Author Topic: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001  (Read 2600 times)

Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« on: December 14, 2017, 04:07:58 pm »
Have some trouble with this new device !
It seems it is not supported by Vera yet.
I added it as a generic device and it stops configuring at "Failed at; wait! Getting the manufacturer".
I have put in a ticket and hope others will do the same.
In Vera it seems it has no advantage from other thermostats, in the Fibaro system it has more features.
Vera is not eager to support European devices. I asked them to support the Comet thermostat a couple of years ago but it never happend.
Now the same company has made a new thermostat "Spirit" ...let us see.
They will have to do something about the Fibaro...but when ?

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +27/-12
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2017, 05:31:43 pm »
Both comet and spirit works with Vera.

Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2017, 04:26:08 am »
Do not know about spirit but I cannot change modes in the comet.

Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2017, 06:00:46 am »
Never the less.
I would like some information on haw others makes this new thermostat work best.
At first how to configure ?
Witch files to use, devicefile ect. (vera made it a HVAC ZONE-THERMOSTAT... as well as the Comet). My Danfoss is something else and works as expected.

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +27/-12
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2017, 04:02:39 pm »
(vera made it a HVAC ZONE-THERMOSTAT... as well as the Comet). My Danfoss is something else and works as expected.

Yes, this is probably because if radiator head reports temperature reading to the controller it is by default HVAC device type. Devolo radiator head, which is a Danfoss clone, appears also as HVAC device, just because it has firmware tweak which allows it to report temperature to the controller, which is not possible with original Danfoss.
So Fibaro probably will appear the same as Devolo or Comet.

Anyway, you use Heat mode only in such case (other wouldn't work with work with a radiator anyway) and it works good. The same for Comet and Devolo, they are working without issues. Or you can change Device_type, Device_file and Device_json for same as you have in Danfoss and it will appear the same way. Not sure if you won't loose ability to see temperature readings, though.

Offline Sammy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
  • Karma: +4/-5
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2017, 03:03:57 pm »
Does this work for warm tiles floor heat?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk


Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2017, 07:34:58 am »
@kweito

Yes. the first problem is to make it configure !

Offline Chrisfraser05

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: +16/-31
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2017, 12:18:19 pm »
A problem I've had with ALL Fibaro products on Vera is that they'll only configure within about 2 feet of Vera.

Everything else configures correctly across the network

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +27/-12
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2017, 03:21:04 pm »
Yes. the first problem is to make it configure !

I thought you get past configuration, as you said "Vera made it HVAC..."
It might be a problem of distance, as @Chrisfraser05 says.
Somewhere on the forum I've read advice to leave device straight after pairing for at least couple of minutes (recommended even 15 min) to allow it exchange full information with a controller.

I have Aeon switch which initially was failing the configuration, but switching it ON or OFF after such message appeared allowed it to finish the process somehow. It looked like the connection was broken during the pairing and sending command to the switch made it "visible" for controller again.
It seems that your device also starts configuration process but is not finishing it properly. Maybe forcing Fibaro to wakeup will help?

Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2017, 03:57:12 pm »
Thanks !
But it is within 2 feet.
And it works...I am able to change mode (heat and off) and temperature but does not report temperature back.
It stil says failed at manufacturer and it says -3 in configuration under advanced.

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +27/-12
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2017, 03:26:41 am »
Ask Vera support for help.
There is a capability responsible for reporting current temperature, I've had a problematic Devolo which started to report temp. after adding it (I compared capabilities list with other unit and found that one is missing on device with problems).
But I don't know if it will work for Fibaro as well and it definitely won't clear the error you have.
Maybe support can find some workaround for your issues.

Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2017, 11:29:12 am »
I have mailed support and they said eksclude and include.
But before I could try the controller went down. no service and internet light.
I must try to solve this at first. Will be back.

Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #12 on: December 19, 2017, 01:07:00 pm »
Vera is back again from its unknown fault,
I have tried to eksclude/include several times as support suggested, no dice.
Support took a look at it again and made id configure from -3 to 0.
It has stopped showing battery charge and still no temperature is reported back.
 

Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2017, 09:45:07 am »
This is from support

"have done some further research regarding this device and we don?t have an official integration for it.

Also because of this the vera unit is not able to take all the details from it in order to finish the configuration.

In the settings that option I have set it to ?no? in order to get the unit to stop from asking continuosly the device for variables."




Offline svaleb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +7/-7
Re: Fibaro radiator thermostat FGT-001
« Reply #14 on: December 26, 2017, 07:30:15 am »
As other Fibro devices it seems to take some time.
I hobe they will do it soon, after all a thermostat is for winter use.