We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB  (Read 365016 times)

Offline kermit88

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #600 on: March 10, 2013, 10:20:00 am »
I?m leaning towards upgrading my home alarm with the 20P & AD2USB.
This thread is great, I know this setup will be able do everything I want. 
Is there a different thread that will give a simple overview of how to setup?  Every time I make changes to Vera I struggle and have to work through it. 
I would love to see some best practices and install tricks.


Offline mattwhit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #601 on: March 17, 2013, 11:55:31 pm »
Getting connection down and missing port errors again!  Every time I disconnect Vera3 (to include/exclude devices using the battery pack) I lose connectivity to my Vista panel... months will go by with no issues... as soon as I disconnect/reconnect I get the Missing Port and Connection Down errors.  I've tried reconfiguring the serial/usb... no go..

Anyone else having this chronic issue?

Offline nas4a

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #602 on: April 08, 2013, 03:31:04 pm »
Getting connection down and missing port errors again!  Every time I disconnect Vera3 (to include/exclude devices using the battery pack) I lose connectivity to my Vista panel... months will go by with no issues... as soon as I disconnect/reconnect I get the Missing Port and Connection Down errors.  I've tried reconfiguring the serial/usb... no go..

Anyone else having this chronic issue?

I was just coming on here to post the same thing.  I have the exact same issue, only on a Vera 2, UI4, plug-in version 2.41.  It was running seamlessly for over a year.  I was having issues with one of my devices, so I hooked up to  the battery pack to exclude-reinclude, and when I plugged it back in, I get a "Connection down" error.  I have tried several different sequences of rebooting and reconnecting and can't get it to reestablish the connection. 

I don't get it.  We were without power for a week during the hurricane, and it booted back up just fine.  I even tried restoring, and that didn't help.  Is there a specific order in which you have to power on/off and or reconnect some combination of the Vera and the AD2USB for it to work right?

If someone can find a fix for this, I'd greatly appreciate it. 

Offline mattwhit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #603 on: April 08, 2013, 03:38:53 pm »
nas4a... Glad to hear I'm not the only one but sorry you too are down.  Mine has been down for over a month. I've spent hours and have tried everything I know what to do.  Micasa tech support got it to work for about five minutes while remoted in. It stopped working and they couldn't get it back. Said they would let me know when they found a resolution. That's been a few weeks ago...

Offline nas4a

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #604 on: April 08, 2013, 05:41:58 pm »
nas4a... Glad to hear I'm not the only one but sorry you too are down.  Mine has been down for over a month. I've spent hours and have tried everything I know what to do.  Micasa tech support got it to work for about five minutes while remoted in. It stopped working and they couldn't get it back. Said they would let me know when they found a resolution. That's been a few weeks ago...

Ugh.  Not what I had hoped to hear.  This plug-in is really one of the key points of my system.  Without it, I'm kind of working at half-functionality.  I just don't understand what changed.  I held off on upgrading to UI5 simply because I didn't want to have to reinstall this again, but given that it's not working, I might reconsider. 

I'll open a ticket and see if they can figure anything out on my end.  If nothing else, 2 people with the same issue might give it more attention.

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #605 on: April 08, 2013, 08:05:47 pm »
Did you guys make sure the serial port configuration settings weren't lost on the power restart. I'm thinking when you powered up on the battery and the ad2usb was not plugged in the settings were lost. that is one of the reasons I always use the full power inclusion when adding z-wave devices.   oh and have the vera plugged into a ups

Offline nas4a

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #606 on: April 09, 2013, 08:49:16 am »
mattwhit,

Dennis from support fixed my issue for me remotely.  SteveZ seems to be on to what caused the issue.  I asked Dennis what I need to do going forward to keep this from happening again, and he said the below:

Each time you will disconnect Vera to add a new device, please follow the steps:
 - after you re-connect back Vera, go to your dashboard;
 - click on "MiOS developers" icon and then on the "Serial Port configuration" tab;
 - make sure that "Baud" is set to 115200;
 - make sure that "Used by device" is set to "Honeywell Ademco Vista [Hidden - Functional]";


Hope this helps.  Seems like somehow when you disconnect from the AD2USB, it can lose some settings.

Thanks to Dennis for the great support!   ;D

Offline Crazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #607 on: April 10, 2013, 05:06:55 pm »
I have notifications set for all of my devices.   When I open a door to my house and it is armed and I have about 45 seconds to punch in my code before the main alarm goes off.  However, I immediately get a notification that the door was opened before I can punch in my code.  I can get around this by having a notification sent from the alarm panel only (which will only be sent if I do not punch in my code in the 45 second time frame and the panel goes into full alarm mode.).  However, when the notification is sent it doesn?t have any information as to what zones have been tripped so I would have no clue what IP camera to check if it were a real break in.  Is there a way to set things up such that a notification will only be sent from an individual device if it is tripped AND the alarm panel goes off.  Or, can notifications be set up such that the alarm panel device will send information within the notification about what devices are tripped when the alarm panel goes off?

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #608 on: April 10, 2013, 08:11:21 pm »
I am not able to bypass zones via a physical keypad, or do much of anything, if a zone is faulted when the ad2usb is plugged into my vera.  I just did the install over the winter so I am just now noticing the issue since I am now wanting to leave windows open.

Setup:
- Vera Lite fw 1.5.622 (just updated recently but this was occurring before the upgrade as well)
- ad2usb plugin v2.44
- Honeywell/Ademco 20P
- All zones are on partition 1, partition 2 is unused and has no keypads assigned.  No keypads are assigned to partition 3 (common).
- 6160RF on keypad address 16
- 6150 on keypad address 17
- ad2usb on keypad address 18
- TTL = 30

Keypad addresses have been verified via cycling power and pressing 1+3 to check addresses.

Observed behavior if the ad2usb is plugged into the Vera Lite:
1. I am unable to bypass faulted zones 99% of the time from a keypad.  I have been successful two or three times which leads me to believe I am beating a race condition on occasion.
2. I can bypass zones with a 100% success rate using the Vera.
3. The 6160RF never shows the "Hit * for faults" when faults are triggered.  It just always flips through the faults as if I was hitting "*".  More so, it acts as though a "*" was being sent every second or so as it rapidly flips when showing faulted zones as opposed to a normal slow slip between zones.  I am able to simulate the rapid flipping by pressing "*" when the ad2usb is disconnected.

From the wiki "When a partition is in the NotReady state, the plugin will attempt to send the star(*) command to get the faulted zones. " which furthers my belief that it is the ad2usb device, and plugin, sending "*" very rapidly.

Thoughts:
A. Is this the result of having a multi-partition system, with only a single partition in use, and no keypads specifically assigned to the second partition?
B. I thought it might be related to using a user code vs. master code but that has no impact. 

Any ideas?



Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #609 on: April 11, 2013, 07:54:51 pm »
@Crazman Maybe you could set up a scene that uses the alarm panel going into alarm as the trigger to arm all of the individual door, window and motion sensors, then when it does alarm the armed sensor that is tripped would send the notification. I think this would only work if you have the latest code from the trunk and enabled  and programed the virtual relay support that @hugheaves has referanced earlier in this thread becasue normaly faulted zones when the panel is armed do not show up in the vera UI. that is only for hardwired zones, for wireless you will still need the latest code nut can just add the serial number to the cheat sheet.

@sound-mind

not sure why that is happening, but have you though about creating a configurable zone type for the zones you bypass and create it with a vent zone? see page 14 of the programming guide, that will allow you to arm the pannel even though those zones are faulted, they can be closed but once open the panel will alarm.

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #610 on: April 11, 2013, 10:23:51 pm »
@sound-mind

not sure why that is happening, but have you though about creating a configurable zone type for the zones you bypass and create it with a vent zone? see page 14 of the programming guide, that will allow you to arm the pannel even though those zones are faulted, they can be closed but once open the panel will alarm.

@SteveZ Yes I have but, as I understand things, vent zone faults are ignored when arm commands are sent and require no bypass action on behalf of the user.  I still want this to be a conscious decision of the person arming the system.

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #611 on: April 12, 2013, 01:42:09 pm »
Enabling debug confirmed my suspicions.  "*" is being sent about once a second.

Code: [Select]
50 04/12/13 13:39:02.100 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::sendStar) Send '*' to partition 1. <0x2c1b1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:02.531 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '!Sending.done'. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:02.531 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Drop message. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:02.942 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[0001000100000000----],015,[f70000071015000008020000000000],"FAULT 15 MASTER FRONT WINDOW    "'. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:02.942 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getStatusFlags) Active flags:  <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:02.943 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getPartitionState) Got ArmMode='Disarmed' for partition 1 (device #44). <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:02.943 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getPartitionState) Got DetailedArmMode='NotReady' for partition 1 (device #44). <0x2ddb1680>
06 04/12/13 13:39:02.944 Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 52 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SecuritySensor1 variable: LastTrip was: 1365788341 now: 1365788342 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 v:0xae1c40/NONE duplicate:0 <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:03.100 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::sendStar) Send '*' to partition 1. <0x2c1b1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:03.530 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '!Sending.done'. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:03.531 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Drop message. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:03.932 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[0001000100000000----],015,[f70000071015000008020000000000],"FAULT 15 MASTER FRONT WINDOW    "'. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:03.932 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getStatusFlags) Active flags:  <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:03.933 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getPartitionState) Got ArmMode='Disarmed' for partition 1 (device #44). <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:03.933 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getPartitionState) Got DetailedArmMode='NotReady' for partition 1 (device #44). <0x2ddb1680>
06 04/12/13 13:39:03.934 Device_Variable::m_szValue_set device: 52 service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:SecuritySensor1 variable: LastTrip was: 1365788342 now: 1365788343 #hooks: 0 upnp: 0 v:0xae1c40/NONE duplicate:0 <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:04.101 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::sendStar) Send '*' to partition 1. <0x2c1b1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:04.510 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '!Sending.done'. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:04.511 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Drop message. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:04.922 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::processIncoming) Incoming data = '[0001000100000000----],015,[f70000071015000008020000000000],"FAULT 15 MASTER FRONT WINDOW    "'. <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:04.922 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getStatusFlags) Active flags:  <0x2ddb1680>
50 04/12/13 13:39:04.923 luup_log:43: (VistaAlarmPanel::getPartitionState) Got ArmMode='Disarmed' for partition 1 (device #44).^C

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #612 on: April 12, 2013, 02:40:59 pm »
OK I just uploaded the version from trunk r70 and the message interval dropped to 4 seconds and the symptoms completely disappeared - I can now bypass and the backlight is off.  Since I installed the panel and ad2usb together I thought the backlight was supposed to be on whenever a zone was faulted because that is all I have seen :P

I'd still be interested in knowing the "why" if anyone has any thoughts.

Offline FireBird

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #613 on: April 12, 2013, 08:14:27 pm »
How do I upgrade to hugheaves version? I currently have plugin version 2.44 and I tried to just replace the files via Apps, Develop Apps, Luup Files but it didn't upgrade correctly. Do I have to uninstall the plugin and then install hugheaves version via the link below.

version available in trunk http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_vista-alarm-panel-ad2usb/browser/trunk

Thanks for the help.

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #614 on: April 12, 2013, 11:20:31 pm »
Download the zip archive and extract to another folder, upload all of the files from the trunk and click restart luup. no need to uninstall. this is what i did anyway and works.