Author Topic: Trying Vera  (Read 1083 times)

Offline venno

Trying Vera
« on: March 20, 2018, 09:23:43 am »
Hi All

I am a control systems engineer by profession and I got bit a few years back by the HA bug. I have been using Homeseer for the past 2 yrs but have been experiencing some problems:

1. The z wave driver has issues resulting in lack of functionality for some of my devices.
2. The z wave driver updates have fixed some of the above issues but then broken previously rock solid devices.
3. The payment structure for addons had me staring down an expensive path.
4. I run the linux version and it is not a primary concern for HS and suffers some limitations they are unlikely to alter.

My HA system is only zwave devices, I have been running HS3 on raspberry Pi and also tried it as a VM, I won't use windows as I am trying to achieve appliance type reliability.

I have a good zwave mesh thanks to the geo dispersion of the devices thru my home and running them all on permanent power with the exception of a yale lock. My HA network has reached the limit of what I plan to put on it and I now want to concentrate on improvements and higher level funtionalities as opposed to expansion.

I use Imperihome (I am grandfathered thru so can keep using it without moving to subscription model) as I find HS3 interface (as all inbuilt vendor interfaces) a joke. I have around 20 real devices mainly using fibaro dimmer swithces, fibaro binary sensors, aeotec enviro monitors, zuno relays, and a remotec scene controller that handles group lighting switching. I have 2 virtual devices, one is a monitoring of my home alarm state via the fibaro binary switches and the other is a grouping control for a zuno relay device to apply blinds up/down control. My events setup is fairly basic and not large in scope just light switching via scene controller button presses, a timer control on towel heating rail and the ganged blind control all up/down.