We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB  (Read 365370 times)

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #630 on: April 24, 2013, 08:25:05 pm »
So did you check the serial port configuration? and it sounds like you enabled keypad 18 correctly doing the steps that you posted assuming you had the correct IC and it did go into programming mode.

Offline 68Mustang

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #631 on: April 25, 2013, 06:54:48 am »
I did some research and found out I have to hold 1+3 on my keypad to see what their keypad address is.  The main keypad is 16 as I assumed. My second assumption was the second keypad would go in order and be assigned 17. I was wrong, the installer assigned the second keypad to 18. Now I need to figure out what is easier, changing the keypad address, or changing the ad2usb address.  Anyone know how to change the keypad address?

Offline BlackMammoth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
How to do I arm/disarm a second partition?
« Reply #632 on: April 26, 2013, 03:04:43 pm »
I have a Vista 20 with two partitions.

  • I am using plugin 2.45 and have the latest AD2USB firmware loaded.
  • The system is working, and I can see the state of all of my sensors, as well as arm / disarm Partition 1
  • Keypads 16 and 17 are on Partition 1 and Keypad 18 is on Partition 2
  • The AD2USB is setup as Keypad 22 and that is assigned to Partition 1

Now I am lost, how to control Partition 2? Do I need to buy ANOTHER AD2USB in order to control the two partitions independently?

Offline Crazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #633 on: April 26, 2013, 03:34:00 pm »
I did some research and found out I have to hold 1+3 on my keypad to see what their keypad address is.  The main keypad is 16 as I assumed. My second assumption was the second keypad would go in order and be assigned 17. I was wrong, the installer assigned the second keypad to 18. Now I need to figure out what is easier, changing the keypad address, or changing the ad2usb address.  Anyone know how to change the keypad address?

68Mustang, I would recommend checking out youtube videos that explain how to set up your 20P.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjVtm0Mobr4 from securityonetech are pretty good.

Offline Crazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #634 on: April 26, 2013, 03:37:55 pm »
I still have a device that will not reset itself on the software side after it has been tripped and the alarm went off.  I've tried changing the TTL, checked the AD2USB setup, still will not reset.  Is there any way to manually reset a device in MiOS after it has been tripped?


Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #635 on: April 26, 2013, 08:35:57 pm »
I have a Vista 20 with two partitions.

  • I am using plugin 2.45 and have the latest AD2USB firmware loaded.
  • The system is working, and I can see the state of all of my sensors, as well as arm / disarm Partition 1
  • Keypads 16 and 17 are on Partition 1 and Keypad 18 is on Partition 2
  • The AD2USB is setup as Keypad 22 and that is assigned to Partition 1

Now I am lost, how to control Partition 2? Do I need to buy ANOTHER AD2USB in order to control the two partitions independently?

you might want to ask over at the nutech forum to see if its possible to have independent control of two partitions like you want. 

I still have a device that will not reset itself on the software side after it has been tripped and the alarm went off.  I've tried changing the TTL, checked the AD2USB setup, still will not reset.  Is there any way to manually reset a device in MiOS after it has been tripped?



Just as a test wait until your alarm keypad says ready then reboot the vera, wait until it reboots completely before tripping any zones and see if it starts working correctly. I seem to remember having that problem before I updated to @hugheaves version. if the vera reboots while a zone is tripped it would stay tripped.

Offline M2MExpert

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #636 on: April 29, 2013, 02:34:34 pm »
I published @hugheaves version as version 3.0 in the MiOS Apps, so now this will be the default version that's installed.

My version shows 2.45. I have the box checked to update the plug-in automatically but that doesn't seem to happen. Do I need to do something to force it?
- M2MExpert
Machine to Machine Communications Specialist

Offline M2MExpert

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #637 on: April 29, 2013, 02:47:46 pm »
Probably Vera rebooted (power outage?) and the stored PIN codes were lost.

Oh, I thought the purpose of the lua startup script was to enter the pin code for me?  Does that mean every time there is a power outage or it's physically unplugged I will have to store the pin code again?


So I'm encountering the same issue as our friend Latz. He's given up, however, I need to find a solution. I travel a lot and for various reasons I need to make sure the alarm arms correctly every time. It is not always practical for me to open the web interface, open the settings of the partition and input the pin and store it and then run my scenes. As long as the device never reboots, I have no issue but I really need to find a way to get the in code passed to the partition when the system reboots. I can't believe that Latz and myself are the only guys to need this functionality. I'm sure it must be able to be done but I'm not smart enough with Lua yet to sort it all out. Has anyone ever overcome this limitation?
- M2MExpert
Machine to Machine Communications Specialist

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #638 on: April 29, 2013, 08:07:22 pm »
In case others are looking, here is a snippet of my bedtime scene luup to arm the alarm if I forget.  Sure I could set the arm mode via the scene widgets in the UI, but then I couldn't check for existing states; if it is manually set to Away I don't want to set it to Stay via some automated script.

Code: [Select]
  -- Handle the alarm
  local state = luup.variable_get("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:AlarmPartition2", "DetailedArmMode", PARTITION_DEV_NUM)

  luup.log("Found alarm panel in state " .. state .. " when running Bedtime scene.")
  if (state == "NotReady") then
      luup.log("Sending bypass all command.")
      luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1", "BypassZones", { Zones="all", PINCode="XXXX" }, PARTITION_DEV_NUM)
      luup.sleep("1000")
  end
  if ((state == "Ready") or (state == "NotReady")) then
       luup.log("Sending Arm Stay command.")
       luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:AlarmPartition2", "RequestArmMode", { State="Stay", PINCode="XXXX" } , PARTITION_DEV_NUM)
  end
If necessary it will bypass faulted zones.  E.g. if I go to sleep with a window open and forget to arm the system.

I have a second bedtime scene that runs if my "vacation mode" virtual switch is enabled.  This scene sets the alarm to "Away" instead of "Stay".

HTH

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #639 on: April 29, 2013, 08:24:37 pm »
So I'm encountering the same issue as our friend Latz. He's given up, however, I need to find a solution. I travel a lot and for various reasons I need to make sure the alarm arms correctly every time. It is not always practical for me to open the web interface, open the settings of the partition and input the pin and store it and then run my scenes. As long as the device never reboots, I have no issue but I really need to find a way to get the in code passed to the partition when the system reboots. I can't believe that Latz and myself are the only guys to need this functionality. I'm sure it must be able to be done but I'm not smart enough with Lua yet to sort it all out. Has anyone ever overcome this limitation?

Not sure when/how but the code previously posted no longer works.  I tested it and got the following error:
Code: [Select]
LuaInterface::CallFunction_Job device 44 function SVistaAlarmPanel1_VistaAlarmPanel1_StorePinCode_run failed [string "-- Required Libraries..."]:1239: attempt to index local 'lul_settings' (a nil value)

Try this in startup lua:

Code: [Select]
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1", "StorePinCode", { PINCode="XXXX"}, PARTITION_DEV_NUM)

The third parameter needs to be a lua table. Seemed to fix the problem in my testing.

Offline M2MExpert

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #640 on: April 30, 2013, 08:41:56 pm »
Quote
Try this in startup lua:

Code: [Select]
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1", "StorePinCode", { PINCode="XXXX"}, PARTITION_DEV_NUM)

The third parameter needs to be a lua table. Seemed to fix the problem in my testing.

How exactly did you test? I placed this in my startup lua and restarted but it didn't feed the password and store it so I can run a scene.
- M2MExpert
Machine to Machine Communications Specialist

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #641 on: May 01, 2013, 04:40:31 pm »
Quote
Try this in startup lua:

Code: [Select]
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1", "StorePinCode", { PINCode="XXXX"}, PARTITION_DEV_NUM)

The third parameter needs to be a lua table. Seemed to fix the problem in my testing.

How exactly did you test? I placed this in my startup lua and restarted but it didn't feed the password and store it so I can run a scene.

Not correctly apparently ;)  I'm betting I was looking at the wrong copy of the log.  Now what I'm seeing in the logs looks like a race condition.  On average the startup lua appears to be running a few seconds before the device is ready on my Vera Lite.  Probably varies between hardware types and the number of devices you have.  Try the code below that defers the the call using call_delay.  I started at 5 seconds but that was too short.  Mine seems to need a minimum of 9 to work reliably.  The code below is set to 15 seconds.

Code: [Select]
luup.log("SRS: setting fifteen second delay then executing StorePinCode")
luup.call_delay('callonme',15)
function callonme()
  luup.log("SRS: delay over, executing StorePinCode")
  luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1", "StorePinCode", { PINCode="XXXX"}, PARTITION_DEV_NUM)
end
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 04:47:23 pm by sound-mind »

Offline M2MExpert

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #642 on: May 01, 2013, 05:42:09 pm »
Quote
Code: [Select]
luup.log("SRS: setting fifteen second delay then executing StorePinCode")
luup.call_delay('callonme',15)
function callonme()
  luup.log("SRS: delay over, executing StorePinCode")
  luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1", "StorePinCode", { PINCode="XXXX"}, PARTITION_DEV_NUM)
end

You are my new best friend  ;D After many questions, comments and begging, you are the first to solve this issue for me. I really need to get better at Luup. I need to play with you example you shared on your scene code. My next task is to auto bypass my upstairs windows when they are opened. If I leave one open and leave, my alarm won't arm. Sometimes I want to leave the upstairs ones open for fresh air.

Thanks again!!
- M2MExpert
Machine to Machine Communications Specialist

Offline BlackMammoth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: How to do I arm/disarm a second partition?
« Reply #643 on: May 01, 2013, 05:58:00 pm »
*** Fixed ***

For some reason, this started working today... not sure why, but now I can arm / disarm both partitions independently using a single AD2USB.

Fantastic  8) 8) 8)

I have a Vista 20 with two partitions.

  • I am using plugin 2.45 and have the latest AD2USB firmware loaded.
  • The system is working, and I can see the state of all of my sensors, as well as arm / disarm Partition 1
  • Keypads 16 and 17 are on Partition 1 and Keypad 18 is on Partition 2
  • The AD2USB is setup as Keypad 22 and that is assigned to Partition 1

Now I am lost, how to control Partition 2? Do I need to buy ANOTHER AD2USB in order to control the two partitions independently?

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #644 on: May 01, 2013, 06:25:29 pm »
Quote
Code: [Select]
luup.log("SRS: setting fifteen second delay then executing StorePinCode")
luup.call_delay('callonme',15)
function callonme()
  luup.log("SRS: delay over, executing StorePinCode")
  luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:VistaAlarmPanel1", "StorePinCode", { PINCode="XXXX"}, PARTITION_DEV_NUM)
end

You are my new best friend  ;D After many questions, comments and begging, you are the first to solve this issue for me. I really need to get better at Luup. I need to play with you example you shared on your scene code. My next task is to auto bypass my upstairs windows when they are opened. If I leave one open and leave, my alarm won't arm. Sometimes I want to leave the upstairs ones open for fresh air.

Thanks again!!

No problem :)

A few things for bypassing faulted zones (open windows).

1. Can you bypass them at the keypad w/ PIN+6+faulted zone num? 
2. If you have Quick Bypass enabled you should be able to bypass all faulted zones with PIN+6+#.  Can you do that?

If the answer to those two questions is yes the code I posted above does exactly that.  It is overly complex in some ways; it checks for the need to bypass before sending the command.  Technically one could simply send the bypass command without checking the state first.  But that just seemed to be the more appropriate way to do it.   So all you'll need to do is paste that code in the Luup section of a scene and it will address open windows etc. 

If the answer is "no" to question 1 you might have the problem I asked about on page 42 of this thread.  Updating to the latest release should fix it.  While we never figured out the exact source, I have a hunch the plugin was sending endless "*" rapidly when a zone was faulted.  The 20P, and probably the others, can only accept input from one keypad at a time so I think that was screwing things up.

If the answer is "no" to question 2 you need to enable quick bypass.  If it isn't, and if you can't enable it, I could throw together some code that iterates over the faulted zones and bypasses them one-by-one (I think I saw some a year back in this thread), but quick bypass is nice and convenient.