Author Topic: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor  (Read 2210 times)

Offline Domoworking

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« on: April 11, 2018, 04:35:24 am »
Does anybody succesfully tried those sensors?
the are very cheap and also good looking and small.

Regards

Offline cmille34

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 08:57:29 am »
I've really liked all the Xiaomi sensors I bought recently from aliexpress (motion, temp, door, etc). They are so cheap!  I've basically converted to using my VeraPlus simply as a ZWave gateway and then using HomeAssistant in a docker on an old laptop.  The Xiaomi motion sensors going through the Xiaomi gateway, and then into HomeAssistant is still more responsive than all 3 of my other native ZWave motion sensors at a third of the price of a single ZWave sensor.  YMMV of course but I've really enjoyed tinkering with HomeAssistant and being able to expand my home automation stuff on the cheap.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 584
  • Karma: +9/-12
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 08:11:55 pm »
Will they work with the Vera natively???

Offline cmille34

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2018, 12:12:58 pm »
Will they work with the Vera natively???
No

Offline vosmont

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 687
  • Karma: +60/-8
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2018, 01:04:28 pm »
You can plug a ZiGate dongle : http://zigate.fr/
and install plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

As said cmille34, these little devices work very well.

Offline jswim788

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: +58/-2
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2018, 01:49:44 pm »
Doesn't look like you can get a ZiGate in the USA.  Anyone know of an importer of them?

Offline therealdb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Automate all the things!
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2018, 01:59:36 am »
You can plug a ZiGate dongle : http://zigate.fr/
and install plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

As said cmille34, these little devices work very well.

Vosmont, your solution seems very clever. Technically speaking, zigbee devices are created as child devices and then mapped normally in scenes, etc. Am I correc?
Is the response from zigbee devices instant?

Thanks.
Vera Edge EU, Fibaro FGRM 222 (12), Fibaro FGS 223 (20), Fibaro FGS 222 (5), Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor (2), Fibaro Plug (3), NeoCoolCam Door Sensor (3), NeoCoolCam PIR (2), Nest (3), Home Server running my own integrations, Harmony Hub, OpenSprinkler, Personal Weather Station, Sonoff TH & more

Offline vosmont

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 687
  • Karma: +60/-8
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2018, 04:12:49 am »
Yes, the Zigbee equipments are seen as normal devices on the Vera.
You can use them as the Zwave devices.

Offline therealdb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Automate all the things!
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2018, 08:37:47 am »
Wow, I'll think about this system. Zigbee devices are so cheap that it could be worthwhile to add this support.
Thanks.
Vera Edge EU, Fibaro FGRM 222 (12), Fibaro FGS 223 (20), Fibaro FGS 222 (5), Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor (2), Fibaro Plug (3), NeoCoolCam Door Sensor (3), NeoCoolCam PIR (2), Nest (3), Home Server running my own integrations, Harmony Hub, OpenSprinkler, Personal Weather Station, Sonoff TH & more

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 584
  • Karma: +9/-12
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2018, 07:40:54 pm »
One says yes, the other says no. What does one need to be able to use these sensors with a Vera Plus? I don't mind adding hardware to be able to use a less expensive sensor. Besides, the few Zigbee sensors I have now seem more reliable than the Z-Wave ones they replaced...

Offline jswim788

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: +58/-2
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2018, 10:42:38 pm »
Vosmont mentioned the ZiGate dongle to connect the ZigBee devices to Vera and there is a plugin available.  Alas for me, ZiGate doesn't appear to ship to the US.  Otherwise I would have already ordered one.  I know it is possible to get a ZigBee dongle here, the problem is writing a plugin for it.  I don't know if there is anything special in the ZiGate that couldn't be easily replicated with other dongles - for example, the Linear HUSBZB-1.  It may be that the magic in the ZiGate is that they have figured out the Xiaomi protocol and embedded it.

Or you can go the Xiaomi gateway route.  I'm looking a bit into that as well.

Or move to France to get the ZiGate...

Offline Domoworking

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2018, 12:44:59 pm »
You can plug a ZiGate dongle : http://zigate.fr/
and install plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

As said cmille34, these little devices work very well.

Vera Plus is supposed to handle ZigBee natively....

Offline jswim788

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: +58/-2
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2018, 03:24:11 pm »
Vera Plus is supposed to handle ZigBee natively....
Alas, Vera Plus has very poor ZigBee support.  Which is why many of us are looking at alternatives such as ZiGate.

Offline markcm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2018, 02:41:09 pm »
How Do we get this zigate in USA? I was looking at their site although there is no contact-us link. I can add a zigate to the shopping cart although I'm not sure if I can check out.

Vosmont- Do you have ability to order these? Maybe you would be willing to proxy purchase these for some of us?

What is the Xiaomi hub that was mentioned? I'm familiar with other Xiaomi products such as fitness bands which I own several of but just discovered their range of home sensors and would like to get some but it looks like I need either a zigate or xiaomi hub.

It is confirmed that the veraplus zigbee is problematic? Does it not work natively with Xiaomi sensors?

Offline jswim788

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: +58/-2
Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2018, 04:19:09 pm »
Look for this on Amazon: "Xiaomi Mi Smart WiFi Remote Control Multi-functional Router Multi-functional Gateway".  No Vera support that I'm aware of.  SmartThings and Domiticz have plugins, so it must not be impossible to write a plugin.

OpenHAB has native support for ZigBee- since I also run OH on my RPi, I'm a bit tempted to buy the HUSBZB-1 and bridge the sensors over to Vera.

I wouldn't wait for Vera, see: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,38994.msg343536.html#msg343536