We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB  (Read 362365 times)

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #795 on: September 21, 2014, 10:09:26 am »
Oh my, thank you so much!  Your directions were spot on perfect and I loved the explanations under each command!  At first I thought it didn't work but then after a reboot I got the serial port set up for the very first time!  Your the BEST!!!!!   :D

So what happened that other people didn't have to do this before?  So many reviews said it just worked right away.  If you get a newer Vera with the UI7 loaded and downgrade to UI5 does it act different then a native UI5 Vera?  What is the difference?  I just find it so strange.

I still have a Raspberry PI B+ coming tomorrow.  I may try UI7 with it on my other Vera and see if it works.  I will let you know what happens.  Thank you again!  After a week of hell your raised me up helraiser!

Chasiu,

I was only able to get mine working with UI5 not UI7. I had to downgrade to UI5 which brought some problems of its own, all of which I've managed to get figured out now. If you're still at UI7 please work with the support ppl first. If you've downgraded to UI5 then here's what you'll want to do to get it working :)

1. type: lsusb <enter>
- this will list all the vendor and product id for usb ports and adapters on your vera
- the AD2USB will show up as 0403:6015, 0403:6010 or 0403:60xx. Write this down as it is your "vendor id:product id"
- if you're not sure which your AD2USB is, unplug your AD2USB and type "lsusb". Plug it in and type "lsusb". See which line was added. That is your adapter's info.
2. type: rmmod -f ftdi_sio <enter>
- we are removing the existing ftdi driver for the AD2USB. We will add one specifically for the AD2USB adapter next
3. type: insmod vendor=0x403 product=0x6015 <enter> (replace those with what you wrote down earlier)
- this loads the driver specifically for your AD2USB adapter
4. type: echo "ftdi_sio vendor=0x403 product=0x6015" > /etc/modules.d/65-usb-serial-ftdi <enter>
- this allows your vera to autoload drivers for the AD2USB even after reboot or power cycles. the original file just has "ftdi_sio"
5. type: echo "vendor:0403 product:6015" > /etc/cmh/serproxy.ports <enter>
- this allows vera 3 to see the new adapter as a serial adapter and adds it to the UI.

Credit for these steps go to CJ, an administrator on here. The only thing I changed is the vendor and product id. I also added an easier way to get your vendor and product id.

Again, this worked for me in UI5 and not in UI7. I tried it in UI7 and once i created the serproxy.ports file, the serial ports configuration screen just kept freezing.

Let us know how it goes.

Edit: BTW, all these can changes can be reversed if you need. "rmmod -f ftdi_sio" is like removing a driver in windows. "insmod ftdi_sio" reinstalls it :)
Edit2: Also, the /etc/cmh/serproxy.ports file doesn't exist at the start but you will be creating it in step 5 above.

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #796 on: September 21, 2014, 10:33:03 am »
I was chuckling like a mad scientist when I armed my house from my phone for the first time.  After working on this for a week I finally feel like I can move on to other things.  I got some switches I need to install but I didn't want to do anything else until I got the AD2USB to work from the Vera.  I couldn't arm or disarm from the old or new Vera app.  But I found a third party app that worked.

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #797 on: September 21, 2014, 12:01:55 pm »
I added my Zone 1 to the Cheat Sheet and it calls it a motion sensor in the settings.  Does it default everything to motion sensor when you add a zone?  Can I manual change the settings to D_DoorSensor1.xml?  Right now under advanced it is set to D_MotionSensor1.xml. It is a magnetic wired switch for the front door.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2014, 12:03:28 pm by chasiu »

Offline helraiser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #798 on: September 21, 2014, 01:52:08 pm »
Woohooo! Glad it worked out for you. Vera's a nice product, just needs a little tweaking still.

Yes, all my contacts got added as motion sensors and I've not had a chance to look at them yet to change them properly (I had issues with my Aeon home energy monitor and getting it working in UI5 after the downgrade.)

All the contacts seem to work except the smoke & glass break ones - i've not tried these yet. You can switch 'em but I think you'll need to get change the device category too. I'm not sure what that should be. At worst, you can remove the zone and re-add it to reset the defaults!

Have fun and remember, disconnect your alarm from the phone line to avoid any false triggers :)

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #799 on: September 21, 2014, 09:20:28 pm »
Thank you again for all your help.  I created a cool scene so I can arm the house and turn off all the lights.  But I can't figure out how to trigger it so if the house is armed at the panel it will turn off all the lights automatically.  So far it only works if I activate the scene myself.  I don't see anything in the trigger settings that would activate the scene.

Woohooo! Glad it worked out for you. Vera's a nice product, just needs a little tweaking still.

Yes, all my contacts got added as motion sensors and I've not had a chance to look at them yet to change them properly (I had issues with my Aeon home energy monitor and getting it working in UI5 after the downgrade.)

All the contacts seem to work except the smoke & glass break ones - i've not tried these yet. You can switch 'em but I think you'll need to get change the device category too. I'm not sure what that should be. At worst, you can remove the zone and re-add it to reset the defaults!

Have fun and remember, disconnect your alarm from the phone line to avoid any false triggers :)

Offline helraiser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #800 on: September 22, 2014, 08:18:10 am »
Thank you again for all your help.  I created a cool scene so I can arm the house and turn off all the lights.  But I can't figure out how to trigger it so if the house is armed at the panel it will turn off all the lights automatically.  So far it only works if I activate the scene myself.  I don't see anything in the trigger settings that would activate the scene.

I've got my scenes activated by schedule. It's what works for me so far as I know times when everyone should be home or not. I've got my alarm auto-disarming at a certain time b/c I know i'll be ready to leave the house then. The more complicated ones will require something called PLEG which allows you to add conditions to your scenes. I've not got into those just yet.

Edit: Also, i found that I don't need to change my door sensor contacts from "motion" to "door" as it trips when it is open anyway. All my sensors are armed by default so that when tripped you see the red running man. The alarm panel is what decides if it triggers an alarm or not.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 11:01:41 am by helraiser »

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #801 on: September 22, 2014, 06:38:02 pm »
I upgraded from a Vera 2 to a Vera 3 tonight. All works well, except for my Ademco plugin. What do I need to change? Is it a port problem?

Here's my serial port config screen:

link to photo

I keep getting "Ademco Vista Alarm Panel[99] : Failed to open IO Port". Any thoughts?
« Last Edit: September 22, 2014, 06:52:09 pm by DeltaNu1142 »
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline helraiser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #802 on: September 22, 2014, 07:50:39 pm »
I upgraded from a Vera 2 to a Vera 3 tonight. All works well, except for my Ademco plugin. What do I need to change? Is it a port problem?

Here's my serial port config screen:

link to photo

I keep getting "Ademco Vista Alarm Panel[99] : Failed to open IO Port". Any thoughts?

If you've got an AD2USB, this should show up on a ttyUSB0 or USB1 port. Try switching your "used by device" to the ttyUSB0 port. Don't forget to adjust the port speed also. I suspect that's all you need.

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #803 on: September 22, 2014, 08:16:08 pm »
If you've got an AD2USB, this should show up on a ttyUSB0 or USB1 port. Try switching your "used by device" to the ttyUSB0 port. Don't forget to adjust the port speed also. I suspect that's all you need.
Hey, you're right--I just swapped over to the other port. All's well--kudos!
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #804 on: September 23, 2014, 12:06:42 am »
Thank you again for all your help.  I created a cool scene so I can arm the house and turn off all the lights.  But I can't figure out how to trigger it so if the house is armed at the panel it will turn off all the lights automatically.  So far it only works if I activate the scene myself.  I don't see anything in the trigger settings that would activate the scene.

I've got my scenes activated by schedule. It's what works for me so far as I know times when everyone should be home or not. I've got my alarm auto-disarming at a certain time b/c I know i'll be ready to leave the house then. The more complicated ones will require something called PLEG which allows you to add conditions to your scenes. I've not got into those just yet.

Edit: Also, i found that I don't need to change my door sensor contacts from "motion" to "door" as it trips when it is open anyway. All my sensors are armed by default so that when tripped you see the red running man. The alarm panel is what decides if it triggers an alarm or not.

Is PLEG a app?  I tried to search for it but could not find one.  It seems I should be able to turn on lights with the alarm system disarm.  There must be some step I am missing.

Offline DeltaNu1142

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +40/-67
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #805 on: September 23, 2014, 05:39:38 am »
Yes, PLEG is an app, and yes, you can do that and more with it. I have a PLEG that does exactly that. Think of it as a replacement for scenes, but with more flexibility.
I'm on TapaTalk or I'd link to the forum for it...
Vera 3 @ UI5 | HomeWave | PLEG

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #806 on: September 23, 2014, 07:24:13 pm »
I found out today talking to Alarm Decoder (Nutech) that the reason I had so many problems is because the latest batch of AD2USB's that were made have a new USB chip set.  The drivers for it is not loaded in the Vera.  That explains why I had problems even with UI5 when other people never had any issues.  Here is a link to their forum talking about it.

http://www.alarmdecoder.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=122

Offline helraiser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #807 on: September 23, 2014, 09:40:17 pm »
aaaaah. That makes perfect sense. That's why some people were able to get it working in UI7 and the rest of us weren't. Maybe the next release of UI7 will incorporate drivers for the new chip. That's nice to know, thanks Chasiu!

Offline chasiu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #808 on: September 23, 2014, 11:34:21 pm »
But why when you loaded the drivers for UI7 you couldn't get it to work?  Is it some other UI7 issue?

aaaaah. That makes perfect sense. That's why some people were able to get it working in UI7 and the rest of us weren't. Maybe the next release of UI7 will incorporate drivers for the new chip. That's nice to know, thanks Chasiu!

Offline helraiser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #809 on: September 24, 2014, 10:12:30 am »
It worked fine. The drivers loaded and I could telnet into the AD2USB from vera (through putty.)

But when I added the device to the serproxy.ports file and then clicked on Serial Port Config in the Vera web, it just froze. Nothing loaded and the screen didn't change. I could click on any other screen and link but it didn't like the serproxy.ports file. When I deleted that file then the Serial port Config worked again - although it was empty.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2014, 10:15:47 am by helraiser »