Author Topic: Using HMS100 for sunrise / sunset  (Read 6171 times)

Offline FlyBoyBob

Using HMS100 for sunrise / sunset
« on: February 18, 2011, 11:39:31 am »
My first post  (hoping for good things...)

I have an HMS100 motion/light sensor in a window that gives excellent light readings that ramp up quickly at sunrise and down quickly at sunset. Setting up a Scene to trigger an event (turning on lights at first) when the value goes > for sunrise and < for sunset has a lot of potential, except that I get an Event every time the value changes in the > or < range = blinking lights.

I am a programmer by trade and can warm up to LUUP code quickly I'm sure, but have not found any relevant samples in these forums. Can someone please point me to what must be an often asked topic or suggest how I can modify my event so that it triggers once on a > value and not again for a certain amount of time or maybe a date change? Or anything more clever...

thanks in advance

Offline mcvflorin

• Administrator
Re: Using HMS100 for sunrise / sunset
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2011, 11:57:19 am »
You can look here at the second example. It should be similar to what you want.

Offline FlyBoyBob

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2011, 12:58:13 pm »
Thanks for that pointer. Below is my first shot at some code.
The first section defines my HMS100 device number, the sensor's SID, and a low and high light level that defines "sunrise" (to be adjusted on test)
First I get the current level (every x minutes that the event timer is set for) and return false if it is outside the valid-for-sunrise range.
Then I need to test a persistant variable for a date when this scene last triggered, if it was today then return false otherwise set it to today and return true. I also set that variable to 0 when the light level < lo_level so I don't get a "sunrise" as the sun sets...