We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB  (Read 362454 times)

Offline copekyle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +1/-5
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #945 on: July 07, 2015, 07:02:48 pm »
Ideally, you should only be powering zone devices (a single PIR uses 10-30ma), zone expanders (4219 uses 30ma) and a single keypad (a 6160 150ma, 6160RF uses 180ma, don't try to power a TuxWifi as it uses 310ma)...
Additional keypads (such as the TuxWifi) and other non essential devices should be powered from a supplementary power supply (with the ground terminals interconnected)... My preferred choice is a 12VDC 5AH power supply designed for access control use... It provides up to 5000ma and can have it's own backup battery connected..

Ya... I've installed over 500 vista 15p's but I've never done a system as advanced as what I have in my home.  I have 1 6150RF, 2 6160's, 2 6270's, and 6 motion detectors.  I'd never worried about power requirements on the standard 2 panel, 2 motion system.  I'm guessing I was just lucky up to this point.  I've unplugged the 2 6270's until I can get a stand alone power supply.

Offline kevinnutech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #946 on: July 07, 2015, 10:11:01 pm »
Just to comment on the power usage - the AD2USB only uses 30ma itself, so it is pretty safe to use in conjunction with most add-ons, but yes the bus can become easily overloaded if you have too many keypads for instance.

In your case, I would keep the RF keypad for the radio, and ditch one or two of the other ones if convenient.  Since the Vera makes things so easy to arm/disarm maybe some of the keypads have become redundant.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 10:13:32 pm by kevinnutech »

Offline xuniman

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #947 on: July 08, 2015, 06:18:50 pm »
My plugin stopped working. It was working OK over the network when andrei_mcv did the changes to the plugin for network awareness but I mistakenly left autoupdate enabled so when andrei reverted the plugin I lost my ability to use the system. Is the new plugin in beta? Can I get a copy of the kua files that enable networking? I'd be happy to help with testing. The ad2usb is working fine from the RPi with the Alarm Decoder software web interface.

Offline kevinnutech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #948 on: August 05, 2015, 05:07:54 pm »
There is an issue with this plugin when the panel goes into ready, it should clear all faulted zones so that you do not have to wait for a timeout. This will help alleviate zone restores based on the TTL parameter (which is a hack).  Ready realy means that ALL ZONES ARE GOOD, so they should all be restored in the UI when the status is "Ready".

Offline BulldogLowell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Karma: +191/-85
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #949 on: August 10, 2015, 07:05:15 am »
There is an issue with this plugin when the panel goes into ready, it should clear all faulted zones so that you do not have to wait for a timeout. This will help alleviate zone restores based on the TTL parameter (which is a hack).  Ready realy means that ALL ZONES ARE GOOD, so they should all be restored in the UI when the status is "Ready".

Kevin, I've seen this since my recent upgrade to UI7... but cannot find anything on the forums to get this resolved:

"can't detect device"

but I can toggle the alarm state on either of two partitions?
« Last Edit: August 10, 2015, 07:07:10 am by BulldogLowell »

Offline kevinnutech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #950 on: August 14, 2015, 05:59:03 pm »
Got me, must be a bug in the UI or the plugin - not the developer so I can't say one way or the other.  If you have specific AD2 questions, I can answer them no problem.  Plugin issues you'll have to direct toward Vera as I am doing as well.

Offline rstrouse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
  • Karma: +30/-9
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #951 on: August 14, 2015, 06:13:43 pm »
Go to the variables tab for the device and set CommFailure and CommFailureTime to 0 and see if it comes back.  I've had these variables not set before and experienced the issue on that device.
1xVera3 1.7.619, 4xLinear WT00Z, 3xLinear WS15Z, 1xLeviton VRCZ4, 10xCooper RF9540, 1xLeviton VRFI10, 1xLeviton VP00R, 2xLinear GD00Z-4, 1xGE/Jasco 45612, 1xGE/Jasco 45610,  4xGE/Jasco 45605, 2xYale YRD220-ZW-619, 1xCaddx NX584, Autelis Intellitouch Pool Control, OpenSprinkler

Offline BulldogLowell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1576
  • Karma: +191/-85
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #952 on: August 16, 2015, 01:20:12 pm »
Well, I couldn't get it fixed... I contacted Vera and they took care of it.

Thanks Vera Team!

Offline terminus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Can't Detect Device / Failed to open IO Port
« Reply #953 on: August 27, 2015, 12:55:32 am »
I'm using version 2.45 of the Ademco Vista Alarm Panel plugin with an AlarmDecoder ad2usb and Veralite UI7.  I've configured it using minicom and a Linux computer to have the correct device address for my alarm panel (31, it's an FA148C which is mostly the same as a Vista 15P). I receive messages from my alarm panel when I use minicom.

But when transferring the USB device to my Veralite, it is not detected.  I made the changes described earlier in this thread to add the correct USB device numbers to the USB serial driver.  And I also replaced the Start_serproxy.sh file with the script at forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,7266.msg209964.html#msg209964.

In the serial port configuration in the Web interface, the ttyUSB0 device shows up.  It had 9600 baud which was wrong, and was not assigned to a device, so I assigned it to "Ademco Vista Alarm Panel" (also tried assigning it to "Ademco Vista Partition 1") and changed the baud rate to 115200.  When I run "ps aux" on the Vera I can see the serproxy and ser2net processes running:

Code: [Select]
12294 root       900 S    /usr/bin/serproxy 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 35038308 /dev/ttyUSB0
12328 root      1676 S    /bin/sh -c ser2net -n  -C "3482:raw:0:/dev/ttyUSB0:115200 1STOPBIT NONE"
12329 root       800 S    ser2net -n -C 3482 raw 0 /dev/ttyUSB0 115200 1STOPBIT

However the Vera Web interface shows "Ademco Vista Alarm Panel[7] : Failed to open IO Port" at the top in a blue bar and "Can't Detect Device" in a red one below the device itself.

Offline dlemmink

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #954 on: August 29, 2015, 10:37:30 pm »
I've notice recently that my VERA edge running u17 v 1.7.1320 recently created 12 motion sensors for my AD2USB alarm interface.
It has my device id_parent pointing at my Ademco panel.

All of my devices are wireless for this panel.  Are these just ghost devices that are now being created to support the hardwired zones?
Which zones do they represent? (VERA named them _Motion Sensor to _Motion Sensor 11)

Offline wellVersed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #955 on: September 05, 2015, 09:29:18 am »
Well, I couldn't get it fixed... I contacted Vera and they took care of it.

Thanks Vera Team!

BulldogLowell - do you know who you worked with at Vera?  The tech I've been emailing isn't getting me anywhere...

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Can't Detect Device / Failed to open IO Port
« Reply #956 on: September 14, 2015, 09:28:14 pm »
I'm using version 2.45 of the Ademco Vista Alarm Panel plugin with an AlarmDecoder ad2usb and Veralite UI7.  I've configured it using minicom and a Linux computer to have the correct device address for my alarm panel (31, it's an FA148C which is mostly the same as a Vista 15P). I receive messages from my alarm panel when I use minicom.

But when transferring the USB device to my Veralite, it is not detected.  I made the changes described earlier in this thread to add the correct USB device numbers to the USB serial driver.  And I also replaced the Start_serproxy.sh file with the script at forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,7266.msg209964.html#msg209964.

In the serial port configuration in the Web interface, the ttyUSB0 device shows up.  It had 9600 baud which was wrong, and was not assigned to a device, so I assigned it to "Ademco Vista Alarm Panel" (also tried assigning it to "Ademco Vista Partition 1") and changed the baud rate to 115200.  When I run "ps aux" on the Vera I can see the serproxy and ser2net processes running:

Code: [Select]
12294 root       900 S    /usr/bin/serproxy 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 35038308 /dev/ttyUSB0
12328 root      1676 S    /bin/sh -c ser2net -n  -C "3482:raw:0:/dev/ttyUSB0:115200 1STOPBIT NONE"
12329 root       800 S    ser2net -n -C 3482 raw 0 /dev/ttyUSB0 115200 1STOPBIT

However the Vera Web interface shows "Ademco Vista Alarm Panel[7] : Failed to open IO Port" at the top in a blue bar and "Can't Detect Device" in a red one below the device itself.

My posted script should not be needed. As of 1.7.1419 I no longer have to make or reapply my script modifications. This was the first release I encountered that actually fixed the issue for me.

Associating it with the panel, not the partition, is correct. Baud rate is also correct. Unfortunately this means I can't provide much help. To be sure, the keypad address 31 is not in use by anything else?

Re: version 2.45, I contacted support as that version was old, not sure why Dashboard/Devices said that. They told me to ignore that version and rely on the one in the Apps interface. Based on changes in the plugin, I believe they are correct.

Offline sound-mind

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #957 on: September 14, 2015, 09:32:43 pm »
Upgraded to 1.7.1419 plugin v3.12. Now I'm getting notifications from every door/entry sensor each time it is triggered, although I've never configured any notifications for those sensors. Anybody else experiencing this?

Offline stibbzy

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #958 on: September 16, 2015, 01:52:35 am »
Hi all,

I've looked everywhere for an answer to this question but am coming up blank. Is it possible to trigger the alarm/siren (Ademco 10SE) with sensors other than those connected to the panel? For example, I have Fibaro magnetic door sensors, and I would love to be able to have the alarm go off if one of these is faulted. I thought of maybe creating a scene so that, when the Fibaro faulted, the scene pressed a lettered key (A,B,C,D) for the panic mode - setting off the alarm. Unfortunately, these buttons don't appear as selectable options on the partition when I'm creating a scene.

Can anyone help?

Cheers,
Stibbzy.

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #959 on: September 16, 2015, 01:27:20 pm »
You should have the option for letter key press in the advanced tab when creating a new scene. I'm on UI5 but I assume UI7 is the same