Author Topic: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin  (Read 131493 times)

Offline edentel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #570 on: September 10, 2017, 09:17:20 pm »
After screwing around in the passenger seat during a road trip I managed to get the Panel and Partition devices created.  When I check the logfile for any menention of ElkPlugin in looks like everything is communicating just fine to my newbie eyes.

Two problems:
1) No sensors get created as devices
2) Using any buttons in the Partition page result in "ERROR: Device not ready"

I've attached a copy of the advanced options for both devices and the logfile mentions of ElkPlugin.

*ANY* pointers would be really appreciated!


Offline zoot1612

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +19/-1
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #571 on: September 19, 2017, 07:31:13 pm »
@edentel

To a certain extent device creation should be automatic for supported devices. I think your issue more likely stems from something missed in the install.

Quote
At best I'm getting "System error : Device: 279. Fail to load implementation file"

I suggest you download and install again, you should not need to delete any files.


By the way the part of the log you sent through looks OK, I will need to see the whole thing to be sure though.


Offline edentel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #572 on: September 22, 2017, 08:29:07 pm »
I actually logged into the shell and deleted all of the Elk files.  I did a reboot and then uploaded the files from your link.  I rebooted and then created a device with the options below in the image.  Upon reboot I was seeing the same issue.  Hitting "clear" under device control results in "ERROR: Device not ready".

The plugin is communicating as the Vera GUI throws up a message, "Elk Alarm Panel : ELKRP is connected." If I run Elk RP.  Just the functionality is dead.

Checking the LuaUPNP log for anything referring to Elk is now showing:

01      09/22/17 20:25:45.501   LuaInterface::CallFunction_Startup-1 device 292 function elkStartup failed [string "-- Plugin Version..."]:2833: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value) <0x76785520>


I appreciate any pointer you might have!

Offline zoot1612

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +19/-1
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #573 on: September 26, 2017, 11:06:13 pm »
@edentel
Not a lot of information to go on  :( . Can you look at what version of firmware on the elk you are running and also go to the following link and ensure your panel is set up in a similar way.

https://wiki.universal-devices.com/index.php?title=ISY-994i_Series_INSTEON:ELK_Security_Module

Just the Configuring Elk part of the page and don't worry about the user at this point.

If you can you might get a quicker reply if you DM as I am not on this forum as much these days.

@edentel
Can you send me your complete log, removing any of the sensitive info? It may be some device that I have not catered for. These types of things are always hard to track down when hardware/software varies.


« Last Edit: September 27, 2017, 07:56:48 pm by zoot1612 »

Offline GregM123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #574 on: November 09, 2017, 02:57:04 pm »
Hi @zoot1612, I have installed the latest version of the Elk M1 plugin and so far it works pretty good. It's the most comprehensive Elk plugin I have seen. Most Elk integrations only deal with security. With that said, I am experiencing some issues. I can't imagine the difficulty created by the infinite combination of devices you can add to the Elk.

I am not a coder but I have written some simple scripts etc to connect the elk to other devices and have an understanding of the Elk protocol. I am happy to do what I can to help resolve the issues. I will, however, need some direction as I have not done any work in the Vera Lua files.

Here are the issues I am experiencing:

1) The PLC lighting (UPB in my setup) shows the On / Off switch in the web browser interface but not in the app (iphone7 & iPad Pro). The device is listed but the On/Off switch is missing. The outputs show the switch and I can turn them on or off from the app but not the lighting. Also, the dimmers show as On/Off switches.

2) The PLC lighting is not showing the correct status. From the web interface I can send on and off commands and the light turns on and off. The status of the light always displays off.

3) I have an RCS zone controller that is connected to the Elk and it shows up as 4 thermostats. The mode and current temp are correctly displayed but the setpoint show 0℃. Could it be related to the separate heating & cooling setpoints?

4) I am getting alerts from my security sensors every time they change state. Not a huge issue as the alarts are not sent but just logged. When I am in the kitchen, an event is logged every time the motion sensor detects motion. My concern here is that the log is filled with these event making it difficult to find real info.

Let me know if you need access to my system, logs etc.

Cheers,

Greg.

Offline rdotten

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #575 on: November 25, 2017, 10:16:15 pm »
I installed 2.19 from the App Store

Added the New Files from the Above Zip

Restarted Luup

Deleted Alarm Panel

Went to My Apps, created new Alarm Panel

added my IP and port

Restart Luup

Rebooted Vera

my log has these errors.....
11/25/17 22:04:21.882LuaInterface::CallFunction_Startup-1 device 202 function elkStartup failed [string "-- Plugin Version..."]:2833: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value) <0x76b8a520>
11/25/17 22:04:21.882LuImplementation::StartLua running startup code for 202 I_ElkAlarmPanel1.xml failed <0x76b8a520>


I'm sure it is something simple...not sure where to start

Thanks for taking a look.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 11:24:02 pm by rdotten »

Offline zoot1612

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +19/-1
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #576 on: November 28, 2017, 08:53:44 pm »
@GregM123
1) The PLC lighting (UPB in my setup) shows the On / Off switch in the web browser interface but not in the app (iphone7 & iPad Pro). The device is listed but the On/Off switch is missing. The outputs show the switch and I can turn them on or off from the app but not the lighting. Also, the dimmers show as On/Off switches.
It may be the app doesn't support the type of switch I created and as for the dimmer I never created a dimmer device. Send me the logs with comments and I will see what I can do.

2) The PLC lighting is not showing the correct status. From the web interface I can send on and off commands and the light turns on and off. The status of the light always displays off.

I don't have any PLC stuff so never sure if it would work or not and the code was very basic. Send me the log with comments of what you where doing at the time I may be able to fix this.

3) I have an RCS zone controller that is connected to the Elk and it shows up as 4 thermostats. The mode and current temp are correctly displayed but the setpoint show 0℃. Could it be related to the separate heating & cooling setpoints?

Logs please :)

4) I am getting alerts from my security sensors every time they change state. Not a huge issue as the alarts are not sent but just logged. When I am in the kitchen, an event is logged every time the motion sensor detects motion. My concern here is that the log is filled with these event making it difficult to find real info.

Sorry probably won't change this.

Offline zoot1612

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +19/-1
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #577 on: November 28, 2017, 08:55:57 pm »
@rdotten
Can you please send me the full log of what happens before the error and hopefully I can isolate it.

Offline GregM123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #578 on: November 28, 2017, 09:33:22 pm »
@zoot1612
Thanks for responding, I appreciate it. Do you want the logs posted here, PM, or email. I spoke with Vera tech support and they thought that some of the devices may have been created using an old format ( I didn't know there was an "old" format). Using the web interface, the PLC lighting can be turned On and Off but the status does not update correctly.

Greg

Offline rdotten

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #579 on: November 28, 2017, 09:37:16 pm »
@rdotten
Can you please send me the full log of what happens before the error and hopefully I can isolate it.

@zoot1612
I will upload later this evening (i need to back out of some changes I made)

I spent sometime trying to isolate the issue.
As it was trying to createKeypads it does the first one without an issue (i=1 and keypad=1). Then when it loops through to get my 2nd keypad (i=2 and keypad=012)....when it tries to fill the label array it has null....(i think it initializes (line 2830: g_keypads[keypad] = {} (i think keypad is 12....then when it tries to fill the array (line 2833 g_keypads.label = label...i=2...and it is isn't initialized).
I changed line 2830 to g_keypads={}....and it all worked....I haven't gone thru to see if this causes other problems.....but it does initialize and list all sensors.

Thank you,






Offline zoot1612

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +19/-1
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #580 on: November 28, 2017, 10:44:22 pm »
@rdotten
@rdotten
Can you please send me the full log of what happens before the error and hopefully I can isolate it.

@zoot1612
I will upload later this evening (i need to back out of some changes I made)

I spent sometime trying to isolate the issue.
As it was trying to createKeypads it does the first one without an issue (i=1 and keypad=1). Then when it loops through to get my 2nd keypad (i=2 and keypad=012)....when it tries to fill the label array it has null....(i think it initializes (line 2830: g_keypads[keypad] = {} (i think keypad is 12....then when it tries to fill the array (line 2833 g_keypads.label = label...i=2...and it is isn't initialized).
I changed line 2830 to g_keypads={}....and it all worked....I haven't gone thru to see if this causes other problems.....but it does initialize and list all sensors.

Thank you,

Give the latest git master a try, I had allowed for eight keypads not sixteen.

Offline rdotten

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #581 on: November 28, 2017, 10:54:20 pm »
@zoot

I'm getting the same error.
I think it is because my keypad is number 12, but i only have 2 of them....

My log is attached

Offline zoot1612

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +19/-1
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #582 on: November 28, 2017, 11:12:22 pm »
@zoot

I'm getting the same error.
I think it is because my keypad is number 12, but i only have 2 of them....

My log is attached

Yes that is the issue and I thought I had got it :) I have uploaded an update try that, hopefully this time it works. Can't really test this myself as I have one alarm system that is in service and I don't want to stuff around with it.

Offline rdotten

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #583 on: November 28, 2017, 11:22:06 pm »
@zoot

I'm getting the same error.
I think it is because my keypad is number 12, but i only have 2 of them....

My log is attached

Yes that is the issue and I thought I had got it :) I have uploaded an update try that, hopefully this time it works. Can't really test this myself as I have one alarm system that is in service and I don't want to stuff around with it.

That one worked.....thank you so much.

Offline bucko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 637
  • Karma: +26/-7
Re: Elk M1 (and M1 M1EZ8) Alarm Panel Plugin
« Reply #584 on: December 04, 2017, 06:26:34 pm »
I am just in the process of replacing my Vera 3 UI5 to a VeraPlus. I installed the Elk M1 plugin (V 2.19) and it created the devices and outputs (mostly). But it did fail to create several devices in my M1.
It looks like some of my phantom outputs in the M1 did not get created. These outputs are all numbered 200 and above. There are 5 of them in my panel. I suspect the plugin is not polling any outputs above 199.

Can I somehow force poll these or manually add them?  What do you think?


EDIT-- Since no response to my question, I remapped my phantom outputs to un-used numbers below 100 and they now show up in Vera ok. So to make clear, this plugin will not address outputs about 100.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2017, 05:45:36 am by bucko »
Vera 3, 40+ Fibaro relays & dimmers, IPUX cams, Elk M1 Gold, M1XEP, M1SP, XVOR, M1RB, Elk124, Monoprice HDMI matrix & 6 zone amp, Denon AVR, Panasonic A8000, BI DV,On Controls