We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Vera Memory  (Read 9229 times)

Offline jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-1
Vera Memory
« on: May 26, 2011, 02:58:05 pm »
Was just thinking about the minimal memory available in VERA. Since it has USB ports and is already using it to store logs to a memory stick one would think that some of the non essential files could be stored on another memory stick to allow more internal memory to be used for other more important things.
Just thinking.....
Vera 3....1.5.622

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 03:49:49 pm »
It's not just the logging that's the issue, when the logs are zipped and sent to MCV there is also a CPU limitation. The biggger the log file the more demand is put on the CPU.
Personally, I would like the option to disable logging.
Anyone know if that's possible?

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 04:01:16 pm »
@JOD

My settings are reflected by hte screenshot.
Since i have a usb flashdrive attached to vera that stores the logs and i have disables all remote logging to MCV
i think that is what you mean?

Henk
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 04:16:39 pm »
@Henk,

I have the same settings as you. Watching a "top" session I can see that when my logs reach ~20MB (I think this is when the zipping occurs) my %MEM increases to 68% and my CPU: sys jumps to 90%+ and Vera gets unresponsive for a while until that logging space is freed up (uploaded or dumped) occasionally (often) Vera can't process this zipping or uploading fast enough and she will reboot or things cascade out of control and she cant recover and then I have to do a manual reboot.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2011, 04:27:15 pm »
@Henk,

I have the same settings as you. Watching a "top" session I can see that when my logs reach ~20MB (I think this is when the zipping occurs) my %MEM increases to 68% and my CPU: sys jumps to 90%+ and Vera gets unresponsive for a while until that logging space is freed up (uploaded or dumped) occasionally (often) Vera can't process this zipping or uploading fast enough and she will reboot or things cascade out of control and she cant recover and then I have to do a manual reboot.

JOD.


Caused by your elaborate network with many devices? because my log should do the same in time, but i havent seen the behavious you describe
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2011, 04:39:52 pm »
Don't get side tracked...There is nothing elaborate, just devices and scenes.
But anyway..Logging could be called CLOGGING (no disrespect)
The logging appears to be clogging my system.

Does logging do ME any good?
I would like the option to disable it.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2011, 04:42:21 pm »
Anyone know if that's possible?
You can manually manipulate what gets logged. And I'm guessing that by specifying a non-existent log level, you effectively can have it log nothing and thus prevent/slow down the rotations.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 04:50:05 pm by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2011, 04:45:56 pm »
Don't get side tracked...There is nothing elaborate, just devices and scenes.
But anyway..Logging could be called CLOGGING (no disrespect)
The logging appears to be clogging my system.

Does logging do ME any good?
I would like the option to disable it.

JOD.


Didnt mean to get you sidetracked, just thinking WHY your logging is so heavy, thus exploring options what could prevent "clogging" as you state

@ oTi, manually edit what gets logged? how would that work?
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2011, 04:48:23 pm »
@ oTi, manually edit what gets logged? how would that work?
PM sent to @JOD, for experiment; for now. (My log file is currently 0 bytes.)
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2011, 04:57:36 pm »
@ oTi, manually edit what gets logged? how would that work?
PM sent to @JOD, for experiment; for now. (My log file is currently 0 bytes.)
Sweet. Did your Vera slowdowns disappear?

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2011, 07:06:27 pm »
I am having issues which I think might be memory related, basically it boils down to inconsistent scene activation or an unresponsive Vera, which occurs once every ten days or so.  Of course, I try enabling Verbose Logging (because I am on USB) and Locking it to try and help when I submit a ticket, but Vera ends up unresponsive so I can't submit a ticket.  So I'm with you guys, that I'd like to try killing Support Logs all together and see if that helps.  I'd still want logs for the Schlage Locks etc, of course.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2011, 08:26:57 pm »
So it sounds like the logging can be disabled somehow?
How would it be done?
Vera 3....1.5.622

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2011, 05:48:48 am »
So it sounds like the logging can be disabled somehow?
How would it be done?

http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_Loglevels

Set LogLevels = 1 to log only critical messages. This reduces the number of messages logged. Also, as it has been stated, set it to an invalid log level and see if any message is logged.

Offline jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2011, 02:28:21 pm »
Thanks for the help mcvflorin , I will give it a try !
Vera 3....1.5.622

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Vera Memory
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2011, 03:36:54 pm »
@ oTi, manually edit what gets logged? how would that work?
PM sent to @JOD, for experiment; for now. (My log file is currently 0 bytes.)
Sweet. Did your Vera slowdowns disappear?

JOD.

You needed a HOWTO on this JOD?
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |