We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: multiple veras on home buddy?  (Read 4188 times)

Offline Les F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
  • Karma: +7/-0
multiple veras on home buddy?
« on: March 13, 2011, 08:37:31 am »

Any plans to either support multiple veras?  Or is there anyway I could install two copies of HomeBuddy?
(personally I would prefer to be able to install a second copy of home buddy).   Latest version is better than ever!  Thanks!

Les

Google+ http://bit.ly/2MAVlkR / Instagram: http://bit.ly/2lIcsFT / Pinterest http://bit.ly/2KCSYRm (Yes, Pinterest is for guys too! take a look)

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 10:51:15 am »
Multiple profiles is in my list of things to do, might be a while until I get to it though.

Unfortunately, I don't think Android will allow you to install multiple copies of the same app... unless someone from the community has suggestions on how to accomplish this.

Offline computerjohn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2011, 10:04:52 pm »
Just as on a computer, it would require a different folder & different name (Home Bubby 2 for example).  I would not recommend this approach though.  It will lead to unwanted headaches & confusion. The better approach would be having one app access two or more Veras..

In the Home Buddy settings, there would be an option for addition Veras.  Each new Vera config would have the same config setting as the main one does.  Except now, when Home Buddy starts there is a window that askes, "Which Vera to connect to".  Pretty simply, straight forward, & limitless Veras. The only limit would be assigned by you, since all it is a separate config file for each Vera just in one database file...  

Just an idea rakstar..   ;)

Multiple profiles is in my list of things to do, might be a while until I get to it though.

Unfortunately, I don't think Android will allow you to install multiple copies of the same app... unless someone from the community has suggestions on how to accomplish this.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2011, 10:15:12 pm by computerjohn »
Vera2 UI4 (1.1.1245), IT-100, 2x Trane Thermostats, 6x Intermatic HA03 Lamp Modules, 1x Intermatic HA07 Remote, 4x GE 45613 3-way Dimmer Switches, 13x GE45606 Dimmers Switches, 2x GE 45605 Receptacles, 16x GE 45604 Outdoor Modules, 3x GE 45603 Appliance Modules, Automated Saltwater Reef System

Offline markbannister

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2011, 03:41:22 pm »
Since you've been busy updating, thought I'd give you a bump on this.

Offline scotthay

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2011, 09:55:23 pm »
I would love to see this also.  Have a 20 Vera installation and would make my property managers life a lot easier. 

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2011, 12:50:50 am »
Still on the list and still busy unfortunately.  This may require a major rewrite so I'm trying to get some smaller items out of the way first before starting on this.

Offline flatgreg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2012, 04:46:24 pm »
I know this is an old thread, but I just wanted to say it would be nice to be able to easily switch between veras.  Love the latest update though - well done!

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2012, 09:13:28 pm »
I know this is an old thread, but I just wanted to say it would be nice to be able to easily switch between veras.  Love the latest update though - well done!

You'll be happy to know that this version does support multiple Veras (check the changelog and the "What's New" section in Google Play).  In the setup screen, hit Locate Vera, enter your MiOS username, and hit OK.  Home Buddy will give you a list of all the Vera instances associated with your username.  To delete an instance, hit Menu and select "Remove Instance".

Offline jjwatmyself

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: multiple veras on home buddy?
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2012, 02:08:50 pm »
I can confirm that multi Vera support is working very nicely, including Veras on multiple networks, and local ssid definition is per Vera.