We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: do i need a 3 way set to make 2 z wave switches act as a 3 way?  (Read 2641 times)

Offline willeffects

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Hello,

I recently purchased the 3 items from smarthome to make a 3 and 4 way switching option using the Cooper Wiring Aspire RF series:

1. Master Dimmer http://www.smarthome.com/21554AW/Cooper-Wiring-Devices-RF9534-NAW-Aspire-RF-600W-Incandescent-MLV-Smart-Dimmer-Alpine-White/p.aspx
2. Non-RF Accessory http://www.smarthome.com/21567AW/Cooper-Wiring-Devices-RF9542AW-Non-RF-Accessory-with-LED-s-Alpine-White/p.aspx
3. RF Accessory http://www.smarthome.com/21558AW/Cooper-Wiring-Devices-RF9542-ZAW-Aspire-RF-Accessory-Smart-Dimmer-with-LED-s-Alpine-White/p.aspx

So 1 and 2 act as a standard 3 way and are hard wired as such.  1 uses z wave to control.  Now to make my 4 way switch that is not hardwired to the light I purchased #3 which says it communicates to the master dimmer 1 via RF.  As I've gone through the manual it turns out that it actually requires me to use the "association function" in my "z-wave controller".  I haven't done this yet but I understand it from reading the other posts that I am essentially just grouping them together in Vera.

So if thats the case, if all I am actually doing is grouping a z-wave switch to a master dimmer, do I really need to buy specific sets like this in the future for 3/4 way switching?  Meaning... cant I just use, for instance, one of the GE zwave dimmer switches that I can get for $20 on ebay as a master and 1 or 2 other GE zwave dimmers to create a virtual 3/4 way control by using the association function in vera?  Thus creating 3/4 switching for no more than $60 total?

Thanks,
Will

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: do i need a 3 way set to make 2 z wave switches act as a 3 way?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2011, 09:43:32 pm »
@willeffects,

Device #3 is a special device for this purpose. You use Vera to set it up so it knows which devices you want it to control. It can initiate the commands for associated dimmers to act on. Whereas a dimmer could report its status back to associated controllers, but not control another dimmer. Apart from that, the GE's don't support associations.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2011, 09:47:12 pm by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline willeffects

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: do i need a 3 way set to make 2 z wave switches act as a 3 way?
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2011, 11:27:01 pm »
thanks so much for the detailed explanation!  I will let you know how the aspire products work out.

Will