We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers  (Read 9625 times)

Offline lcfeves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Hi There,

I just received my Vera2 and have been trying to get it setup with little luck.  We installed Leviton Vizia RF+ dimmers throughout our house last year, and were looking forward to having Vera run our lighting, as well as our automation down the road.  The problem I'm having is I can't get Vera to pair with the dimmer switches.  I have tried several things alreadY:

1. Put Vera into "include" mode, using the battery backup, and tapping the switches.

2. Put Vera into "include" mode, using the battery backup, and holding the switches for 2 seconds.

3. Put Vera into "include" mode, using the battery backup, and holding the switches for 5 seconds.

4. Put Vera into "include" mode, how the zwave button for 10 seconds, turn on the dimmer, turn Vera back to "include mode and turn the light on again.

5. Push the air gap switch on the dimmers, then try to "include".

Each time I can see that the locator light is green, and doesn't change.  I've seen some literature that says that it should change color, I've seen some literature that says to reset the switches...

I feel like it shouldn't be this difficult, but can't get the fluttering light or the pairing info.  Please help.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :-)

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2011, 02:50:16 am »
@icfeves
Have you tried to include devices trough Vera's UI?

I wrote a How To on this, you can find it here:
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Include_Z-wave_devices.

Dont forget, you need to get Vera into include mode, but ALSO your z-wave enabled devices.
You can refer to the devices (your dimmers) manual on how to do this.

Good luck and let us know if you were able to work it out!

Henk

Hi There,

I just received my Vera2 and have been trying to get it setup with little luck.  We installed Leviton Vizia RF+ dimmers throughout our house last year, and were looking forward to having Vera run our lighting, as well as our automation down the road.  The problem I'm having is I can't get Vera to pair with the dimmer switches.  I have tried several things alreadY:

1. Put Vera into "include" mode, using the battery backup, and tapping the switches.

2. Put Vera into "include" mode, using the battery backup, and holding the switches for 2 seconds.

3. Put Vera into "include" mode, using the battery backup, and holding the switches for 5 seconds.

4. Put Vera into "include" mode, how the zwave button for 10 seconds, turn on the dimmer, turn Vera back to "include mode and turn the light on again.

5. Push the air gap switch on the dimmers, then try to "include".

Each time I can see that the locator light is green, and doesn't change.  I've seen some literature that says that it should change color, I've seen some literature that says to reset the switches...

I feel like it shouldn't be this difficult, but can't get the fluttering light or the pairing info.  Please help.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :-)

| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline lcfeves

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2011, 03:31:40 am »
Thanks for the response.

I tried going through the steps of adding it at full power, but it didn't work (I clicked "Go'", it said "command sent", I ran over to turn on the dimmer, I came back, it said "0 devices added successfully").

I know that it says to "turn on" the light to activate the pairing mode in these dimmers, but is there something else i need to do to get these dimmer to pair?

How likely is it that my firmware is the problem?

Thanks for your help!

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2011, 03:51:43 am »
@lcfeves

At this point its very unlikely that your firmware gives problems.

There are a few options,

1. Your Vera is the wrong local mode (using US frequencies while you are not, or Vera is on EU frequencies when you are not in Europe)
Whats you location and did you set that in Vera's UI corespondingly.

2. Your Vera is on z-wave 3.20 and refuses to go into learning mode (use the hack 2.78 to 3.20 mode)

3. The distance between Vera and the dimmer is too big.

4. You do not set the dimmer into inclusion mode correctly.

Going back, 4 is most likely, 1 and two are MUCH less likely, but i have made wiki How To's for both of the situations.

For inclusion, reset the dimmer to factory defaults (manual)
This is mostly done by clicking a manual switch on the device between 1 and 3 times depending on the make and model of the dimmer.

Then put the dimmer into inclusion mode, which most of the time is the same or similar procedure (manual)

After that do a full power inclusion and keep watching Veras UI, dont run to the light...

Make sure Vera and the device are within 10feet/3 meters of eachother...

Hope that helps!

Thanks for the response.

I tried going through the steps of adding it at full power, but it didn't work (I clicked "Go'", it said "command sent", I ran over to turn on the dimmer, I came back, it said "0 devices added successfully").

I know that it says to "turn on" the light to activate the pairing mode in these dimmers, but is there something else i need to do to get these dimmer to pair?

How likely is it that my firmware is the problem?

Thanks for your help!
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline grybrd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2011, 08:52:22 am »
Just a hint .. the top of the rocker switch needs to be pushed in enough to allow the bottom of the switch to actually pop out of the enclosure.

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2011, 10:01:59 am »
@lcfeves,

Welcome!

[...]installed Leviton Vizia RF+ dimmers throughout our house last year
Sounds like you may have had a different controller (like the Leviton remote) before Vera and all your dimmers are already included on that network?

You'd first have to exclude the devices, before they will accept inclusion on a new network. You could do that with your previous controller, or with Vera. It works the same way as inclusion, but you choose exclusion. Another way is to factory reset the devices (but that would confuse any previous controllers); for the VRI06's: engage the air-gap switch for 5 seconds, then push the paddle back in, hold it and watch for the LED to turn red.

Then try to include again. I prefer full-power inclusion and exclusion through the Dashboard; it gives you the most insight into what is going on (by watching the status window) and you don't have to move Vera around too much.


Note: if you do indeed have another controller, it may also be possible to transfer the network information to Vera.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2011, 07:23:14 am by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline kaldoon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2011, 06:42:31 am »
As @Oti stated devices - devices cannot live in 2 networks. The air-gap function may or may not reset the Z-Wave chip - the best thing to do is exclude node if using your Leviton controller or reset or un-pair if using Vera

Offline Cherokee180c

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2011, 12:29:26 pm »
Failing to exclude is probably your problem.  I actually excluded every switch and then reset to factory and then everything switched over from my Leviton remote to Vera perfectly.  I am much happier using Vera now for everything.

Offline Dunlapjc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2012, 11:59:49 am »
Did you every find resolution on this?

I am in the exact same situation.  I installed a lot of new switches over the weekend. 
I installed and paired 7 VRS15-1LZ on/of switches with no issues at all.

I also installed 5 VPE06-1LZ Dimmers and can't pair a single one.  Each is working perfectly as a stand-alone dimmer, but I can't get any of them to pair.
I've done the air-gap reset.  These don't seem to change LED color, but do a strobe effect on the dimmer indicators to show that they've been reset.

Pairing the Leviton on/off switches was a breeze, but I can't figure anything out on the dimmers.
I'm using a Vera 3 with most recent released firmware.  I've only tried the battery mode.

Thanks for your help,
Jon

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2012, 12:11:40 pm »
A VPE06 is a standalone electric low voltage dimmer.  A VRE06 is the ZWave enabled version of the same switch.  Is that what you meant?

Offline Dunlapjc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New User - Need help with Leviton VRI06-1LX Vizia RF + Dimmers
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2012, 08:22:53 am »
Thanks for getting back to me.
That explains it!  I ordered these a few months ago.  It looks like they shipped the wrong ones.  I ordered and paid for the VRE's.  Looks like I got the VPE's instead.

Now to go fight with the reseller...

Arggghhh, I'm not looking forward to opening up those 3-gang boxes again.