Author Topic: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?  (Read 183 times)

Offline aecchalet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: +1/-1
Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« on: April 13, 2018, 02:09:19 am »
With earlier versions of the UI, I was able to set a min cool temp below which my guests could not lower the temperature with my AC.  The newest UI7 no longer gives me these settings.  I tried installing the Thermostat Min Max plugin but still don't see any options within the "advanced tab" to specify a min cool temperature.  Is it still possible to set a min cool temp with this thermostat or do I need to upgrade my thermostats to do so?
If I need to upgrade my zwave thermostat, any recommendations for a reliable thermostat with easy zwave connectivity and ability to set a min cool temp?
Thanks
Vera Plus 1.7.2138; 12xHRDS1, 2xTrane SCHTZMT400 Tstats; 5xZIR00, 4xCA9000 PIRs; 2xHA01C Recept; 2x2wy ZDW120W switch; 1xAppl (ACT, GE/Jasco), 1xLite Dim Mod (GE/Jasco, Evolve);  2xDead Bolts Schlage

Offline JohnRob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: +11/-4
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2018, 01:34:58 pm »
Hi,

I have a similar thermostat from Honeywell.   I found it more reassuring setting the min and max at the thermostat using their menu.


Offline aecchalet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2018, 02:24:19 am »
Thanks for the tip.  I have to be there on site to manually set the min cooling temp. Fortunately, I will be there next week and it is now on my do list.
Vera Plus 1.7.2138; 12xHRDS1, 2xTrane SCHTZMT400 Tstats; 5xZIR00, 4xCA9000 PIRs; 2xHA01C Recept; 2x2wy ZDW120W switch; 1xAppl (ACT, GE/Jasco), 1xLite Dim Mod (GE/Jasco, Evolve);  2xDead Bolts Schlage

Offline kartcon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Can I set min cool temp on Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA thermostat?
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2018, 08:46:23 pm »
aecchalet,

I have the same thermostat and, while on a Vera 3 and UI5, the "Thermostat Min Max" plug in worked just fine for me. I have since moved to PLEG for all my logic, so it was not a necessity for me now on a Vera Secure and UI7. The plug in has not been updated since 2011 and may not support UI7, but if you're feeling adventurous I can confirm that it 'did' work with your thermostat some time ago. Search the app store to find the plug in.