Author Topic: ID or Device#?  (Read 2371 times)

Offline pgrover516

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
  • Karma: +0/-0
ID or Device#?
« on: March 13, 2011, 03:30:52 pm »
if i want to do a "repair only node__" do I put in the device #, or the ID#?
V1,V2,V3,VLite,Express Controls HSM-100,Intermatic HA20C, HA04C,HA02C,HA09, Leviton VRP15-1LW, VRS15-1LX,Home Manageables HM-TS001,Schlage FE599, Schlage BE369, Cooper RF9500, Aeon Labs Minimote, Schlage TZEMT400AB32MAA+more

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: ID or Device#?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 03:36:35 pm »
The Z-Wave Node ID.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline scotthay

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ID or Device#?
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 03:41:20 pm »
When the device lists it's neighbors, is this also the node # or device id#?  I have always been confused by that.

Offline pgrover516

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ID or Device#?
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2011, 03:42:04 pm »
quick service here, Thanks John   8)
V1,V2,V3,VLite,Express Controls HSM-100,Intermatic HA20C, HA04C,HA02C,HA09, Leviton VRP15-1LW, VRS15-1LX,Home Manageables HM-TS001,Schlage FE599, Schlage BE369, Cooper RF9500, Aeon Labs Minimote, Schlage TZEMT400AB32MAA+more

Offline pgrover516

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ID or Device#?
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2011, 03:45:53 pm »
When the device lists it's neighbors, is this also the node # or device id#?  I have always been confused by that.
In the interface they are called "ID", and "Device#", you have mixed the terms and called it "device ID", the neighbors are the ID which Jod called the "node ID"
V1,V2,V3,VLite,Express Controls HSM-100,Intermatic HA20C, HA04C,HA02C,HA09, Leviton VRP15-1LW, VRS15-1LX,Home Manageables HM-TS001,Schlage FE599, Schlage BE369, Cooper RF9500, Aeon Labs Minimote, Schlage TZEMT400AB32MAA+more

Offline scotthay

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ID or Device#?
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2011, 03:57:07 pm »
Thanks.

Is there a reason why there are two identifying numbers for everything?

When the device lists it's neighbors, is this also the node # or device id#?  I have always been confused by that.
In the interface they are called "ID", and "Device#", you have mixed the terms and called it "device ID", the neighbors are the ID which Jod called the "node ID"

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: ID or Device#?
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2011, 04:03:50 pm »
Quote
Is there a reason why there are two identifying numbers for everything?
There arnt. Z-Wave nodes also have a device number but not all devices are Z-Wave so they wont have that Node ID.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline oTi@

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: ID or Device#?
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2011, 04:17:50 pm »
Is there a reason why there are two identifying numbers for everything?
NodeID is a Z-Wave thing. Device# is a Vera thing. Both are needed internally by Vera.

You would be able to identify a Z-Wave device if the device has a way of showing you its NodeID (like a Trane thermostat). That would allow you to include those devices at the same time and not have to guess which one is which when you go into the GUI and assign names/rooms etc. to them.
Dezwaved at the moment...