We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Hey Shady and other Old Timers: Is this mess any better a year later?  (Read 3406 times)

Offline gatorbaw

• Sr. Newbie
Hey you old timers:

I'm a Vera veteran but went away for the last full year when I moved due to Vera 1's overall unreliability in my hands.  I'm an Engineer in my previous life but no coder or programmer so only used Vera on a basic, out of the box level to control lights, doors and switches and to text me when a motion detector was activated.

Now, my question:  Is this mess any better in the last year?  Shoud I go back through the hassle of setting up my unopened Vera 2 that has sat for a full year, or scrap the idea and use my conventional installed alarm system?

I always appreciate the helpfulness of you forum members and the service you folks provide Micasaverde as their default customer service department.  Thank-you in advance for your replies!

Offline garrettwp

• Master Member
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Hey Shady and other Old Timers: Is this mess any better a year later?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 04:56:07 pm »
Give your vera 2 a try, but stick with UI4 until the issues with UI5 get cleared up.

- Garrett

Offline computerjohn

Hey Shady and other Old Timers: Is this mess any better a year later?
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 08:25:39 pm »
My Vera 2 with the latest UI4 update is stable enough to where I depend on it daily. I refuse to go UI5 until it is just as stable, though don't get me wrong. Vera in general is quirky.

Vera2 UI4 (1.1.1245), IT-100, 2x Trane Thermostats, 6x Intermatic HA03 Lamp Modules, 1x Intermatic HA07 Remote, 4x GE 45613 3-way Dimmer Switches, 13x GE45606 Dimmers Switches, 2x GE 45605 Receptacles, 16x GE 45604 Outdoor Modules, 3x GE 45603 Appliance Modules, Automated Saltwater Reef System

Offline shady

• This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2012, 08:30:11 pm »