We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Roomba Control via Vera  (Read 20226 times)

Offline chuck1026

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +3/-7
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2013, 08:35:09 am »
... Chuck don't feel overwhelmed, I told you, step by step and enjoying with the learning and programming :)
Regards.

Thanks Xavi!

I am making progress! Thank you for the encouragement  :) !
UI7 / VeraPlus.... YAY, more stable than ever!

Offline LightsOn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: +4/-3
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2013, 08:48:48 am »
Hi All,

Just ordered one today - very excited - @Chuck is doing a great job and i am enjoying following his developments.

Offline chuck1026

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +3/-7
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2013, 09:21:00 am »
My only worry would be if the extra height it adds would cause it to get stuck somewhere. As it is mine currently only just clears my AV cabinet marginally, and also my kitchen cabinets.

Seems pretty reasonable. I might just get one for the cool factor alone at that price! :)

I forgot to comment on the height... I will measure the height above the Roomba deck. My guess is approx 3/8"... I was concerned as well. A quick stop at Home Depot yielded some small square clear adhesive feet that came in a 9 pack. I forget the size but they are 5/8" High or so...
UI7 / VeraPlus.... YAY, more stable than ever!

Offline Pestus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #33 on: December 25, 2013, 06:23:01 pm »
Good day,

Some family has asked me if any of these robotic vacuums can be integrated. This thread seems promising but a bit dated. What state if any is this in? I gather I need this roomba WiFi module. Is the software available for vera in any real way?

Thanks and happy automating!

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
  • Karma: +15/-5
  • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #34 on: December 26, 2013, 05:46:17 pm »
^^^
Good question, I've just purchased a Pursonic i7 Pro robotic vacuum cleaner and remembered that there was a Roomba thread.
Love to read any updates, especially any news on the i7.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, Fantem Tec and then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #35 on: December 26, 2013, 07:27:16 pm »
Good day,

Some family has asked me if any of these robotic vacuums can be integrated. This thread seems promising but a bit dated. What state if any is this in? I gather I need this roomba WiFi module. Is the software available for vera in any real way?

Thanks and happy automating!
There is a basic plugin, and it can also be controlled via luup in a scene.

See the below thread for futher details:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,17560.0.html
« Last Edit: December 26, 2013, 07:33:25 pm by strangely »
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline Aegis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #36 on: December 26, 2013, 09:51:51 pm »
I can't find the video, but I have seen a YouTube vid where a guy interfaces a Roomba with a small Zwave microcontroller hard wired right into it.

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #37 on: December 26, 2013, 10:26:57 pm »
I can't find the video, but I have seen a YouTube vid where a guy interfaces a Roomba with a small Zwave microcontroller hard wired right into it.
No need for Zwave since the this plugin uses a WiFi controller that somebody already manufactured.
http://www.roomba-wifi-remote.com/
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline Pestus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #38 on: December 26, 2013, 11:10:53 pm »
Thanks again Strangely :)

Offline Aegis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #39 on: December 27, 2013, 06:54:23 am »
I can't find the video, but I have seen a YouTube vid where a guy interfaces a Roomba with a small Zwave microcontroller hard wired right into it.
No need for Zwave since the this plugin uses a WiFi controller that somebody already manufactured.
http://www.roomba-wifi-remote.com/

It seems to me if you want a scene where your Roomba starts after you leave your house, i.e. triggering off a door locking and no one is there and PCs are off then, you want Zwave.  I thought the Roomba hack was so cool because you can do just that and don't have to listen to it.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #40 on: December 27, 2013, 07:36:48 am »
I can't find the video, but I have seen a YouTube vid where a guy interfaces a Roomba with a small Zwave microcontroller hard wired right into it.
No need for Zwave since the this plugin uses a WiFi controller that somebody already manufactured.
http://www.roomba-wifi-remote.com/

It seems to me if you want a scene where your Roomba starts after you leave your house, i.e. triggering off a door locking and no one is there and PCs are off then, you want Zwave.  I thought the Roomba hack was so cool because you can do just that and don't have to listen to it.

Still no need for z-wave that is what the plugin that is being discussed that works with the wifi model does. It allows you to integrate the features that the wifi module exposes into Vera. Z-wave is not needed.

- Garrett

Offline Aegis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #41 on: December 28, 2013, 09:41:05 am »
I can't find the video, but I have seen a YouTube vid where a guy interfaces a Roomba with a small Zwave microcontroller hard wired right into it.
No need for Zwave since the this plugin uses a WiFi controller that somebody already manufactured.
http://www.roomba-wifi-remote.com/

It seems to me if you want a scene where your Roomba starts after you leave your house, i.e. triggering off a door locking and no one is there and PCs are off then, you want Zwave.  I thought the Roomba hack was so cool because you can do just that and don't have to listen to it.

Still no need for z-wave that is what the plugin that is being discussed that works with the wifi model does. It allows you to integrate the features that the wifi module exposes into Vera. Z-wave is not needed.

- Garrett

Gotcha...and after studying what is presented here, it is a slicker solution than the one I was referring to.  Is the plugin only available via manual upload at this time?  I didn't see it in the Apps dashboard.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2013, 09:46:20 am by Aegis »

Offline Aegis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #42 on: December 28, 2013, 11:32:26 am »
Just drilled the hole to expose the SCI port.  You guys rule.  Oh yeah, and my Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007s just arrived...

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #43 on: December 28, 2013, 11:35:10 am »
You have to load it manually still at the moment. Not sure what the developers plans are for it.

As for the serial port, you normal only have to remove the clip on trim cover on the top. I've been meaning to either drill mine (like yours (nice job by the way)) or cut out a bigger section the size of the module... with the view to try and lower it at much as possible. I Would likely also need to modify the connector on he module too, since it has a spacer there.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2013, 12:04:58 pm by strangely »
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline Aegis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Roomba Control via Vera
« Reply #44 on: December 28, 2013, 12:09:40 pm »
You have to load it manually still at the moment. Not sure what the developers plans are for it.

As for the serial port, you normal only have to remove the clip on trim cover on the top. I've been meaning to either drill mine (like yours (nice job by the way)) or cut out a bigger section the size of the module... with the view to try and lower it at much as possible. I Would likely also need to modify the connector on he module too, since it has a spacer there.

Thanks.  Yes, was thinking to drill hole for now, but may very well cutout footprint for entire module if plug isn't long enough to secure tightly in the port.  It's very difficult to find any images of the din connection of the Roowifi board.  There may also be enough travel in the Roomba faceplate to jam the module underneath it and snap the cover on top of it...
« Last Edit: December 28, 2013, 12:19:08 pm by Aegis »