Author Topic: Water shut off valve  (Read 5244 times)

hadiesper

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-13
    • Shifra Smart Homes
Water shut off valve
« on: February 08, 2011, 12:57:52 pm »
I know there is a water shut off valve from fortrezz. But is there an equivalent electronic shut off valve that you can open/close using the GC-100 2-24vDC/AC relay contacts?
HadiEsper
http://www.control-cube.com on iPad/iPhone - 20 Fibaro Dimmers, 3 Thermostats, 1 Energy Meter, 2 Motion Sensors, 1 Temp/Hum Sensor, 2 VERAs, 5 Sonos Play:3 Zones, 2 TVs on GC iTach IR Control, 1 Apple TV on GC iTach, 2 Satellite Receivers on GC iTach, 1 XMBC MediaCenter, 10TB Synology NAS

myhomeserver

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 790
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • www.myhomeserver.com
    • MyHomeServer.com
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2011, 02:00:49 pm »
The FortrezZ is based off of the "watercop" , try looking at that and you may come up with a cheaper version, but I do own a WVA-01 from FortrezZ and it's rock solid and works like a charm. 
MYHOMESERVER.COM - See Our Vera 1&2Reviews
Vera1,2,3 and Vera Lite - Latest Beta. 80+ nodes - GE/Jasco, FortrezZ, ACT, Aeon, 3-in-1 Sensors, MiniMote, HRDS, Strobe, Water Valve, Water/Freeze, GE Wireless Keypads. 6000+ SF including Barn and Garage door modules. Squeezebox Integration, Door Locks etc

marcvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve WV-01 setup help
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2013, 07:27:23 pm »
I need some help adding my WV-01 to my veralite.

So far I was able to add it to veralite as -Appliance module with Off and ON but when I send a command it would not open or close.
The only command I was able to send that worked was when the valve is open and I send and on command, it closes the valve. Does the opposite!

Does anyone have a step by step guide to make it work.
I am planning to use the valve to just open and close the main water line thru my cell when I leave home.

Appreciate all the help
Thanks
MZ

Matrix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2013, 07:01:48 pm »
I don't get how you got On Off.  Using Grasshopper on the Windows phone the Water valve doesn't work.  I changed it to On Off on Micasaverde but it then reverted back to the original setting when the reload finished. 

WV-01 is set to Open Close rather than On Off.

This is the original setting
urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:Relay:1

marcvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2013, 08:11:06 pm »
I am sorry, I am not that savvy yet with vera z-wave.
What do you mean by urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:Relay:1?
Where should that setting appear?

When I add the valve to veralite it captures it as _appliance module.

Appreciate you trying to help me.
I was succesful though at setting up all my other z-wave products such as dimmers, switches, thermostat, door/window sensors

marcvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2013, 06:47:07 pm »
Matrix,

Now that I checked advanced settings etc I believe I understand what you mean:

My urn shows: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:BinaryLight:1
And you said yours shows urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:Relay:1

Why do you think it is showing that for me? it thinks that it is just a light.

Were you able to open and close your valve using your controler and cellphone?
My objective with the my fortrezz valve and veralite is to close the valve when I leave and turn back on when I come back using my cell or computer.

Thanks
MZ

mramgine

  • Beta Testers
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2013, 11:18:42 am »
The reason it doesn't work is i haven't implemented the Relay service.  I'll see what i can do in my current code to get it added to the WP8 codebase that i'm trying to get to beta.  I don't always read these forums so just send me an email at: amginecreations@gmail.com.... i check that email daily.
My Z-Wave: 1x Vera (FW 1.0.979, Dongle 2.78), 1x Intermatic HA03C, 1x Intermatic HA05C, 1x Intermatic HA02C, 1x Wayne Dalton WDTC-20

mramgine

  • Beta Testers
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 111
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2013, 12:17:09 pm »
Took a look at the relay device and it looks like what you really are wanting is it to display the switch service that is attached to it. My new implementation should automatically work with any device that has a switch on it.  If you'd like me to verify using your configuration send me your vera configuration

UI2 ? http://<your local Vera IP here>:49451/data_request?output_format=json&id=user_data2
UI3/UI4/UI5 ? http://<your local Vera IP here>:3480/data_request?output_format=json&id=user_data2

If you have any passwords/pin codes, please mask them in the output without altering the overall format of the file before sending it over.
My Z-Wave: 1x Vera (FW 1.0.979, Dongle 2.78), 1x Intermatic HA03C, 1x Intermatic HA05C, 1x Intermatic HA02C, 1x Wayne Dalton WDTC-20

marcvera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2013, 03:44:37 pm »
Thanks for trying the help.
Micasaverde tech support along with Fortrezz worked together for 2 weeks and figured it and it has been working well for a few weeks now
I can open and close the valve like an on off switch thru my cell or computer.
I also have a couple of leak detectors that work well with the valve.

Kudos to Stella from Fortrezz and Daniel Stephen from micasaverde

johnnyv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2013, 05:24:28 pm »
Marcvera,

What was the resolution, I'm experiencing the exact same issue..  can only close the valve (ON) from Vera, can NOT re-open (off) once its closed  (from vera)...

I'll keep digging around.  but if you or anyone else, have the answer,  it would be appreciated.

thanks..

johnnyv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2013, 05:57:24 pm »
found it!!!

it's in the WV-01 Instructions:

This means you have the valve installed in water alarm mode, which will not allow the valve to open with the same basic set command. This is a security feature set so that a water sensor detecting a leak doesn't continually open and close the valve (as the command the sensor sends is the same for open or close). The zwave gateway should be sending a smart command and not a basic set.

One way you can get around this is to set the water valve up in water level mode (irrigation mode). This way, the same basic set command will open or close the valve. Instructions on this and explanation can be found in the user manual on page 6.
To switch between water alarm mode and water level mode prior to inclusion in the network, do the following:
i. Hold the program button down for 1 or more seconds
ii. While still holding the program button, press the open button (for water level mode) or the close button (for water alarm mode)

Note: This button press sequence is not available after network inclusion. See page 7 for configuration change after network inclusion.

johnnyv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2013, 07:17:24 am »
well, i found the issue in the instructions,  but have yet been unable to resolve it..  tried multiple times and variations of excluding and re- including in water level mode, no success...

anybody have the required steps to resolve this?

bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2013, 02:54:52 pm »
I am trying to setup a WV-01 Fortrezz water valve I just purchased.
When adding it to Vera 3 with U15 it sees it as urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:BinaryLight:1 in Advanced.
I am unable to trigger the valve via on the on off buttons on device (the WV-01 is setup in Water Alarm Mode) and also when I created a scene.

It also has a water sensor incorporated into the water valve, is this monitored also?
With the water valve thinking it is a light switch, it only shows options for the valve itself.

What should this valve be seen as?


Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: +13/-65
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
    • House Of Yu
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2013, 03:58:08 pm »
try to change in advanced tab the urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:BinaryLight:1 to urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:Relay:1    and the D_BinaryLight1.xml to D_Relay1.xml
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2013, 05:34:01 pm »
I changed those settings as you recommended  Da_JoJo in the Advanced tab and saving.
I did not see any difference in operation.
I am still unable to control the valve from the U15 web.
It shows Open and Close now, I thought it said off and on before.
The scheme does not close the valve.
It still shows up as a device under Lights in devices.

I also saw the valve as a light switch previously in the Apple app.
I no longer see it now.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 05:37:58 pm by bd8134 »