Author Topic: Vera Plus (working beautifully, then chose fw update - now just power light)  (Read 1701 times)

Offline paros

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: +6/-1
    • Husvagnhusbil
everything is running smoothly for 2 days!
Amusing, what we consider success sometimes. I would feel the same if I could get 2 straight days.

It has been a rough week :)

Online kartcon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Karma: +6/-0
On Wednesday of this week my Vera Secure suffered a terminal failure. After several email messages back and forth, today I was able to speak to Mateo in Customer Service. We tried several basic reboot procedures, a couple factory resets and a few other things without success. With my consent, he established a remote connection to my computer. Again he tried several maneuvers without success. He was unable to connect to the device either through the Mios servers, directly via the web interface or by SSH. We tried a direct connection between my PC and the Vera controller and were still unable to connect.

After nearly 3 hours of troubleshooting, restarts. reboots, modem configuring and computer hardware setting changes Mateo determined that my Vera Secure had suffered an internal malfunction and deemed my unit defective. During all these changes I worried to myself that my entire home network may be a wreck before this was all done, but to his credit Mateo returned everything to its proper working condition (except my Vera Secure - which would have earned him Sainthood, considering its terminal status). Thank you Mateo for all your efforts today. Job well done even if you could not fix it.

Bottom line is this: Many of the symptoms described earlier in this thread were present on my machine in the hours prior to its demise. While I still could, I opened a terminal session with RBrowser (Mac ssh client) and it 'appeared' that many of the folders were either unaccessible or empty when I am SURE that was not the case days earlier. See this post:

Quote
Posted by: rafale77
? on: December 24, 2017, 03:56:10 am ? Insert Quote
I managed to SSH into my unit and it was painful. It now looks like a barebone OpenWRT OS. All the MIOS, CMH, Lua related files and folders are gone. I am doing a factory reset to see if I can recover this myself... How could this happen just by rebooting the unit????

Were the files REALLY gone or were the folders simply not accessible? Was there a 'runaway process' slowly wreaking havoc, locking up resources and making the unit unstable and unpredictable? Just before dying, my last reboot reported "Unable to load the Z-wave and ZigBee Implementation XML files". (Not the exact wording, but you get the gist). Why would they get deleted or corrupted doing a simple Luup reload?

Lastly, at no time did I ever attempt to upgrade to the latest firmware (1.7.3452) or the recent Beta release (7.025b). I was on 1.7.3233 and it was running mostly stable after the odd issue several weeks ago. http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,52569.msg336766.html#msg336766.

Customer Service has begun a RMA process to exchange my unit for a new replacement. For that I am thankful. I'm a bit worried about rebuilding my unit from scratch or if they can port over the back-ups from the dead unit to the new one. I can't decide if a fresh rebuild (with all the extra work) or a full restore is the best option. To be certain, there are several plug-ins I will not be adding if I do a full manual rebuild and several, such as PLEG, that I can not live without.

I only wish there was some explanation or understanding of what exactly the cause was. I would hate to have to rebuild again, several weeks or months from now, because the issue still lurks somewhere inside Vera.

« Last Edit: January 06, 2018, 09:07:15 pm by kartcon »

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +22/-62
You should have some backups on the vera server of your first unit.  When you get your new unit they will be visible in the backup section. 

Not sure how one checks the integrity of a backup.  I would worry about bringing over whatever wrecked the first Vera.  I am guessing the chances of this are VERY slim to impossible?

I installed the 7.025b last night.  Very impressed.  My secure ran but there were some nagging issues on 3452 with connectivity.  Rock solid right now.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline DenSnea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
I'm new to home automation in this scale and also a new Vera user. I've been struggling for three weeks to get my controller working without result. I've got only the power led on, every other led is black and the unit is not responding to the pinhole factory reset.

Have had long mail conversations with Vera support and they claim that last firmware update has big issues and causes a lot of troubles. I actually got it to work for a whole day. I received a link with a firmware downgrade from support, uploaded it to my Vera and now the thing is completely dead again. Just the power led and no response to the 6 clicks pinhole reset sequence.

Offline Sorin M.

  • Administrator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: I am a geek!!
  • Karma: +55/-4
    • getvera.com
@Svyazist - tried looking for a ticket by your name/email combination and could not find one. If this is still an ongoing issue please PM me so we can make sure this is sorted out ASAP.

@JimboS - while I'm really sorry for the trouble you've been through, gotta tell you that your issue is not related to this topic, as the affecting build has been reverted just hours later and hot fixed on 28th. Nonetheless, we would really love to turn this around for you and help you resuscitate the unit through our Customer Care team.

Hi Sorin,
I think Vera Support is not working very well on this topic! I have send several emails about my issues (same as in this threat) and about the fact that i cant upgrade to the latest firmware (according the vera site) all I receive is an email with the link to the Vera site to see the latest version available???

I have to read on the internet that there are serious issues with the firmware!!!

I was close to throw in the towel during this Christmas (after massive brake-down)..
BUT, Vera support shows once again that it's not worth changing home controller.
The Support-team (many thanks to Magda :) ) upgraded my Vera Plus to latest beta firmware and everything is running smoothly for 2 days!

Thanks @paros, they would love to see the love they're getting.
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION (Pacific Time Zone, UTC -8 )
Monday - Friday   12:00 am ? 06:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday   04:00 am ? 06:00 pm

Offline Kanczug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Hi.
I am new Vera Plus user. Connected it today for the first time to have it stuck on upgrade :/
Can't do anything. Poking the reset hole does not seem to work.
I think that I see the device on my routers IP table, but don't know how to ssh to it (don't know that much about linux commands)

Offline Sorin M.

  • Administrator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: I am a geek!!
  • Karma: +55/-4
    • getvera.com
Hello Kanczug,

Am really sorry to hear about the trouble with your Vera unit.

My colleagues from Customer Care are already trying to touch base with you, through your existing ticket. Please check your email for further details.
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION (Pacific Time Zone, UTC -8 )
Monday - Friday   12:00 am ? 06:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday   04:00 am ? 06:00 pm

Offline Vilar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
New customer here, in Europe, bought a Vera Plus today and it asked to upgrade firmware. It has been in what seems like a boot loop for hours (power light on for a few minutes, wifi light comes up, they all switch off, repeat).

Resetting with the 6 presses seems to do nothing, unplugging, nothing.

If customer support is US hours only I'm pretty screwed

Offline dxmone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
I am having the same problem. Did a firmware upgrade on a new vera plus. Now it keeps rebooting and responding to ping for a few seconds. i can't access it. I have tried to press reset button 6 times in 6 seconds. Nothing helps. '

Does anyone know of a fix for this issue?

Offline Sorin M.

  • Administrator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: I am a geek!!
  • Karma: +55/-4
    • getvera.com
New customer here, in Europe, bought a Vera Plus today and it asked to upgrade firmware. It has been in what seems like a boot loop for hours (power light on for a few minutes, wifi light comes up, they all switch off, repeat).

Resetting with the 6 presses seems to do nothing, unplugging, nothing.

If customer support is US hours only I'm pretty screwed

Please call, it's a toll-free number, and although not officially announced because we are still in trials, our team is mostly 24/7 on duty.
If you prefer to be called back please shoot me your number in a PM message. We want to turn this around for you, ASAP.
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION (Pacific Time Zone, UTC -8 )
Monday - Friday   12:00 am ? 06:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday   04:00 am ? 06:00 pm

Offline paros

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: +6/-1
    • Husvagnhusbil
I am having the same problem. Did a firmware upgrade on a new vera plus. Now it keeps rebooting and responding to ping for a few seconds. i can't access it. I have tried to press reset button 6 times in 6 seconds. Nothing helps. '

Does anyone know of a fix for this issue?

Could be the same issue that other users experiencing with low storage left on the 8.6 MB partition. Hope Vera is fixing this soon?