Author Topic: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.  (Read 31091 times)

Offline tinker3433

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +3/-6
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #60 on: February 26, 2015, 06:57:10 pm »
Both developers went on vacation at the same time?  Or, maybe they only have on developer and the 'staff' went on vacation.  Funny how they forget that the problems were known long before this vacation.

2nd week of Jan, 2nd week of Feb, 2nd week of..????
Still waiting for full functionality...

Gave up and bought a Xuan Stack Box.
I hope that there development is faster.

The race is on.

Not sure what you guys are waiting for..... your replying to an old thread. That update already came out and fixed everything I needed and I was able to swap over and start using the EDGE.

Hasn't fixed my issues. Still no Insteon. have deleted, re-added, Factory Reset, Sworn at it, Pleaded with it, and more.
No Joy


Is someone has Insteon working please let me know what the Secret Sauce is.

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #61 on: February 27, 2015, 09:46:26 am »
The secret sauce to running insteon on Vera is not to use the built in insteon support. I highly recommend that you look into a dedicated insteon controller like the Universal Devices ISY994.


- Garrett

EarlyMorningHours

  • Guest
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #62 on: February 28, 2015, 07:31:32 pm »
Deleted
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 02:04:25 pm by EarlyMorningHours »

Offline wezley69

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #63 on: February 28, 2015, 07:57:19 pm »
@EarlyMorningHours just had the same feeling about my day on the phone with Microsoft Premier Support regarding work issues.

Offline dawgbone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +5/-4
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #64 on: February 28, 2015, 09:27:51 pm »
They do mention that battery powered devices would most probably need to be woken.... i.e...."re-paired"...
My controller shift(same setup) went really good....

I did have to "re-pair" nearly all of my battery operated devices, and I had to recreate the scenes where those were involved...
But the end result has been a much better experience,  by using their predefined templates for most of those devices, while including them...
I'm real surprised that my associated devices stuck...

But, everything just seems to work much better/quicker now... But I only have 38 devices and 16 scenes as of now...
« Last Edit: February 28, 2015, 09:47:43 pm by dawgbone »

Offline tinker3433

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +3/-6
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #65 on: March 02, 2015, 12:07:02 pm »
The secret sauce to running insteon on Vera is not to use the built in insteon support. I highly recommend that you look into a dedicated insteon controller like the Universal Devices ISY994.


- Garrett

Thanks, I will check into that if the Stack box doesn't work out.

But i still have other issues with the Edge.
For one,  the "Buttons" and Sliders stack on top of each other.
Tech support was no help.

Stack Box Native Insteon support is in QA and Beta now and should release in 2 weeks.
If so i will have a slightly used Edge for sale.

I  feel i have been very patient with Vera through UI6 and UI7 issues with my Vera Lite.

I thought they would learn from their (and their customers) struggles and have their act together before they released a new product.
So I bought the "Latest and Greatest".
And it is a dud.

And they can't even manage to update their customers with the status.  Even though we are a month and a half past the last indication I have seen of a date for possible native Insteon support. They have a nice slideshow. but that doesn't help get the other half of my system working.



EarlyMorningHours

  • Guest
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #66 on: March 03, 2015, 06:24:58 am »
Deleted
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 02:03:51 pm by EarlyMorningHours »

Offline erkme73

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: +11/-11
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #67 on: August 22, 2015, 02:36:26 am »
I realize this is an old topic, but it's the only one that addresses healing/repairing in on the Vera.  Some of my devices are not reporting their status manually turning the on/off.  I'd like to do a 'repair/heal' but I can't for the life of me find it.

Is that something that has been removed in the latest firmware?

Offline erkme73

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • Karma: +11/-11
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #68 on: August 22, 2015, 02:39:06 am »
My apologies... After posting, I found this thread which clearly states it's no longer an option.

Offline bigmusic11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Well Looks like I will be changing to the new Vera Edge.
« Reply #69 on: March 12, 2018, 05:48:34 am »
I know this is an old topic also and its now 2018
Does anyone know if all this information is relevant any more?
Looking to change from Vera Light UI7 to the new Vera Plus UI7.