopefully this is something that your programmers will pick up.  The impact to Vera users is pretty huge.  For a home automation system to not be able to control any AV equipment in a home is pretty bad.

Hey MarcusB, I have a currently open Vera Support ticket, working back and forward with them on this. Not sure we are getting anywhere with it currently but working on it non the less ;)

Thanks Rjayyyy,
It's good to know things are at least happening in the background.

Cheers,