We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB  (Read 367385 times)

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #45 on: September 02, 2011, 11:06:12 am »
Quote
This looks easy enough, will do
Thank you.

Quote
It is displayed. The button is green/active when chime mode is enabled. Doesn't it work?
No. Maybe this is one and the same issue with my status not updating?

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline mathewss

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #46 on: September 02, 2011, 03:45:08 pm »

 Just been looking over the plug-in code and noticed something that may be an issue so I figured I would point it out and
make sure it was not an oversight.

getTargetPartitions() takes section #3 and grabs the hex byte #4 this would be the bits for keypads addressed
from 16-23. It seems as if an assumption has been made that each keypad is on its own partition but this may not be
the case. In fact a keypad is assigned a partition or could be assigned to all partitions. Also in Vista 128 or other panels
keypads can exist on other addresses but thats not as big a deal.

 In order to get accurate partition message segregation it is necessary to configure your panel
to have a keypad enabled in each partition but it is not necessary to have an actual keypad installed at these
addresses. So for example with a vista 20P you could enable keypad 22 and 23 and tell the alarm that 22 is on partition #1
and the keypad at address 23 is on partition #2 then you could enable keypad at address 18 for your AD2USB

 You then would need to tell the code that any message with the keypad mask bit set for address 22 must be a partition #1 message
and so on for any message with the address bit set for 23.

In other cases a user may have a real keypad setup on each partition and you just need to know what the address are and what
partition they are on provided they are not on both partitions or a global keypad.

I presume this is working for some because the conditions are correct that they have only one partition and one keypad.

I am still getting familiar with the code but so far I am very impressed with the design and the structure keep it up this is looking
very good so far. All the functions are in place they just need a little tweaking.

Re
 Sean M



Offline mathewss

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #47 on: September 02, 2011, 03:50:57 pm »
 One more suggestion. I see that "*" is sent every time a zone status is fetched. This is not a big deal but still takes up traffic on the ECP bus.
I would suggest this solution. Every message you parse if you see the text "Hit * for faults" that you send a "*"


This is from my AD2USBGUI zontracker module C# code

                        if(m_Message.Text.Contains("Hit * for faults")) {
                                QuantumFoam.SendKeys("*");
                        }

Re
Sean M

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #48 on: September 02, 2011, 06:52:16 pm »
getTargetPartitions() takes section #3 and grabs the hex byte #4 this would be the bits for keypads addressed
from 16-23. It seems as if an assumption has been made that each keypad is on its own partition but this may not be
the case. In fact a keypad is assigned a partition or could be assigned to all partitions. Also in Vista 128 or other panels
keypads can exist on other addresses but thats not as big a deal.
Sean, Can a keypad occupy ANY address? Or does 16-23 cover all the possible except a few?
In my case, the keypad address is #31 (10SE panel), and probably why the status is not getting updated.
So a couple of thoughts.

@mcvflorin, If the plugin can't be written to cover all possible addresses (if it can then this is a moot point) what about a tab on the partition device to where a user manually enters their keypad address(s)?
 
Or, would it also work to have users assign their AD2USB to 16-23 to fit the current code?
Unless that range of address's wont work for some panels...

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline mathewss

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #49 on: September 04, 2011, 10:06:13 am »
getTargetPartitions() takes section #3 and grabs the hex byte #4 this would be the bits for keypads addressed
from 16-23. It seems as if an assumption has been made that each keypad is on its own partition but this may not be
the case. In fact a keypad is assigned a partition or could be assigned to all partitions. Also in Vista 128 or other panels
keypads can exist on other addresses but thats not as big a deal.
Sean, Can a keypad occupy ANY address? Or does 16-23 cover all the possible except a few?
In my case, the keypad address is #31 (10SE panel), and probably why the status is not getting updated.
So a couple of thoughts.

@mcvflorin, If the plugin can't be written to cover all possible addresses (if it can then this is a moot point) what about a tab on the partition device to where a user manually enters their keypad address(s)?
 
Or, would it also work to have users assign their AD2USB to 16-23 to fit the current code?
Unless that range of address's wont work for some panels...

JOD.

 For most panels its fixed at 16-23 but we also have AUI keypads that can be at 1 and on advanced panels like the vista 128 I think a keypad can be on any address?

Re
 Sean M

Offline dlca1

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #50 on: September 04, 2011, 07:40:30 pm »
i'm having problems getting AD2USB to work properly with Vera2

Confirmed that AD2USB is working properly (via GUI keypad emulator)

I folllowed the installation directions on the wiki (uploaded files, created devices) I tried the workaround for serial port and tried to change it to 115200

Question 1) How do I verify that the serial baud rate is correctly set?  For the device, do I select the device I created or the "Ademco Vista Partition 1" or both?

Question 2) The wiki instructions only say to fill in description + UpnpDevFilename field enter D_VistaAlarmPanel1.xml. Is it necessary to also fill in UpnpImplFilename (i.e .with I_VistaAlarmPanel1.xml)?

I noticed some type of NULL error and grepped out the 01 events from the  LuaUPnp.log

01      09/04/11 16:14:10.543   Mongoose XXX-mg_stop1 0x79ab90 1 2 <0x400>
01      09/04/11 16:14:12.560   Mongoose XXX-mg_stop2 0x79ab90 2 2 <0x400>
01      09/04/11 16:14:12.561   Mongoose XXX-mg_stop3 0x79ab90 2 2 <0x400>
01      09/04/11 16:14:12.562   Mongoose XXX-mg_stop4 0x79ab90 8309592 2 <0x400>
01      09/04/11 16:14:14.954   UPnPAction_Send::ParseState can't find name <0x400>
01      09/04/11 16:19:02.263   luup_io_write NULL port 0x756800 size 7 <0x5410>
root@MiOS_19024:/tmp/log/cmh#





Thanks in advance



Running Version 2.0 Beta


Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #51 on: September 04, 2011, 07:56:33 pm »
Quote
Question 1) How do I verify that the serial baud rate is correctly set?  For the device, do I select the device I created or the "Ademco Vista Partition 1" or both?
You can go back to serial ports and double check it and change it if needed.
Use the device you created.

Quote
Question 2) The wiki instructions only say to fill in description + UpnpDevFilename field enter D_VistaAlarmPanel1.xml. Is it necessary to also fill in UpnpImplFilename (i.e .with I_VistaAlarmPanel1.xml)?
You only need to use the D_xml.

JOD
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline dlca1

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #52 on: September 04, 2011, 09:03:44 pm »
JOD- Thank you for such quick reponse. It was very helpful to have confirmation about the right direction.
mcvflorin- Thank you for writing this plugin.

I am now able to arm/disarm my alarm from Vera dashboard.

Note: STATUS on the main dashboard is still blank, but it sounds like that has already been reported as an known issue.

To help others: I did not set the baud rate during initial device creation. Attempts to modify/save after the fact did not seem to take.  It may be coincidence, but I finally got it to work by deleting both the alarm device and "Ademco Vista Partition 1" -> starting over

1) Create Device (Mios Developers -> Create Device)
- fill in Description (with whatever you want descriptor you want)
- fill in UpnpDevFileName file with "D_VistaAlarmPartition1.xml"
- leave the UpnpImpleFileName field blank.
2) Serial Port configuration
- Set baud rate to 115200 (under Serial Port configuration tab)
- for "Used by device", select the device you created
- Save

Note: I see the following error message in the logs. The code at line 147 seems to refer to status, so including it here in case it helps debug the missing status information.
01      09/04/11 18:16:20.980   LuaInterface::CallFunction-2 lu_incoming failed /etc/cmh-ludl/L_VistaAlarmPanel1.lua:147: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value) <0x4011>
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 09:24:39 pm by dlca1 »

Offline danb35

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #53 on: September 05, 2011, 06:43:29 pm »
Great to see a plugin that will support my Vista alarm panel--looks like I'll be ordering a AD2USB shortly.  Does this plugin support retrieving (and maybe even decoding) the event log from the panel?

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #54 on: September 06, 2011, 08:52:25 am »
@mathewss
Thanks for looking into this. In the first plugin version I got the partition number from the alpha part of the message, but that required the user to enable displaying of the partition number. I guess I'll revert back to that way of getting the partition the message is addressed to. This would make the status updating faster, because the alpha message is unaffected by the GOTO command.

The reason I send a '*' every time a zone status is fetched is to speed up cycling through the faulted zones. Removing this will be easy.

@danb35
This plugin doesn't support retrieving the event log yet. I may add this in the future.

Offline wseverino

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Da Man, Da Myth, Da Legend - in his own mind!
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #55 on: September 09, 2011, 09:43:24 am »
Anyone know the standard installer code on a 10SE? I have had mine for 11 years and can't seem to find the paper work on it.
My ZWave Network: Too friggin big to list.....

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline wseverino

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Da Man, Da Myth, Da Legend - in his own mind!
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #57 on: September 09, 2011, 10:21:26 am »
Thanks JOD. I am getting message through putty now.
My ZWave Network: Too friggin big to list.....

Offline wseverino

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Da Man, Da Myth, Da Legend - in his own mind!
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #58 on: September 09, 2011, 12:24:36 pm »
You should be able to see the partitions' arming status with the plugin version you have.
No it does not. Screen shot below.
Quote
I've been working on this plugin the last few days and tomorrow, or maybe the day after I should have a final version.
Sounds good.
Quote
It should be possible to enable or disable the Chime feature, but I got to implement it first.
Sounds good.

Thank you.
JOD.

FYI - I can second the plugin does not show the status for the Vista 10SE correctly. I have the updated firmware from NuTech. I can arm, stay and disarm through Vera but no status is displayed.

50      09/09/11 12:33:57.517   luup_log:128: (processIncoming) Section 1: 10000                                                                                                  00100000000---- <0x4011>
50      09/09/11 12:33:57.518   luup_log:128: (processIncoming) Section 2: 002 <                                                                                                  0x4011>
50      09/09/11 12:33:57.519   luup_log:128: (processIncoming) Section 3: f7000                                                                                                  0008002001c08000000000000 <0x4011>
50      09/09/11 12:33:57.520   luup_log:128: (processIncoming) Section 4: ****D                                                                                                  ISARMED****  READY TO ARM   <0x4011>
50      09/09/11 12:33:57.522   luup_log:128: (getStatusFlags) Active flags: REA                                                                                                  DY <0x4011>
50      09/09/11 12:33:57.523   luup_log:128: (processIncoming) Unhandled messag                                                                                                  e. <0x4011>
50      09/09/11 12:34:08.672   luup_log:128: (incoming) lul_data='[100000010000                                                                                                  0000----],002,[f70000008002001c08000000000000],"****DISARMED****  READY TO ARM                                                                                                    "' <0x4011>
« Last Edit: September 09, 2011, 12:35:24 pm by wseverino »
My ZWave Network: Too friggin big to list.....

Offline mathewss

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Honeywell Ademco Vista Alarm Panels Plugin via AD2USB
« Reply #59 on: September 11, 2011, 07:21:08 pm »
 If anyone with an SE panel and some patience and time could please test the latest beta 22 I would appreciate it. I had someone with an SE variant I had not seen before with some issues that I was able to fix with a small adjustment to the timing. I need to see if this change adversely effects other SE users. This may effect your system and require me to request further timing data from your panel so please do not do this unless you have the time and can be down for a day.

Re
 Sean M