Author Topic: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB  (Read 336181 times)

Offline ohecht

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #990 on: November 23, 2017, 02:10:49 pm »
Thanks sound-mind and pentium...I did download the other version of the plugin...never thought to look outside of the plugin store!  Are there other ways to find out-of-store plugins like that?  I'm now on version 3.89 of the plugin with no warning messages.  I'm still doing my testing, but things seem a little better at least.  I've still had some moments when it seemed that the door sensors would stop responding again, especially when I was testing them a lot over a short period of time, but I'm still checking things to see if that was my imagination or the new version "breaking in" somehow...

Has anyone solved the issue of door/window sensors being shown as motion sensors?

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #991 on: November 23, 2017, 07:23:45 pm »
Thanks sound-mind and pentium...I did download the other version of the plugin...never thought to look outside of the plugin store!  Are there other ways to find out-of-store plugins like that?  I'm now on version 3.89 of the plugin with no warning messages.  I'm still doing my testing, but things seem a little better at least.  I've still had some moments when it seemed that the door sensors would stop responding again, especially when I was testing them a lot over a short period of time, but I'm still checking things to see if that was my imagination or the new version "breaking in" somehow...

Has anyone solved the issue of door/window sensors being shown as motion sensors?

I doubt that the door/window sensor v. motion sensors is a bug in the plugin. Are you sure the zone type is set correctly in the panel itself? Some zone types can behave the exact same depending on your configuration, though they are actually *different* types of zones.

Would your testing have abused the set TTL?
http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_vista-alarm-panel-ad2usb

I.e., if you manually faulted a zone, then cleared it by closing the door (etc) before the TTL had expired, then faulted it again, it would never appear as cleared, rather it would always remain in the faulted state. This TTL thing is not ideal but it isn't a terrible thing. It assumes a fault is still occurring until it queries the sensor, which is better than assuming something is cleared, but not as good as an actual cleared message being sent.

Those files are just updated versions that have never been formally released into the plugin store. They actually reside in the same source code repository that the 2.45 plugin is stored in. A folder or two up in that site in tags/ probably contains the 2.45 version that is in the plugin store. Vera/MiOS provides a way to upload plugin files manually. The same files are those packed into a plugin. What you did was just upload those files manually that were more recent than those in the store itself. I assume the same process is how plugin developers work - they write the lua/xml/json files and upload them manually to test them.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2017, 07:35:46 pm by sound-mind »

Offline ohecht

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #992 on: November 24, 2017, 12:55:13 pm »
I have TTL set at 15 now, and I have 32 zones total...not sure if that's a reasonable number given the number of zones.  The system is working a lot better, but there have been a few times when a sensor wouldn't register tripped or un-tripped...I'm still checking them regularly to try to find the specific pattern.  Is there any setting you can think of that would interrupt the process of scanning zones to see if they are cleared?  I have CheckConnectionTimer set to 180, in case that could be related.

I also have the IgnoreTripTime variable set to 2 for each sensor.  I assume that's a value to minimize false alarms for motion sensors based on smaller, transient movement that might be detected.  I wonder if setting that to 1 or 0 would make my door sensors more responsive at least in terms of tripping.

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #993 on: November 24, 2017, 04:27:25 pm »
@hugheaves - not sure if this changed in a firmware update I applied to ad2usb, but the regex match in processIncoming() needed to be updated. The first capture is hex, not decimal:

The message from ad2usb:
Code: [Select]
[10000001000000003A--],008,[f70000051008001c08020000000000],"****DISARMED****  Ready to Arm  "

Old regex in trunk rev 83:
Code: [Select]
local sections = {data:match('^%[([%d%-]+)%],(%x+),%[(%x+)%],"(.+)"$')}

Updated regex:
Code: [Select]
local sections = {data:match('^%[([%x%-]+)%],(%x+),%[(%x+)%],"(.+)"$')}

Without modifying the regex I was getting "ERROR: Invalid message.". The only thing it impacted was the system status. Sending commands was still working fine which made me look a little deeper.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2017, 04:32:32 pm by sound-mind »

Offline ohecht

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #994 on: November 25, 2017, 11:27:52 am »
The door sensors are still just completely inconsistent...I'm seriously considering just going back to my nice and stable Vera 3 that just worked...I can't really use this system if I can't trust the alarm sensors as reliable triggers.  And it looks like I have until tomorrow to return the VeraPlus for a refund...

I hate to throw more time and money at what's felt like a downgrade so far, but has anyone had better luck the the Envisalink ethernet adapter and plugin for these alarm panels?

Offline Robertyu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #995 on: January 18, 2018, 07:04:14 pm »
I have read every single page of this thread because I just bought a new house in Texas that came with a Honeywell Vista 15PSIA alarm panel, and I needed to get this working with a Vera Plus on UI7.

I put a Visonic PowerMax+ in my old house in Hawaii, and the Vera plugin has been solid for that one for years.  Right when I closed on the house, I found out that one of the main Vista/Vera plugin authors pulled the rug out from everyone by leaving and taking all his toys with him.

It was down to this plugin, and things were not looking good.  From reading the thread which as not had a whole lot of activity lately, I thought I was screwed on the Vera Plus front, and that is what I bought for my new house.

What I can say know is...  Vera Plus people on UI7, take heart, because it appears that it can be made to work well (hopefully it will stay that way). 

It appears the newest Ad2USB interfaces has a uart that is supported by the built in Vera UI7 drivers, as the one I just bought along with a new Vera Plus on Amazon shows up when plugged in.  It also appears the regular Ad2USB plugin app in the Vera App store works just fine too, as I'm not using an alternate fork published elsewhere.  The sensors for doors, windows, and motion all seem to work well, are responsive when tripped, and clear responsively and consistently when I set the TTL to 10 in the Alarm Panel device in Advanced>Variables.

My main struggles where from not doing the following stuff right away (1st one was found per advice deep in this thread):

1. My Partitions variable was set to the correct 1 in the Alarm Panel device, but I did not have the KeypadAddresses variable in the Alarm Partition device set to "16, 18" like I should have.  This caused all sorts of device not found problems until that was set.

2. I neglected to set up the cheat-sheet with all my zones set up.  Not sure what problems that caused, but I should have done that right away.   I set them all up with noting but zone numbers, names, and let the other fields (loop, serial) blank.

3. (Too long so hare are some Cliff Notes:  I had to repeat the setup for an additional panel at device 18 in the Vista panel, using SSH into vera, using vera as a terminal into the alarm) Although as a first step, I did go into the alarm panel programming and enable the additional keypad at address 18 for the AD2USB interface, I still had comm problems where it would pull data into the Vera and update the armed status etc. in vera, but it would not push commands to the alarm panel, so I could not arm, disarm, or do anything that pushed date to the alarm. 

I did all sorts of troubleshooting to reduce the potential variables and ultimately set the Ad2USB as the only panel, using address 16, and it all communications started working in both directions.  I could arm, disarm, and everything worked well, but I needed to get my actual hardware keypad working, especially as provided wireless connectivity for added sensors. 

During that troubleshooting, I set the hardware keypad to address 18 to see how it would behave (I hit 1 +3 together when powering and set the address, etc.), and it was also having communication issues at keypad address 18, just like AD2USB/Vera was.  I then used SSH to get into Vera (since it was now working with Ad2USB interface at address 16), wrote a script with vi to shut down luup, and telnet into the Ad2USB.  I did this so I could use telnet to program the alarm panel like I would with the alarm keypad.  I just did not want to go readdress that keypad to get it working again for programming, and issue all of the commands while standing there because its more comfortable doing that sitting at a computer.  I just did the same steps I previously did at the keypad to enable a keypad at address 18 (field *191), and I heard the keypad in the hallway beep (a sign of life at address 18!). 

Now, everything worked together, the hardware keypad (now at keypad address 18), and the vera/AD2USB (at keypad address 16).

I will at some point, go and get that keypad back to default keypad address of 16, and the AD2USB2 to keypad address 18, as that is how it should be, but for tonight and the next week, I'm going to enjoy the fact that this is all working.  If for some reason, things don't work well when I switch the addresses back, I will post back here about it, but there is no technical reason it should not.  These addresses just ended up this way through my strange convoluted path of trying to get this all working, haha.

I know this is all just a jumbled mess to read, and I will likely put up an actual comprehensive A-Z guide on getting this all working once I get all the keypad address back to normal, etc., but that will be a couple of weekends from now. 

For tonight, I want to just relay my particular experience, and give some other (Vera Plus with UI7) people some hope that this can all be made to work.  If it all falls apart, I'll come back and admit that as well, but right now it's working a treat.

sorry for the messy read.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2018, 07:21:05 pm by Robertyu »

Offline jaded

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #996 on: January 19, 2018, 12:11:10 am »
I have read every single page of this thread because I just bought a new house in Texas that came with a Honeywell Vista 15PSIA alarm panel, and I needed to get this working with a Vera Plus on UI7.

I struggled with the AD2USB for over a year.  The unreliability of communications was constant.  I bought an EVL4, and instantly regretted not doing so a year earlier.  The plug-in's been absolutely stable on my Vera Edge running UI7, and I've never had any issues with it whatsoever.

Offline Robertyu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #997 on: January 19, 2018, 10:00:39 am »
I have read every single page of this thread because I just bought a new house in Texas that came with a Honeywell Vista 15PSIA alarm panel, and I needed to get this working with a Vera Plus on UI7.

I struggled with the AD2USB for over a year.  The unreliability of communications was constant.  I bought an EVL4, and instantly regretted not doing so a year earlier.  The plug-in's been absolutely stable on my Vera Edge running UI7, and I've never had any issues with it whatsoever.

What plugin are you using, the AD2USB one, or the defunct one made for the EVL4?  I wanted to use that one, but the author pulled the rug out from everybody by leaving and taking all of his plugin toys with him.  I cannot even get access to the old plugin at this point.  I guess the AD2USB plugin can be made to work with it, but have you tried that yet?  Perhaps that's how you're running right now, and I sure like that device and the flexibility/stability may offer.  I'd like to use it, and just might give it a go, even if I end up using it at another panel interface address as a second way into the alarm panel.

It's odd that none of difficulties involved the actual Ad2USB interface or the serial drivers in my Vera Plus.  I did notice however, that when I set the TTL variable to an aggressive 5 seconds, the serial driver/interface went down like a sack of potatoes within a minute, haha.  I cannot speak for the long term reliability of interfacing with the Ad2USB, but I'll see where it goes.

Offline nocarins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #998 on: February 13, 2018, 03:37:24 am »
I am installing ad2pi network appliance  and I am getting "Error:Device not ready" when trying to arm  on Vera Edge UI7? Keypad on web browser and  regular 6160 keypad  works.  Anybody have any idea how to fix.

Offline tommelhome

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #999 on: February 16, 2018, 10:37:00 pm »
Has anyone figured out the issue with all devices showing as motions, I don?t see how the cheat sheet can see what zone type is in panel programming. It does not ask a zone type. I have tried to change all parameters in the advanced settings of a contact to be a contact device, but as soon as I reload the layup, all my setup changes revert back to motion again. I absolutely have the zone types in the 20p set correctly.

Offline tommelhome

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #1000 on: February 18, 2018, 09:54:17 pm »
I have done a lot of testing and experimenting over the weekend and have determined that the issue with devices showing up as motions is due to the way the code is written, it creates all zones as motions, it will also append any changes to the device_type, and device_file every time luup is restarted. There is no complete fix to this issue unless someone smarter than me can fix the code in the plugin to add a device type column to the cheat sheet and then modify the code to assign the correct information accordingly. Currently the code is written only for motion types.

There is a work around that seems to be working for me. You can change the catagory_num, subcategory _num, and the device_file fields under advanced and they will remain without changing back. This does fix the main page icons and what they are categorized as, but once you go into the device it will still look like a motion and scene creation still have motion choices. It is an acceptable work around. If you change the device_type it will fix the internal icon and the scene creation choices, but as soon as you reload the luup engine, you will lose all that work you did so not worth doing that in my opinion.
Example: to change a device from the default motion setting to a door. Go into the advanced tab for the device, set catagory_num to 4, subcategory_num to 1, and device_json to D_DoorSensor1.json

Hopefully someone with coding experience can fix the plugin with a device type column and associated coding to make them correct, but there is for sure no error in anyone?s setup, I read through the code and unfortunately that motion assignment is what it is written to do.

Offline fhreid

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #1001 on: July 27, 2018, 04:30:41 pm »
Anyone still grappling with this?  In UI5, the "motion sensor" would remain tripped.  I could then use it in my PLEG but now it resets to "untripped" for a duration depending on my TTL. 

I used this trigger extensively before.  Any suggestions would be awesome!

Offline youataknow

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #1002 on: August 09, 2018, 02:11:19 pm »
Hey Guys,

I have an issue that I tried searching through this post to find a solution but was didn't see it.  Given the life of this thread it seems to be the best one to ask on.

I've had my Veras for 8 years and I used to have a GE Caddax system connected.  I've recently switched over to a Vista 20P and have it talking to my Vera just fine. 

When I arm or disarm, open/close zones, everything is great.

My issue is when the system is armed and a Perimeter zone (such as a window) is opened.  The 20p alarms correctly and the Vera sees that.  When I disarm the system the alarm stops but the Zone is stuck in ALARM.  I'm unable to clear it by entering my alarm code twice. 

When I disconnect the AD2USB and perform the same test everything on the keypad works and the system goes back to ready state.

I only have 1 Keypad and it's on address 16 and the AD2USB is default on 18.  I do have 3 zone expanders (4229s) connected but they are address 7, 8, & 9.  So I'm not sure quite what the issue could be.  Most other postings are with systems that have multiple keypads and there is an address conflict.

The Vera Plus is on 1.7.4001 firmware and the app is on 3.12.

 I appreciate any assistance that is provided.   

*** Update:  I thought I had manually updated the LUUP files but I don't guess I did.  After updating the files the system is no longer getting hung up on a zone that tripped.  The Vera can still Arm/Disarm the Vista 20P.  However, the Vera is now showing "notready" and does not get any status back as for zone or alarm states.  So it's almost like it's not RXing any status updates now. 

*** Update 2:  Turned on logging under the device and ran tests like arming/disarming, open/close zones, and also just watched.  After every action I see "ERROR:  Invlid Message."  Even though the text comes through just fine.  It appears there is something that isn't parsing it correctly.  Here are some snippets:

50   08/09/18 20:03:05.717   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[10000001000000003A--],008,[f70000ff1008001c08020000000000],"  Ready to Arm  "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:05.718   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:15.616   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[10000001000000003A--],008,[f70000ff1008001c08020000000000],"  Ready to Arm  "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:15.617   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:24.525   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[00010001000000000A--],002,[f70000ff1002000008020000000000],"FAULT 02 FRONT  DOOR            "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:24.526   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:28.484   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[00010001000000000A--],002,[f70000ff1002000008020000000000],"FAULT 02 FRONT  DOOR            "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:28.485   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:32.469   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[00010001000000000A--],002,[f70000ff1002000008020000000000],"FAULT 02 FRONT  DOOR            "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:32.469   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:36.404   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[00010001000000000A--],002,[f70000ff1002000008020000000000],"FAULT 02 FRONT  DOOR            "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:36.404   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:40.363   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[00010001000000000A--],002,[f70000ff1002000008020000000000],"FAULT 02 FRONT  DOOR            "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:40.364   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:41.803   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[10010001000000003A--],008,[f70000ff1008001c08020000000000],"  Ready to Arm  "'. <0x73356520>
50   08/09/18 20:03:41.804   luup_log:304: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) ERROR: Invalid message. <0x73356520>


*** Update 3:  So I went back through this thread and found the exact same problem.  Not sure if we can get the file updated or not (http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_vista-alarm-panel-ad2usb/browser/trunk/L_VistaAlarmPanel1.lua).

Here is the post that fixed my issue:

@hugheaves - not sure if this changed in a firmware update I applied to ad2usb, but the regex match in processIncoming() needed to be updated. The first capture is hex, not decimal:

The message from ad2usb:
Code: [Select]
[10000001000000003A--],008,[f70000051008001c08020000000000],"****DISARMED****  Ready to Arm  "

Old regex in trunk rev 83:
Code: [Select]
local sections = {data:match('^%[([%d%-]+)%],(%x+),%[(%x+)%],"(.+)"$')}

Updated regex:
Code: [Select]
local sections = {data:match('^%[([%x%-]+)%],(%x+),%[(%x+)%],"(.+)"$')}

Without modifying the regex I was getting "ERROR: Invalid message.". The only thing it impacted was the system status. Sending commands was still working fine which made me look a little deeper.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2018, 09:24:44 pm by youataknow »

Offline htcheng

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #1003 on: August 28, 2018, 01:41:58 pm »
@youataknow - in my setup, once the alarm triggers, you need to go the second device that was created by the plugin (the one that has only one button, "Clear" and the version number of the plugin and where you (hopefully) put in the cheat sheet) and press the "Clear" button. This should reset the AD2USB connection and allow you to use the other keypads again. Sometimes you have to do it more than once, but it does work. Once in a while, I have had to resort to unplugging the USB cable, but very rarely.

Not sure why so many people have issues with the AD2USB - I set mine up 8 years ago and have 26 different door, window, motion and other sensors and they work much more reliably than some of my other zwave sensors and switches!

Hope this helps!

Offline youataknow

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #1004 on: September 19, 2018, 05:26:27 pm »
htcheng,

Thanks for the tip.  That's a better work around than going into the AV room and rebooting the AD2USB.

I have another issue now that I'm working on if anyone has had this.  My Vista20P was setup with 1 keypad (address 16) and all my zones were in that.  My AD2USB is on address 18.  I've ran wiring over to my shop to have an expansion board and another keypad over there.  I've set the new keypad to 17 and put it in partition 2, along with all the zones.  The system works as expected.  My problem is with the Vera.  As soon as I go in and set it to 2 partitions, to get a 2nd device, my device looses coms again.  if I change it back to 1 it works fine.  Anyone got 2 partitions to work? 

**Update

If I move the alarm panel device back to 1 partition everything returns to normal.  However, I currently have partition 2 armed and my partition 1 device in the vera keeps switching between armed (partition 2) and ready (partition 1). 

**Update

So I was watching the log and everything was looking fine.  Which is weird if the alarm panel device didn't see the AD2USB.  So it appears after I made this device set with 2 partitions I was using my scene to reboot the vera.  Which is normally fine.  However, the only difference I did while testing and looking at the log was I did physically power cycle the unit.  Not sure why that made a difference when changing it from 1 to 2 and back to 1 with a reboot scene allowed it to work again.  Anyway I'll keep an eye on this.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2018, 11:05:39 pm by youataknow »