Author Topic: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)  (Read 50013 times)

Offline teonebello

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Macs, Home Automation, Bikers
Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« on: March 16, 2011, 04:53:26 pm »
Hi,

I saw the Sonfy release a New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI).

http://www.somfy.com/downloads/nam_pro/somfy_zrtsi_flyer_2010.pdf

Do you believe that it is compatible with Mi Casa Vera?

How can I connect my somfy external RTS windows cover with my Mi Casa Vera?

I'm a brand new join of the Vera and Z-Wave wonderful world...

Thank you in advance
Matteo

Offline CMRancho

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 05:23:49 pm »
I'm waiting for it, too. I think I heard it's undergoing Z-wave certification by Sigma. We'll definitely make it work if it ever gets released.
Vera123beta; Schlage, Kwikset, TZEMT400; Linksys cams, Smarteye cams, HSM100; Aeon, Everspring, Cooper, Leviton, Intermatic, FortrezZ, Global Caché, USB-UIRT, Somfy, etc.

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1328
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2011, 08:06:26 pm »
I have heard that Somfy "may" make it available as a separate purchase from their Tahoma system.  I don't see why they wouldn't make it available as their ultimate goal is to sell more of them. 

Currently the best way to control RTS shades in Vera is to use an URTSII which is connected to Vera via RS232.  I believe there is already a plug-in for it in the Mios Marketplace.  They are about $400 and can control 16 channels with any number of shades on each channel.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline teonebello

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Macs, Home Automation, Bikers
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2011, 07:47:25 pm »
Hi,

How can you connect the universal rts via rs232 if there is not rs232 port in the mi casa vera?

Thank you
Regards,
Matteo

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1328
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2011, 07:58:29 pm »
You would use one of the supported USB to RS232 cables shown here:
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Serial_Supported_Hardware
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
« Last Edit: April 20, 2011, 10:35:51 pm by strangely »
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline elBohu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2012, 04:56:10 am »
Wouldn' t it be possible to connect a Switch/Blindcontrol?
I have the same Problem: Centralis RTS but Fibaro Homecenter2...
My Idea was to connect both, Fibaro AND RTS, so that the Blinds can be controlled without Computer or Smartphone

Offline Brientim

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2495
  • Karma: +77/-7

Offline mbairhead

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 517
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2012, 07:27:35 am »
According to this site the Somfy Z-Wave Universal RTS Interface (ZRTSI) Bridge Controller is already Vera compatable...the internet doesn't lie does it?  ;)

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1328
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2012, 10:31:01 pm »
Good to hear that it works, thanks @Alex09!
« Last Edit: February 19, 2012, 04:59:03 am by shady »
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline alex09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2012, 01:36:07 am »
Setup ZRTSI, with 2x Somfy WireFree Tilt Motor (RTS) on Vera 3.

Works perfectly.

Only issue was that the device was defined as a dimmable light switch, however, changing the device file to D_WindowCovering1.xml solved the problem. The up/down controls are still reversed, but that could be solved by editing the xml.

Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2012, 10:23:47 am »
Setup ZRTSI, with 2x Somfy WireFree Tilt Motor (RTS) on Vera 3.

Works perfectly.

Only issue was that the device was defined as a dimmable light switch, however, changing the device file to D_WindowCovering1.xml solved the problem. The up/down controls are still reversed, but that could be solved by editing the xml.

Alex,
Were you able to fix this?  I'm considering going this route, but want to minimize issues setting it up.

Thanks

Offline alex09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2012, 06:48:36 pm »
Honestly, I have not tried. Been travelling out of town alot, which is why I needed the automatation. I have a schedule setup to open and close around sunrise/sunset. I know it has been working fine, as I have a foscam that alerts me on activity and I can confirm that the open/close worked.

Offline Giro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2012, 08:33:20 pm »
Hi alex09,
I'm looking at adding a ZRTSI to control a few blinds.  Was it easy to setup?  I looked over the operation instructions off the following site. 

http://www.automatedshadestore.com/shop/product-info.php?Somfy_Z-Wave_to_RTS_Interface_ZRTSI-pid504.html

Is that all thats need to connect it to the vera?

Once thats complete how do you configure it on your dashboard.  Do you require a plug-in? 

Can you provide the procedure you followed to get everything up and running.

Thanks for the help

Offline Giro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Somfy New Z-Wave RTS Interface (ZRTSI)
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2012, 12:17:10 pm »
Hey Shady,

Thank for the PM.....I'm not allowed to PM =(.  I have not purchased anything yet.  I need a wireless option since I do not have power running to the windows.  I was looking at the RTS motors because they seem to be the easiest option?

The Z-Wave motors look nice but they only seem to have tubular motors.  I need to install a motor on a Hunter Douglas 2" wood blind.  I'm just looking to have the motor open and close the blinds not lift them.  Is the RTS motor not the best option or can you use a tubular motor for this? 

You mentioned a single channel RTS interface to a RS232 relay board......can you give me part numbers? 

Any help with this would be much appreciated.

Thanks