Author Topic: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.  (Read 14596 times)

Offline Henk

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« on: June 21, 2011, 01:22:23 am »
All,

In many threads throughout the forum people have mentioned issues after upgrading to the newest official firmware (1.1.1245) and/or the new Z-wave version 3.20.

In this thread i would like to try to get those issues together in one place.
I have heard so far:

    1. Routing fails on many devices that worked properly before on older firmwares. Often worked for an extensice period of time and stopped working after upgrade.
    2. Devices are given variables that belong to other devices and cause the device to become unresponsive.  
        For instance, a switch that gets all kind of energy variables Or motion sensors that suddenly also show
        temperature values.
    3. Vera does nightly heals and/or reboots at certain intervalls, not scheduled by the user and a cause is hard to find.
        Users seem also unable to stop this behaviour manually.
    4. On larger networks Vera becomes slow and unresponsive (memory loads are high).
    5. Vera reboots at log rotations after cpu runs up to 99%.

If you have more issues or would like to post logs/examples of what i mentioned above, please do.

Troubleshooting:
Most people have been able to restore functionality by ex- and re-including devices, setting up their complete network from scratch and rigorous steps like that.

Also, i have not heard form people who set up a clean network on the new firmware, that have issues (except heavy memory and cpu loads with their consequences).

Lets hear what your problems are!
« Last Edit: June 21, 2011, 01:25:01 am by Henk »
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline computerjohn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 10:56:35 pm »
Hello Henk & HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm running 1.1.1245, but not using 3.20 firmware.

Here's my Z-Wave setting:

Version 2.78 L:1
House/Node  
Role Suc SIS:YES PRI:NO

I have been so busy & have not had time to play around with my Vera.  What is concerning me now is I have light switches turning on by themselves.  Right before my eye I had 2 differnt switches turn on..  What concerns me besides this saving me electricity, is that I have Z-Wave modules connected to my saltwater fish tank & it controls my alarm system..

I have about 45 Z-Wave devices & whenever I need to add another module. My Vera does not pair correctly at times & when adding a scene I have to do it about 3 times, because it either never selected the device or just wouldn't work.  

Also, what's the deal with the  Role Suc SIS:YES PRI:NO??  Since I have called Mi Casa Verde 3 times about this & have send 2 emails with NO RESPONSE!!!  I would really hate to do a wipe & restart, but if I have to then it is what it is.
Vera2 UI4 (1.1.1245), IT-100, 2x Trane Thermostats, 6x Intermatic HA03 Lamp Modules, 1x Intermatic HA07 Remote, 4x GE 45613 3-way Dimmer Switches, 13x GE45606 Dimmers Switches, 2x GE 45605 Receptacles, 16x GE 45604 Outdoor Modules, 3x GE 45603 Appliance Modules, Automated Saltwater Reef System

Offline Henk

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2011, 02:01:08 pm »
Hello Henk & HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm running 1.1.1245, but not using 3.20 firmware.

Here's my Z-Wave setting:

Version 2.78 L:1
House/Node  
Role Suc SIS:YES PRI:NO

Hi @computerjohn
Nothing wrong with your firmware versions.
If you want Vera to be your primary controller you can do a "shift controller" as discussed here:
http://forum.mios.com/index.php?topic=4412.0
(or here: http://forum.mios.com/index.php?topic=6809.msg43315#msg43315)

I have been so busy & have not had time to play around with my Vera.  What is concerning me now is I have light switches turning on by themselves.  Right before my eye I had 2 differnt switches turn on..  What concerns me besides this saving me electricity, is that I have Z-Wave modules connected to my saltwater fish tank & it controls my alarm system..
I understand your worries for your saltwater ecosystem and security system but cannot make your problems go away magically alas....

I have about 45 Z-Wave devices & whenever I need to add another module. My Vera does not pair correctly at times & when adding a scene I have to do it about 3 times, because it either never selected the device or just wouldn't work.  
This is not unusual, many users have seen the same behaviour on firmware 1.1.1245.
You might consider to pair using the UI as described here:
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Include_Z-wave_devices

Remember when adding a scene, do it step by step and save after each change. Vera does not accept multiple changes at a time and then save them together
(as described here: http://forum.mios.com/index.php?topic=6780.msg43062#msg43062)


Also, what's the deal with the  Role Suc SIS:YES PRI:NO??  Since I have called Mi Casa Verde 3 times about this & have send 2 emails with NO RESPONSE!!!  I would really hate to do a wipe & restart, but if I have to then it is what it is.

Being on 1.1.1245 you should see something like this (in your case as describes at the top of your message):
Quote
Version   2.78 L:1
House/Node   
Role   Master SIS:NO PRI:YES

You can reach that by trying to click "Shift controller" as described in the thread on top.
(you might need to repeat this a few times, even powercycle Vera once or twice, accept the error message that she cant shift controller and eventually it should work. (as you have read in the thread i mentioned)

Let us know if any of this helps!

Henk
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline JimiB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 11:53:43 am »
I upgraded to 1.1.1245 on June 9. The is a remote location so I've been unable to get to it until today. All my notifications disappeared, I'm no longer seeing any events logged (though I know there have been several each day).

Also, I have about 20 lock codes configured on my KwikSet lock. The codes survived but the names I had associated with them disappeared.

Any idea what I should do to recover these.

Offline Henk

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2011, 11:56:52 am »
@JimiB

Can you let us know how you upgraded? remotely? did you choose to keep or discard settings?

To troubleshoot your current problem, have you tried powercycling Vera?
Did you create a backup prior to upgrading that you can try to recover now?

Henk
I upgraded to 1.1.1245 on June 9. The is a remote location so I've been unable to get to it until today. All my notifications disappeared, I'm no longer seeing any events logged (though I know there have been several each day).

Also, I have about 20 lock codes configured on my KwikSet lock. The codes survived but the names I had associated with them disappeared.

Any idea what I should do to recover these.
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline reiserx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2011, 01:53:16 am »
I have a Vera 2 that asks me to upgrade to 1.1.1245 every time I log in to it. I finally tried it because I was local and I'm normally 1200 miles away. From IE9 it won't ever do anything when I click the upgrade button. In firefox5 it says it's done upgrading in about 5 minutes. At that point I reload the page and the firmware tab says:
1.1.1186
Error: Invalid Platform.

I've tried reseting the Vera and tried upgrading from micasaverde.com/vera2 and it also says the upgrade is finished but then when you hit next it goes back to asking if you want to upgrade again or not. It's stuck on .1186. Help, am I the only one. I've got about nine hours into this thing now. It took about an hour and a half just to get one of my schlage locks to pair again. I only have one more day with it before I have to head back

Offline Henk

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2011, 02:21:06 am »
@reiserx

I have created a more extensive wiki page on Firmware updates here:
http://wiki.mios.com/index.php/Update_Firmware

Have you tried this link in your browser?
http://micasaverde.com/vera2

It should take you through the automatic upgrade procedure.

Lately some of us are seeing issues with later/newer browser versions.
It seems Firefox 3.6 and IE8 are most stable for what you are trying to do.

If all else fails, let me know, there is also the option to do a manual upgrade by dropping an url into the appropriate box of your UI (as also described in the wiki). I could get you the URL for 1.1.1245, or you contact MCV support to help you out.

I have a Vera 2 that asks me to upgrade to 1.1.1245 every time I log in to it. I finally tried it because I was local and I'm normally 1200 miles away. From IE9 it won't ever do anything when I click the upgrade button. In firefox5 it says it's done upgrading in about 5 minutes. At that point I reload the page and the firmware tab says:
1.1.1186
Error: Invalid Platform.

I've tried reseting the Vera and tried upgrading from micasaverde.com/vera2 and it also says the upgrade is finished but then when you hit next it goes back to asking if you want to upgrade again or not. It's stuck on .1186. Help, am I the only one. I've got about nine hours into this thing now. It took about an hour and a half just to get one of my schlage locks to pair again. I only have one more day with it before I have to head back
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline reiserx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2011, 09:26:48 am »
Henk
I've tried all those things except for the Advanced manual upgrade. I've even tried the firmware upgrade tool from here: http://wiki.mios.com/index.php/Update_Firmware. The software would not find Vera2 so it was useless. I just want to know why it says invalid platform now on the firmware tab. Maybe in a month or so I'll be out to try again with the Advanced manual upgrade.

Offline Henk

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2011, 10:05:50 am »
@reiserx

Sounds like a partial firmware upgrade process.

In your case i would suggest to open a support ticket with MCV.

You say you tried it all, also dropping the custom url in the upgrade dropbox?

Henk


Henk
I've tried all those things except for the Advanced manual upgrade. I've even tried the firmware upgrade tool from here: http://wiki.mios.com/index.php/Update_Firmware. The software would not find Vera2 so it was useless. I just want to know why it says invalid platform now on the firmware tab. Maybe in a month or so I'll be out to try again with the Advanced manual upgrade.
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline reiserx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2011, 11:57:51 am »
I tried a couple different urls that pointed to the 1245 firmware. I even tried the 1298 beta and no go.

Offline Henk

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2011, 02:07:42 pm »
@reiserx

What OS are you using on your computer? If perhaps Windows7, you should run the application in XP compatibility mode, otherwise the networkcards are not detected.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=6595.msg41931#msg41931
and http://forum.mios.com/index.php?topic=6430.0


Henk
I've tried all those things except for the Advanced manual upgrade. I've even tried the firmware upgrade tool from here: http://wiki.mios.com/index.php/Update_Firmware. The software would not find Vera2 so it was useless. I just want to know why it says invalid platform now on the firmware tab. Maybe in a month or so I'll be out to try again with the Advanced manual upgrade.
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline Musicgrazer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2011, 02:37:49 pm »
I attempted to upgarde to the new firmware and the upgrade failed. My Vera2 will not reset or connect to the internet.  When I upgraded, the system told me to wait for at least 15 minutes and if the system did not respond, unplug the unit and plug it back in.  When I did that, NOTHING! I've tried the reset button on back of unit, still nothing.  The ETH1 and ZWave lights come on when I plug unit back in but then they go out and do not come back on regardless of the amount of time I wait.  So, I plugged my laptop directly into the Vera and I get a screen with black background and the following message in red:

Network Error!

We are sorry! There was a problem and the MiOS firmware could not be dowloaded automatically from server.
Please connect your box to the internet, then turn it off and then turn it back on.
For a manual network configuration please click here

I seem to be stuck! I would sincerely appreciate some help!  Thanks!!

Offline oTi@

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2011, 08:19:21 am »
@Musicgrazer,

Welcome!

I'd contact MCV Support and see what they suggest in this situation.

Also, if all else fails, there is a way to reflash Vera (if you have the right environment).
« Last Edit: July 11, 2011, 08:42:46 am by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline Tummy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2011, 10:07:49 pm »
Everything has been working fine for the last couple months.  I upgraded to 1245 and 3.2 a while ago.  Just a couple of days ago 3 of my GE/Jasco outdoor ZW4201 and a GE receptacle 45605 stopped working.  Our Koi ponds, fountain pumps and landscape lighting didn't turn on as expected.

I could get them to respond sometimes when I put a manual routing in the advanced tab, but often they become unresponsive after a couple tests or the next day.

The funny thing is that I have 4 Intermatic HA04 outdoor modules and they continue working fine.

I think the routing has become messed up.  Vera also becomes unresponsive and has caused the iVera app to crash when it says Server Busy.

Offline oTi@

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Issues upgrading to 1.1.1245 and/or Z-wave 3.20 firmware.
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2011, 09:24:06 am »
I could get them to respond sometimes when I put a manual routing in the advanced tab, but often they become unresponsive after a couple tests or the next day.
Do you have 'Use MiOS routing instead of Z-Wave' checked or unchecked? (Z-Wave device > Options).
Dezwaved at the moment...