Author Topic: Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables  (Read 146 times)

Offline mtx123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +2/-0
Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables
« on: November 11, 2017, 07:49:53 am »
I am trying to add a Neo Coolcam motion sensor    https://www.robbshop.nl/motion-sensor-z-wave-plus-neo-coolcam
to my Vera Edge, but it appears to be a big struggle..
As this particular sensor is not in the Devices list, I selected   Dome Motion Detector with Light Sensor  DMMS1  , as it looks exactly the same in the inclusion process.
It comes up with 4 new devices. I added a notification and Vera Alert to check the operation, it works.
But the point is that it is far too sensitive in detecting motion, thus not usable for proper detection.
The leaflet in the box tells me to change parameter 1: set to a value between 8 and 255 (= lowest sensitivity).
I tried that in this way:
Device-->Advanced-->New Service
and put in the values:
New service: 1
variable :1
value : 255

But nothing seems to change in the sensitivity.
I tried to modify another parameter (interval between detections) in this same way, but there also nothing changes in the behavior.

What is the correct way to modify these variables ?
Or did I select the wrong device to start with ?

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Black Cat Controllers & Control Systems
    • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2017, 03:50:14 pm »
The device needs to wake up.
I usually find that after 24 hours it settles down.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline mtx123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2017, 02:59:15 am »
Thnx, that seems to be the case..
I have tried to wake up the device by pushing the button , and by taking out and putting back the battery.
At some point in time it woke up, not exactly clear what has triggered that.

Other issue is that it is not really clear what these 3 things in UI7 mean:
   New service
   variable
   value

Is the variable the parameter that needs to be changed, or should that be New service ?
So I used AltUI to modify the parameters, it is much more clear how to do that, and it also shows the result (current and new situation and history of changes).
In UI7 I cannot find that information..

Offline cybrmage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +105/-5
Re: Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2017, 10:11:35 am »
You are confusing "Z-Wave Device Parameters" with "Vera Device Variables".

The former is what you want to change, as they determine how the device operates. The latter, along with "Vera Device Parameters", is what the Vera uses to store information about the device.

The Device/Advanced tab shows, and allows modification of "Vera Device Parameters" and "Vera Device Variables"... This is NOT what you want.

You want to go to the "Device Options" tab, and a a "Configuration setting"...

For your specificly mentioned change:

Select "Device Options", click on "Add Configuration setting". Set "Variable" to "1". Set "data size" to "1 byte dec", set "desired value" to "255". click on "save changes".

Then reload the LuaUPnP engine. Wait for the LuaUPnP to finish loading. Refresh your browser.

The, if the device is battery powered (which most motion sensors are), you need to wake the device... You can usually do this just by triggering the device (IE: walk in front of a motion sensor, or open and close the door/window for a door/window sensor). Alternately, opening the device cover, so that the tamper switch is tripped will also wake the device.

EVL3Vista - Wink Connect - Caseta Connect - Venstar Colortouch - WiFi UDP Switch Controller - Broadlink RM - MyQGateway

Offline mtx123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2017, 11:43:27 am »

...
You want to go to the "Device Options" tab, and a a "Configuration setting"...
For your specificly mentioned change:
Select "Device Options", click on "Add Configuration setting". Set "Variable" to "1". Set "data size" to "1 byte dec", set "desired value" to "255". click on "save changes".
...
Strange thing is, in the "Device Options", I see  "N/A"
so there is nothing I can do there..

Offline cybrmage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +105/-5
Re: Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2017, 02:34:16 pm »
Strange thing is, in the "Device Options", I see  "N/A"

If you see N/A, you are looking at a child device... Only the parent (main or primary) device will have the device options. Even though the primary advertised function is "Motion sensor", the "Motion sensor" device may not be the primary device.


EVL3Vista - Wink Connect - Caseta Connect - Venstar Colortouch - WiFi UDP Switch Controller - Broadlink RM - MyQGateway

Offline mtx123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Neo Coolcam motion sensor: cannot change variables
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2017, 03:06:41 pm »
If you see N/A, you are looking at a child device... Only the parent (main or primary) device will have the device options. Even though the primary advertised function is "Motion sensor", the "Motion sensor" device may not be the primary device.
That is also what I expected, as I have 4 devices:
- Parent (?) device, but this one has no tab "Device options"
- Light sensor
- Motion sensor
- Temp sensor

When I look into the parent device with AltUI, I see a lot more options, and it also gives me the possibility to set new parameters.
See attached.
So I was able to solve it within AltUI, but remain puzzled by UI7.