Author Topic: Reading data from new smart meter  (Read 2220 times)

Offline Henninne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Reading data from new smart meter
« on: November 25, 2017, 01:23:12 pm »
Hi All,

The electricity company just upgraded the meter in my house to a ?smart meter? which reports usage, voltage etc back by it self. This meter has an HAN port (home automation network) which can be activated, as far as I know this outputs usage, voltage, power factor etc via an m-bus(meter bus) protocol. Does anybody have any experience with this? And what would be required to get this data into my vera system?

Thanks

Offline gniknalu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2018, 11:20:26 am »
The electricity company just upgraded the meter in my house to a ?smart meter? which reports usage, voltage etc back by it self. This meter has an HAN port (home automation network) which can be activated, as far as I know this outputs usage, voltage, power factor etc via an m-bus(meter bus) protocol.

I would guess it would need to support one of the protocols that your Vera system supports. Which Vera product do you own?

Offline rearden

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 06:08:05 pm »
I have not played with a HAN port.  I have tried reading the radio transmissions from a smart meter using a RTL-SDR with some success.  It would be nice to plug in and get that information directly.

rearden

Offline jswim788

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: +58/-2
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2018, 08:54:13 pm »
I've heard of the Zigbee based HAN which is a second radio in the smart meter.  For that you can get a Rainforest Eagle or other devices which will talk to it and you can collect the data via http post/get requests.  There is a physical HAN port on your smart meter?

Offline reneboer

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1418
  • Karma: +80/-30
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2018, 05:13:00 am »
Hi,

The Dutch Smart Meter also uses a protocol based on m-bus, so maybe this can help you get started. Feel free to develop a flavor that will work for your meter based on that. The source is on my GitHub page https://github.com/reneboer/Vera-Dutch-Smartmeter. The Dutch smartmeter uses a P1 to USB converter cable that connects to a Vera USB. Not sure if a HAN to USB cable exists, but that may be required.

See http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,32081.0.html for more information.

Have fun.

Cheers Rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline mrand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2018, 12:31:16 pm »
I've heard of the Zigbee based HAN which is a second radio in the smart meter.  For that you can get a Rainforest Eagle or other devices which will talk to it and you can collect the data via http post/get requests.  There is a physical HAN port on your smart meter?

But with Vera Plus having Zigbee, this shouldn't be necessary... except that Vera doesn't have the second code on the bottom to "activate" with the electric company.

Offline jswim788

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: +58/-2
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2018, 12:34:25 pm »
But with Vera Plus having Zigbee, this shouldn't be necessary...
  Yes, I agree.  But life is too short to wait for Vera to do something useful with Zigbee.  In the meantime I'm pretty happy with the Eagle.

On the other hand, it appears the original question was about smart meters that do in fact have a physical port for a connection, so that's a different problem.

Offline eiriktakle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2018, 02:15:41 am »
Hi All,

The electricity company just upgraded the meter in my house to a ?smart meter? which reports usage, voltage etc back by it self. This meter has an HAN port (home automation network) which can be activated, as far as I know this outputs usage, voltage, power factor etc via an m-bus(meter bus) protocol. Does anybody have any experience with this? And what would be required to get this data into my vera system?

Thanks

Where are you located? If you're in Norway I might be able to point you in the right direction..

Offline ramd2530

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2018, 06:37:21 pm »
Reading data from the new smart meter is the very important thing to learn. But first, I am also not able to get this thing. But now I get rid of from this problem by visiting https://netgears.support/netgear-genie-support/
Now I can read and take the data from the new smart meter.

Offline teknokill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2018, 05:43:34 pm »
Hi All,

The electricity company just upgraded the meter in my house to a ?smart meter? which reports usage, voltage etc back by it self. This meter has an HAN port (home automation network) which can be activated, as far as I know this outputs usage, voltage, power factor etc via an m-bus(meter bus) protocol. Does anybody have any experience with this? And what would be required to get this data into my vera system?

Thanks



Where are you located? If you're in Norway I might be able to point you in the right direction..

I love Norway.  I went there for a vacation 5  years ago.   Oslo, Bergen, fjords....the place is amazing.   Better yet, I loved Lillihammer, the show on Netflix. 

I'm trying to get my smart meter rolling with Southern California Edison, I'll report my findings. 

Offline bruring

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Why not automate everything?
Re: Reading data from new smart meter
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2018, 09:28:58 am »
If your energy provider provides daily readings on a website, another way to approach this could be to write some kind of script that grabs these values from the website.
Trying to make my house smarter than myself since 2012.
Vera Lite & Vera Edge UI7, 15x Fibaro, 10x Aeotec, 6x Zwave.Me, 3x GreenWave, 3x TKBHome, 1x Y-CAM, 1x Netatmo, Logitech Harmony, Google Home. ESXi with pfSense, openLuup, AltUI, Grafana and Vera Concierge amongst others.