Author Topic: 1.1.1338 beta available  (Read 28051 times)

Offline Don Diego

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +300/-3
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #45 on: August 19, 2011, 12:47:27 pm »
 @micasaverde,

  


@micasaverde,

my suggestionwould be:

1. Keep 1338 intact and on schedule.
2. Document (using this thread and or release notes) the issue, including a workaround if there is one.
3. Try to fix it in the NEXT UI5 build as im sure the initial build will probably not make it to final.

That way the issue is captured, possible problems stay contained within a percentage of users and most importantly, no release gets delayed!

Hope others can chip in and add or comment to this proposal.

Best,

- Henk

The logging of the /etc/cmh/ was added on February 21.  1.1.1245 was released on April 20.  This logging was in 1245 too.  NetworkMonitor didn't change from 1245 to 1338.

I checked the commit logs and the reason it was added was that a user kept reporting that he would enable the tech support tunnels (which writes the ra_* file in /etc/cmh) but that the files would just disappear all on their own.  So the point of the logging was to have a continual snapshot of /etc/cmh/ to see when files were getting removed, and which files were removed, and what was going on at that time.

However, it's been 6 months and we haven't gotten any more reports of files in /etc/cmh/ disappearing all on their own.  So it's probably overkill to keep this logging in place and I'll remove it.

The only tough decision is if this means we stop the 1338 release, do a new build, and start the whole in-house testing, private beta test, public beta test, release cycle all over again, which will delay getting the fix to 1245 out for another week or two and will delay the UI5 beta since we'll to pull the testers off UI5.  Or we continue with the plan to release 1338 as-is since this logging issue is not new and was there in the last release anyway.

 I agree with Henk.. let's not go backwards. Keep 1338 and roll the fix into the future UI5 build.

      Don
Vera 3 (@1.5.622) (3); Vera Plus (2);
Trane/Schlage TStats (1); Schlage Deadbolt (2); Kwikset Lock (3);  GE 45602 Dimmer (14); GE 45603 Dimmer (17); HSM-100 (16); Everspring Siren (8), Everspring Temp/Humidity (4); HSM 200 (1)

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #46 on: August 19, 2011, 01:00:34 pm »
This logging was in 1245 too.  NetworkMonitor didn't change from 1245 to 1338.
Right; it's not a regression. What I looked at this morning was with .1332.

As said previously, to me it appears as unnecessary logging, but does no harm. So far I think only @ridgecat implied a relationship between this extra tracing and a non-responsive system. They appear to be two separate issues.

The logs now fill up more quickly with unnecessary information, meaning you guys (MCV Support) cannot go back in time as far as without the tracing. But you keep 10 copies and it apparently hasn't been an issue.

Looks like folks who have verbose logging enabled get more redundant stuff anyway (looks like ifconfig -a every 5 seconds).

So if nothing is actually broken, I'd leave .1338 as is.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 01:05:00 pm by oTi@ »
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #47 on: August 19, 2011, 01:30:45 pm »
I agree with both Henk and oTi@. Keep the current build and document the issue. I corrected my issue with oTi@'s suggestion. My usb stick is thanking me! However I did notice a reboot of my vera unit a few hours later. I have to see what happend then. I never (from memory) get reboots and my vera has been stable.

- Garrett

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #48 on: August 19, 2011, 01:35:00 pm »
Ditto the same  ;)
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #49 on: August 19, 2011, 04:08:39 pm »
done.  that code was already removed from the ui5 build.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #50 on: August 19, 2011, 04:57:40 pm »
Great news!

- Garrett

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #51 on: August 19, 2011, 09:40:03 pm »
Richard,

Did you actually try to upgrade or are you merely talking about textual issues.
If the betalink doesn't work for you, please contact MCV techsupport,
 sure they will either help you upgrade or provide a direct upgradelink for you!

Very interested if the V1 actually gets updated with this release.

Henk

So I have upgraded.  I just went ahead and hit "continue" on a few screens where it made little sense, and got 1.1.1338 installed.

Oddness.  I've installed one of our Honeywell thermostats, and was going to add it to the network.  V1, so I pulled the dongle out.  Short tap on the dongle button, but instead of going into include mode (slow blink), the dongle light comes on, stays on, then goes out.  If I hold the button down, I can get to a slow blink, but as soon as I let go of the button, it goes solid.  And then goes out.  If I keep holding it, I get to a fast blink (removal), but again, as soon as I let go, solid light, then out.

Is this something about 1.1.1338, or is this a symptom of the battery in the dongle dying.  In either case, it's pretty annoying.  I can probably bring the V1 close to the stat with long CAT5 and an extension cord, but this is not going to be viable in the long haul.

Anyone else with a V1 who did this upgrade seeing this?

--Richard

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #52 on: August 19, 2011, 10:16:35 pm »
I'm running a V1 on 1338 and have to say any dongle issue would be a dongle issue and not related to the build.
I've had a dongle issue but the light would just go out when unplugging it from the USB port and obviously wouldn't include....This does not sound like a dongle battery/cap issue.

Have you ever upgraded the dongle firmware? Does it flash when its plugged in or does the dongle light stay lit?

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #53 on: August 19, 2011, 10:32:21 pm »
I'm running a V1 on 1338 and have to say any dongle issue would be a dongle issue and not related to the build.
I've had a dongle issue but the light would just go out when unplugging it from the USB port and obviously wouldn't include....This does not sound like a dongle battery/cap issue.

Have you ever upgraded the dongle firmware? Does it flash when its plugged in or does the dongle light stay lit?

JOD.

Stays lit.  2.78

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #54 on: August 19, 2011, 10:40:19 pm »
So that's an indication its got the latest dongle firmware.

I haven't seen your issue before. Sorry.

JOD.
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline rogerdata

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #55 on: August 21, 2011, 11:49:37 am »
I tried today to access the vera update by clicking on the address in the first post in this subject. I followed the instuctions and was told that no vera was found on my network! I have access through my browser and through homebuddy and everything is working. Anyone else seen this problem? ???
I have also had lockups on vera several times in the last few days and I have to cycle power to get access back. Don't know if the two are related.

After reading more of this thread I see this has been reported. I have a vera 2. Does this mean that I will not be able to update when the ui5 is released?
Is Mios working on this problem? IT will become a major problem for me (locking up) soon since I will be away for an extended time.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2011, 12:12:37 pm by rogerdata »

Offline Frasier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #56 on: September 06, 2011, 12:34:43 pm »
When my V2 loses power the time always reverts to 2010 June 14 01 2x xx. I've just upgraded to 1338 in the hope that the NetworkMonitor fix would cure this as most of my scenes use timers so everything get messed up if the power drops out. I've just interupted power to Vera (but not the Netopia adsl modem which it connects to by ethernet cable) and the time still reverts to 2010 June 14 etc.

I've read through the various threads regarding this issue and in relation to NTP and I'm still confused by it: I get that NTP is the better solution but don't understand why rdate is not working???

Offline HouseBot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #57 on: September 06, 2011, 02:03:50 pm »
Quote
why rdate is not working???
I had same issue. My ISP does not allow rdate since it can be used in attacks. Follow this link for the instructions how to fix it
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Install_NTP

Offline Henk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #58 on: September 06, 2011, 03:11:35 pm »
Im having some similar issues after reinstalling 1338.
My lights keep going off after manually switching them on on the plug.

Now this could be related to a time issue that has been posted before on the forum or soimething else, but i can say its quite annoying and not the way i like to save on energy.... ::)


However the quote from @Frasier could relate to something different.
Vera runs a linux distro. the linux command "time" does not show the system date and time but is used as explained here:
http://linux.about.com/library/cmd/blcmdl1_time.htm
Quote
time
BusyBox v1.15.3 (2010-06-10 18:19:49 PDT) multi-call binary
Merely states the time the binary was compiled i suppose.

The UI DOES report the correct time and date and this can be shown in a CLI window using the command DATE
Quote
date
Tue Sep  6 21:16:57 CEST 2011

- Henk

When my V2 loses power the time always reverts to 2010 June 14 01 2x xx. I've just upgraded to 1338 in the hope that the NetworkMonitor fix would cure this as most of my scenes use timers so everything get messed up if the power drops out. I've just interupted power to Vera (but not the Netopia adsl modem which it connects to by ethernet cable) and the time still reverts to 2010 June 14 etc.

I've read through the various threads regarding this issue and in relation to NTP and I'm still confused by it: I get that NTP is the better solution but don't understand why rdate is not working???
« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 03:21:34 pm by Henk »
| Vera2 @ UI4 1.1.1350 / 3.20 | Vera Lite @ UI5 | Vera 3 @ UI5 | 2x Merten  504519 | 1x Duewi  064374 | 1x Everspring SM103 doorbell mod |1 Y-cam IP cam | various LUUP plugins |

Offline Frasier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: 1.1.1338 beta available
« Reply #59 on: September 06, 2011, 05:15:51 pm »
I followed the link as HouseBot suggested and installed NTP and that seems to have cured the problem. When I disrupt power now it recovers the correct time.

Henk - thanks for posting that step by step guide: considering I pretty much had no idea what I was doing it worked out fine.  :)