Author Topic: 1.1.1338 beta available  (Read 28078 times)

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2011, 05:01:17 pm »
There was an issue with earlier betas with issues on vera1.
As the releasenotes state, those should be fixed.

Sounds like a genuine case of RTFM?!?  ;D kidding.

It should work on a V1, please let us know if you run into any trouble upgrading!


If you click on the link MCV provided from a network with a V1, you get the all-too-familiar screen congratulating you on buying your V2, and offering to help you set it up.  The release notes, which I read, don't have a handy link in them for direct access to the firmware.  If you have a V1, MCV has provided no blessed path to get the update.

Hence my question.  Since the link itself has "vera2" embedded in it, given the behavior I saw when I clicked on it, it seemed like this was not intended for V1.  It is not accessible for V1 by any means provided by MCV.

RTFM indeed.

--Richard

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2011, 05:16:17 pm »
Richard,

Did you actually try to upgrade or are you merely talking about textual issues.
If the betalink doesn't work for you, please contact MCV techsupport,
 sure they will either help you upgrade or provide a direct upgradelink for you!

Very interested if the V1 actually gets updated with this release.

Henk
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2011, 05:30:59 pm »
Richard,

Did you actually try to upgrade or are you merely talking about textual issues.
If the betalink doesn't work for you, please contact MCV techsupport,
 sure they will either help you upgrade or provide a direct upgradelink for you!

Very interested if the V1 actually gets updated with this release.

Henk

I really tried it.  It really takes me to a page to help me set up my V2 from scratch, which isn't all that helpful.

My SO is going to be in a class Sunday, and I will probably bite the bullet and finally bring up the V2 I've had since they came out.  It doesn't feel like they're going to be able to provide a solution for the Z-wave routing issues for V1 in time for me to be comfortable leaving Vera in charge of the house when I leave on vacation.  Had thought to install this latest RC on the V1 to see if it settled any issues for me.  Not urgent.

--Richard

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2011, 05:45:24 pm »
Richard,

if the public betalink doesnt work for you, please put in a troubleticket at MCV.

@Aaron, is this a known issue for the public beta upgrade link, that V1 cannot be updated?
Do the V1's require an alternate method? Please chip in here.

Best,
Henk

Richard,

Did you actually try to upgrade or are you merely talking about textual issues.
If the betalink doesn't work for you, please contact MCV techsupport,
 sure they will either help you upgrade or provide a direct upgradelink for you!

Very interested if the V1 actually gets updated with this release.

Henk

I really tried it.  It really takes me to a page to help me set up my V2 from scratch, which isn't all that helpful.

My SO is going to be in a class Sunday, and I will probably bite the bullet and finally bring up the V2 I've had since they came out.  It doesn't feel like they're going to be able to provide a solution for the Z-wave routing issues for V1 in time for me to be comfortable leaving Vera in charge of the house when I leave on vacation.  Had thought to install this latest RC on the V1 to see if it settled any issues for me.  Not urgent.

--Richard

| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline mda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 464
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2011, 12:21:42 am »
for me the GE45631 scene controller is not working on 1338 any better than it was working on 1245 :(

Offline mhn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2011, 12:55:06 am »
I upgraded my Vera 1 with the Vera 2 links. (look for .trx in the firmware download string, then it is a Vera 1 firmware.)

It seems to work fine.

It ended with something like "congratulations you are now on 1245", but the firmware on Vera is 1338.

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2011, 10:55:52 pm »
It should work fine on Vera 1.  If you're having a problem that it won't upgrade your Vera 1, please send an email to support at micasaverde dot com and include your serial number and our support guys will look into it.  There are no known issues.

I see a couple users complained about access via cp.mios.com, but it seems those were server, not firmware issues, and are working fine.

There's a few complaints about stuff not working, like the GE remote, but these appear to not be regressions.  I didn't see anything in the thread that looked like a regression (ie something broke that used to work in 1245).  That's our big priority when deciding to move something from release candidate to a formal release.

We do have a new UI5 build for the private beta testers that we'll be publishing tomorrow for the brave of heart.  When the feedback we get is that there are no significant issues we will publish a link to this forum too.

Offline ridgecat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
1.1.1338 problem with NetworkMonitor.log
« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2011, 12:26:41 am »
On 1.1.1338 (as on 1337 and possibly 1285), the file var/log/cmh/NetworkMonitor.log grows very rapidly (mine grows at the rate of about 54 MB per day) and log entries such as "CheckFreeTunnels file gone response 0 output:" are followed by a listing of what appears to be the /etc/cmh/ directory.  This sequence occurs as frequently as once every 5 seconds for periods ranging up to several minutes. Eventually, my Vera 2 stops responding to any external stimulus and requires power cycling to resume. I use a 2GB USB stick for log storage, so it takes a long time before the system fails. If I remove the stick, it fails within 24 hours or so.

I am a considering a Luup module driven by an hourly timer that simply deletes NetworkMonitor.log at least until this problem is fixed. I'd rather have a system that stays up without a Network Monitor log than have unscheduled failures and a log too big to be useful, especially with its thousands of copies of the /etc/cmh/ directory.

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 problem with NetworkMonitor.log
« Reply #23 on: August 17, 2011, 01:28:44 am »
Hmm nice in depth analasys from a newbie with 10 posts...
Putting that remark aside, could this also explain the reboots @JOD has been experiencing?

If so, what is the trigger and why are only some and not all of us experiencing this?!?

Henk
On 1.1.1338 (as on 1337 and possibly 1285), the file var/log/cmh/NetworkMonitor.log grows very rapidly (mine grows at the rate of about 54 MB per day) and log entries such as "CheckFreeTunnels file gone response 0 output:" are followed by a listing of what appears to be the /etc/cmh/ directory.  This sequence occurs as frequently as once every 5 seconds for periods ranging up to several minutes. Eventually, my Vera 2 stops responding to any external stimulus and requires power cycling to resume. I use a 2GB USB stick for log storage, so it takes a long time before the system fails. If I remove the stick, it fails within 24 hours or so.

I am a considering a Luup module driven by an hourly timer that simply deletes NetworkMonitor.log at least until this problem is fixed. I'd rather have a system that stays up without a Network Monitor log than have unscheduled failures and a log too big to be useful, especially with its thousands of copies of the /etc/cmh/ directory.
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline aschwalb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 590
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #24 on: August 17, 2011, 03:53:39 pm »
I am experiencing the log filling up as well.  Reboot clears the issue (assume the log is deleted in the init sequence).

Offline Intrepid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 536
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #25 on: August 17, 2011, 03:59:25 pm »
I'm less than a day into this firmware.  No lockups yet.  No USB logging.

How do I check to see if I have this log issue?

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 problem with NetworkMonitor.log
« Reply #26 on: August 17, 2011, 08:42:56 pm »
the file var/log/cmh/NetworkMonitor.log grows very rapidly (mine grows at the rate of about 54 MB per day)
As a comparison, over the past 3hrs I'm seeing that file grow about 18.5kb/hr = 444kb/day

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline ridgecat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 problem with NetworkMonitor.log
« Reply #27 on: August 17, 2011, 11:29:39 pm »
the file var/log/cmh/NetworkMonitor.log grows very rapidly (mine grows at the rate of about 54 MB per day)
As a comparison, over the past 3hrs I'm seeing that file grow about 18.5kb/hr = 444kb/day

JOD.

I just checked mine since it has been just under 24 hours since the logs rotated; NetworkMonitor.log is 9.6 MB. I've found the growth rate to be neither linear throughout the day, nor precisely repeatable from day to day. Does your log file contain extraneous stuff (mine is mostly directory listings of /etc/cmh/)?

To Henk: Thanks for the kind words. It has nothing to do with the number of posts; I've just been developing system-level software since 1964 (now retired).

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #28 on: August 17, 2011, 11:58:46 pm »
Baseline 34,576 @ 6:50pm
111,350 @11:50pm
Growth of 76,774kb in 5hrs = 15.354kb/hr

It's hard to describe what the file contains, it's kinda a miss mash of stuff. But I have pages and pages of:
Code: [Select]
error:
curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 500
 <0x400>
02 08/17/11 17:49:07.396 FileUtils::ReadURL retries 0 url: http://127.0.0.1/port_3480/data_request?id=lu_alive returned 22 /curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 500
 <0x400>
02 08/17/11 17:49:07.396 FileUtils::ReadURL pos: 29 ret 500 foo  500
"top" sessions, curl errors, log rotations, memory leak checks..

You could try changing your logging params in /etc/cmh/cmh.conf
I had re-enabled logging a few days ago, I've had 12hr ~ 18hr lockups since. Changing back to no logging now.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #29 on: August 18, 2011, 01:57:57 am »
I can confirm that my Network log shows 7.8MB.

Current time right now is 01:55 Eastern DST

Doing a head on NetworkMonitor.log:

First line shows:
02      08/17/11 23:48:04.262   Finished rotate logs <0x400>

What baffles me is that in 2 hours the log is 7.8MB!?!? The log contains all sort of stuff. Directory listings, network info etc.

- Garrett

Edit:

I have verbose logging turned on. Anyone else have verbose turned on?