Author Topic: Vistacam 1100  (Read 2374 times)

Offline bongocmm

Vistacam 1100
« on: January 09, 2016, 02:45:50 pm »
Very much a newbie here.  I just installed a Vistacam 1100 but can't seem to get it to arm.  There are almost no instructions for installation included and while the video is good it does not give you the nuts and bolts of using the camera.  Can anyone help me?

Offline thelift

Re: Vistacam 1100
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2016, 10:41:27 am »
I just installed this camera myself a week ago. It was the most expensive one out there, but I went with this one because after reading all the problems people had with VeraEdge controller to pair with different camera models (way cheaper), I wanted something simple to configure.
Well, it wasn't so simple. I first went for the "wired mode" which I thought to be my best bet, but after trying a couple of times it did not detect the camera. Given that this camera model is listed as out of the box supported device, I didn't want to mess around with custom configuration (by the way, why would I want to take a chance with that when there is 0 documentation on what each parameter does and what the values are ?).
So I decided to try the "wireless setup". It took sometime to pair but eventually it did. I pretty much did what described in the 5 little pages of the poor instructions it comes with.  In my case the camera is not too far from the router, but if I want to install another which is further I might have some troubles.
In conclusion I spent 300 bucks for this camera (and it is a good camera). I think the main issue is the Vera controller ... in my opinion it is not optimal for cameras. I also use it for a lock with zwave, and for that it works great. I would be disappointed to have to install another controller that works better for cameras.

Offline gnaegi

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2016, 04:19:33 pm »
For me the installation process worked somehow. At some point the camera showed up. So far so good.