We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Connect to Vera without internet connection  (Read 9685 times)

Offline hankjones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Connect to Vera without internet connection
« on: March 20, 2011, 10:21:36 pm »
Is there a way I can statically set the ip address of my Vera box?  From what I can figure out, iVera needs to talk to the MCV servers to get the local ip address in order to connect.  It looks like the MCV servers purge the local ip address after a week or so.  I'm left to allowing my Vera to connect to the server once in a while to register it's ip address so Vera can connect.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 10:38:27 pm by hankjones »

Offline iVera

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 09:23:33 pm »
This is correct, iVera used to allow specifying manually the IP address of your Vera but with UI4, MCV added some ways to communicates with their servers to automatically get some information about how it can connect to your Vera.

Current version doesn't have a way to manually create a new Vera system on top of the ones returned by MCV but it can be added at.
iVera ... control your house!
www.thinkiwi.com

Offline djrobx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2011, 11:08:41 pm »
Please add this.   It's very annoying to not be able to get to Vera when MCV's servers go down when everything is working just peachy locally.

It would also be nice if you can specify a hostname/port so I can make a direct mapping in my router that works even if I'm not at home.  


Offline djrobx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2011, 09:38:22 pm »
The way things have gone with cp.mios.com servers the last few weeks, I'm chiming in again to beg for this feature.   I don't want to rely on mios's servers to be up, especially for a local connection!

Today I can't connect remotely - I get "Username or password mismatch".  Locally it will connect, and I can get in through cp.mios.com with the same user/password.   Ugh.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 09:41:01 pm by djrobx »

Offline pcjackson06

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2011, 07:18:06 pm »
Requesting this feature as well. I use iVera to compliment SQRemote. We don't manage a "remote" property with Vera, but interact with our primary residence while at home. I imagine a lot of users use the Vera product this way and would be happy to bypass the Mios servers when they aren't operational.

Offline Mitchell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2011, 07:37:48 pm »
gawd...

Just spent1 hour troubleshooting why ivera won't connect ...

I re-installed ivera and now it doesn't see my verav2 at all.

And you can't manually specify it.

So there are some major cp.mios server problems.

Please fix this
« Last Edit: August 21, 2011, 07:39:31 pm by Mitchell »

Offline Mitchell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2011, 08:11:15 pm »

Offline Minnies

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2011, 09:08:28 pm »
My Ivera is now completely useless. Though Mios has been down too much lately it is up at the moment and iVera still will not recognize my name. Any clues as to what to do?

Offline Mitchell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2011, 06:27:07 am »
After 3 password resets it accepted my name and pass, but now Ivera doesn't see my verav2

Offline Mitchell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2011, 06:29:52 am »
Hold on.

It works again now..  :)

Offline Minnies

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2011, 07:46:33 am »
Reset mine this morning and it is working again. Question what does the remote selection do?

Offline Mitchell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2011, 12:48:13 pm »
Correction.. partially working.

It only works when i'm connected to my lan.

So if i'm outside my house is doesn't work anymore ..

Offline Mitchell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2011, 10:39:50 am »
Anyone else ?

Or is this just a local problem .. ?

Offline Don Diego

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +300/-3
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2011, 06:33:02 am »
All--

  I also would like to reiterate that we need a way to connect to the vera once the MCV servers are down.. iVera used to be that way,,, and after paying dearly for iVera to have that feature removed is inexcusable..

       Don
Vera 3 (@1.5.622) (3); Vera Plus (2);
Trane/Schlage TStats (1); Schlage Deadbolt (2); Kwikset Lock (3);  GE 45602 Dimmer (14); GE 45603 Dimmer (17); HSM-100 (16); Everspring Siren (8), Everspring Temp/Humidity (4); HSM 200 (1)

Offline Mitchell

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Connect to Vera without internet connection
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2011, 12:26:19 pm »
I totally agree.

Good example :

My modem had a defect and i had to wait 4 days before my isp came to fix/replace it.
That meant 4 days no vera control thru my iphone...

I always should work locally without the use of mcv servers