Author Topic: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller  (Read 33912 times)

Offline Cool-Man

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #45 on: December 21, 2014, 08:41:40 pm »
same problem here - vera lite finds my GE 45600, I add the scenes, but I can't push the programming back to the remote (i.e. the green light doesn't light up when I push "SCENE" and then the number.

 :-[

Offline alden

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #46 on: December 22, 2014, 11:58:46 pm »
Me too.  I strongly recommend folks stay away from these remotes.  :(

Offline kdasilva03

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #47 on: June 03, 2015, 07:39:53 pm »
I'm considering purchasing the GE 45600, do people still feel the same way about this device? Has anyone tried with the latest version of Vera code?

Offline mronayne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #48 on: June 10, 2015, 10:57:52 am »
I have a Vere Edge with the latest Firmware installed (1.7.1181) and the GE 45600 handheld controller doesn't work at all.

Offline caciagli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #49 on: July 28, 2015, 09:19:09 pm »
After days and days of trying different methods, finally I found a workaround for this remote and it works perfect for me. This is how I did:
Principle: You need to use VERA controller to create the scenes and transfer them to the GE 45600 Remote control, after this, the GE Remote Control will execute the scenes bypassing the VERA as a Scene Controller.

1. Reset your GE 45600 Remote controller in order to delete everything from it by pressing Setup 2 seconds, and code 969
2. Add the GE 45600 to Vera: (Put Vera controller in including mode and press Setup for 2 seconds in the GE 45600 and then press code 967).
At this point the GE 45600 Remote Controller will appear in your VERA.
3. Start creating the scenes for ON and the scenes for OFF. Example: If I want to turn on my bed room light with button 1(On Side) in the GE 45600 and turn it off from the same butto 1 but (off side)
Create two scenes, in the first one (Scene to turn on) add a trigger selecting your "GE 45600 Remote Controller" and the "When a scene is activated; the second scene (Scene to turn off) add a trigger selecting your "GE 45600 Remote Controller" and the "When a Scene is de-activated"
4. Continue creating Scenes as required.
5. After you finish creating scenes you need now to "load" that configuration in your GE45600 Remote controller:
In VERA controller go to Devices, Add Devices, Advanced Z-wave Devices, and click on "add one" button located in the battery operated statement.  At this point go close to your VERA and in your GE 45600 Remote Controller press setup for 2 seconds and then code 967, at this point you will see your Orange indicator in VERA blinking fast and your green indicator in the GE Control blink twice.

At this point the GE control is already programmed and should work both sides of the buttons (ON and OFF).

I had a problem with mine and is that when I pressed a button to activate a Scene, another scenes activated as well at the same time.  In order to fix that what I did was:

1. In the VERA Controller enter to the settings of GE 45600 Controller and go to advanced.
2. In the option "This device is controlled by" normally it says "zwave" go ahead and change it for another device you have in your network, in my case I selected the one that was far away from my VERA Unit.
3. After this, your VERA configuration (Scenes for GE Remote Controller) seems to disappear (DOn?t worry, all the scenes are already loaded in your GE Remote Control)
4. You can delete your GE Remote Control from VERA. As the Remote control has already all the scenes loaded.

With this procedure I finally did put my Remote Control to work as it supposed to work.

Hopw this helps you guys.

Offline firebat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #50 on: August 13, 2015, 11:10:11 am »
I can make the remote work with UI5. There has been a few new releases of UI7. I don't want to waste my time upgrading to UI7 if this doesn't work. Anyone try the latest UI7 with this remote yet?

Offline AutomateMeVee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #51 on: September 12, 2015, 06:17:06 pm »
I have added a GE remote 46500 to my veralite as a generic scene controller but cannot turn on or off my lamp modules from my remote, the only way to turn lamp modules on and off is to press the all button and then of course they are all on or all off.  The only way I have found that will control individual lights on and off is to transfer primary control to my remote using (shift controller function) after I did that I was able to program individual buttons to individual lights, however now that I have my remote as the primary controller, I cannot add another lamp module to vera. Does anyone know how to transfer control back to the Veralite from the 46500 remote and if I do will it null and void my work??

Offline Experiment

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #52 on: November 19, 2015, 08:26:17 pm »
caciagli
it did't work for me.
Should be an easy way to do this with ui7. Why is it so hard?

Offline 172pilot

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #53 on: December 16, 2015, 05:28:49 pm »
Wow..  after buying this remote and reading this whole thread, I'm definitely confused.. 
I ASSUMED (yeah.. I know..) that the remote could just be used as triggers inside Vera..  Just like I make a scene so when it becomes dark outside, it turns my porch lights on, I thought I could just set a scene to run when each button was pressed..  Now I'm finding that it "kinda" works that way for the on buttons, but the off buttons have to talk directly to the zwave devices?!  WHY?   What if I wanted to include some extra logic, like, if I press the button to turn off something, it works differently at night, based on some other vera variable?  Like, maybe at night, if I turn off the livingroom lights, maybe I want to turn the hallway lights to 10% to be a nightlight for me to walk to bed, and then turn off 2 minutes later?   I want the Vera to be the hub for everything...  at least I THINK I do, unless someone explains to me why that's not good??

Is there a remote out there that someone could recommend that would just be a portable battery operated device that would just let me trigger different scenes through vera, without any possibility of controlling anything directly?

Thanks in advance!!
Steve

Offline JohnH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #54 on: August 10, 2016, 09:09:18 pm »
@172pilot: Sorry for the old thread reply..  The MiniMote works amazingly for me -- highly recommended.

Offline brwill

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: New to Vera 2, configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #55 on: October 23, 2016, 01:19:06 pm »
I read through this thread since I am considering the purchase of the GE remote. I can see where the problem is because I have encountered it elsewhere with Vera. The analogy is that to a hammer, everything is a nail. To Vera, almost everything is a scene controller; even when the product is designed and sold as something else ? such as a zone controller. This particular remote "Controls up to 18 Zwave devices, groups or scenes." It would seem that 1) too few people understand the difference between controlling devices, groups, and scenes, and 2) Vera cannot configure this device to provide the functionality for which it was designed. Also, what most of us want with this GE Remote is that it be a secondary controller (with Vera as the primary). That seems not possible (according to the GE device manual. it can be secondary only to another 45600, which would be primary.)

What I am looking for, and I suspect many others are as well, is a Z-Wave device that provides the same functionality as the X-10 HR12A PalmPad or the UR19A Remote ? i.e. a remote with on and off buttons that can be associated with specific Z-Wave devices (switches, dimmers, plug-ins, etc.) without having to add a kludge of scenes and virtual switches in Vera to make it all work. The GE 45600 'looks' like that desired device, but it seems that it cannot easily be made to work as such with Vera.

Offline LindsiWains

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-39
New to Vera 2 configuring GE 45600 remote controller
« Reply #56 on: November 09, 2016, 10:21:03 pm »
The largest part of the controller is actually the spring-loaded clip that you use to clamp to the tripod handle I, too, have a Bogen.  So, it really is more of a tripod oriented control than a hand-held control though it will so that fine as well.  It also has a long cable I can measure if youd like.