Author Topic: Question on 3.2 upgrade  (Read 13603 times)

Offline S-F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
  • Karma: +62/-12
  • Clueless N00b
Question on 3.2 upgrade
« on: June 27, 2011, 10:59:01 am »
The wiki says to reset the z-wave network. Do I also need to manually remove all of the devices first? I have light switches, a Trane thermostat, the smart switch I got with Vera and a Schalge lock. I just moved into a new house and figured that this would be a good time to make the switch but am unsure on exactly how to go about it. Could someone give me a step by step on what to do?

Thanks guys and gals
My forum account was apparently hacked by a leprechaun. And he's drunk all of the time. If a post of mine seems a little off kilter, it's probably because he made it.

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 11:23:28 am »
@S-F

No theres no need to remove anything.

Maybe you will need the hack 2.78 to 3.20 option provided in the same tab.

Let me know of you still need a how to...

Henk

The wiki says to reset the z-wave network. Do I also need to manually remove all of the devices first? I have light switches, a Trane thermostat, the smart switch I got with Vera and a Schalge lock. I just moved into a new house and figured that this would be a good time to make the switch but am unsure on exactly how to go about it. Could someone give me a step by step on what to do?

Thanks guys and gals
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline S-F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
  • Karma: +62/-12
  • Clueless N00b
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 02:18:10 pm »
Well, I did it. I checked "use 3.2" and then after it finished it process and the popup showed that it was on 3.2 I hit the GO button next to reset z-wave network.  I came back 10 minutes later and all of my devices and scenes were still there. I thought this was supposed to wipe all that out?
My forum account was apparently hacked by a leprechaun. And he's drunk all of the time. If a post of mine seems a little off kilter, it's probably because he made it.

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2011, 02:26:20 pm »
@S-F

No, it just "resets" your Z-wave device with a possible heal after that.
Anyway, congratulations on 3,20L

Hope it will work for you too

Well, I did it. I checked "use 3.2" and then after it finished it process and the popup showed that it was on 3.2 I hit the GO button next to reset z-wave network.  I came back 10 minutes later and all of my devices and scenes were still there. I thought this was supposed to wipe all that out?
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline S-F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
  • Karma: +62/-12
  • Clueless N00b
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2011, 03:11:28 pm »
OOOOOOOHHhhhhh. Had I known that I'd have done it a while ago. What's up with the hack then? IMO this whole Z-wave firmware upgrade isn't documented as clearly as it probably should be.
My forum account was apparently hacked by a leprechaun. And he's drunk all of the time. If a post of mine seems a little off kilter, it's probably because he made it.

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2011, 03:30:55 pm »
@S-F

Have you seen this?
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Migrate_To_Z-wave_version_452

OOOOOOOHHhhhhh. Had I known that I'd have done it a while ago. What's up with the hack then? IMO this whole Z-wave firmware upgrade isn't documented as clearly as it probably should be.
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline S-F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
  • Karma: +62/-12
  • Clueless N00b
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2011, 03:58:57 pm »
Yeah I saw that. But my interpretation of:

Quote
Officially you have to reset your Z-Wave network and rebuild your network from scratch. While this is not an issue for a new user or a really small network, some Vera users have large Z-Wave networks already setup with lots of scenes and will not want to redo everything.

Was that all of my scenes and devices would no longer be there. Am I misunderstanding something? Apparently so.
My forum account was apparently hacked by a leprechaun. And he's drunk all of the time. If a post of mine seems a little off kilter, it's probably because he made it.

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2011, 04:36:36 pm »
@S-F,

The "Hack to convert"scenario is if you dont want to rebuild the network.

If you only have a limited network it's safer (possibilty of corrupting data) to build the 3.20 network from scratch. If you build from scratch, Reset Z-Wave network anyway, this will produce a new House ID and start you with a clean slate. You will have to unpair all your devices in order to include them again.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline S-F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
  • Karma: +62/-12
  • Clueless N00b
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2011, 04:52:50 pm »
@S-F,

The "Hack to convert"scenario is if you dont want to rebuild the network.

If you only have a limited network it's safer (possibilty of corrupting data) to build the 3.20 network from scratch. If you build from scratch, Reset Z-Wave network anyway, this will produce a new House ID and start you with a clean slate. You will have to unpair all your devices in order to include them again.

JOD.

OK. So the fact that my devices and scenes are still there is normal and I need to manually remove everything? Is there a guide on how to unpair devices?
My forum account was apparently hacked by a leprechaun. And he's drunk all of the time. If a post of mine seems a little off kilter, it's probably because he made it.

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2011, 04:56:03 pm »
@S-F

Or you simply use the Hack to convert scenario first...
Unpairing is described in the manual of your z-wave devices.

Generally it is the same procedure as pairing the device to Vera, but inverted (or even exactly the same)
for instance tapping a tamper switch 3 times...)

Note, unpairing the device can be done without Vera.

@S-F,

The "Hack to convert"scenario is if you dont want to rebuild the network.

If you only have a limited network it's safer (possibilty of corrupting data) to build the 3.20 network from scratch. If you build from scratch, Reset Z-Wave network anyway, this will produce a new House ID and start you with a clean slate. You will have to unpair all your devices in order to include them again.

JOD.

OK. So the fact that my devices and scenes are still there is normal and I need to manually remove everything? Is there a guide on how to unpair devices?

| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline oTi@

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2011, 01:53:55 am »
[...]Is there a guide on how to unpair devices?
Typically: instead of choosing 'include'/'add', choose 'exclude'/'remove' on Vera, then hit the button on the device you used to include it originally.

(For some devices, you put them in include/exclude mode first, then choose include/exclude on Vera).

If the device was successfully excluded, it shouldn't show up in the GUI anymore.
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2011, 02:31:55 am »

OK. So the fact that my devices and scenes are still there is normal and I need to manually remove everything? Is there a guide on how to unpair devices?


IIRC from when I first went over to 3.20, everything will work fine without the hack... and everything will appear normal until you try to include or exclude a new device! I believe this is explained in the WiKi page, but not clear.

Using the hack, purely attempts to fix the include/exclude problem.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2011, 04:07:33 am »
@Strangely

Also for you, rather than claiming the wiki is unclear at certain points (which it is!), what do you think needs to be improved on the specifick page/subject?

Let me know so i can modify it...


OK. So the fact that my devices and scenes are still there is normal and I need to manually remove everything? Is there a guide on how to unpair devices?


IIRC from when I first went over to 3.20, everything will work fine without the hack... and everything will appear normal until you try to include or exclude a new device! I believe this is explained in the WiKi page, but not clear.

Using the hack, purely attempts to fix the include/exclude problem.
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2011, 03:30:56 pm »
Lol its not too bad compared to other pages that were written, but I remember the first time I read it, it wasn't very clear to me.

I haven't got too much time the re-author it completely, but given your expert writing skills, and the great job you've on others, I think you would make good job of it!

My suggestions are:

I would go somewhere along the lines of removing a lot of the content that distracts the users attention. Its way too wordy and you cant see the meat very well, or whats important.

It only needs a brief introduction that explains 3.20 is an option with Vera versions 1.1.1221 and up, and that this version supports has a better routing algorithm, and a snappier response, but there are some risks... and should perhaps only be used if the user is having an issue with the current 2.78 branch and is not worried about losing the ability to include from a secondary controller* ( see below)

If a user wants to proceed then make a warning about making a backup (including a dongle backup) first.

Explain that there are two paths to update, as currently the instructions section only references the upgrade option / hack, where the other instructions for a clean load are currently buried in the introduction blurb and would be missed if the person skipped to the instructions section.

Upgrade Path 1: where a user wants clean their Vera and start from scratch (reference the relevant section numbers etc)
Upgrade Path 2 where a user wants to upgrade and keep their configuration (reference the relevant section numbers etc)
-After updating you can explain that Vera will appear to be working fine; however Inclusion and exclusion will not function correctly unless the hack is run.

* Also a more detailed reference near the end that explains the (SUC/SIS) stuff a bit more in depth, and what Vera will present to you once successively upgraded.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline S-F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
  • Karma: +62/-12
  • Clueless N00b
Re: Question on 3.2 upgrade
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2011, 04:34:19 pm »
I agree completely with Strangely! Look at all the confusion I've had. And my reading comprehension is not sub par. From what I currently understand the "official" method to upgrade is to:
Select "Use Z-Wave version 3.20 instead of 2.78"
Hit the GO button for "Reset Z-Wave network"
Then manually unpair all devices.

Correct?

The current wiki entry specifically states that the "Reset Z-Wave network" function will wipe everything, which apparently is not true.
My forum account was apparently hacked by a leprechaun. And he's drunk all of the time. If a post of mine seems a little off kilter, it's probably because he made it.