We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX  (Read 3774 times)

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX
« on: September 24, 2011, 09:46:40 pm »
Sorry for yet another thread on this, there different existing threads seem to have come up empty for me.

I bought a Leviton VRCZ4-MRX from Amazon. I have the switch and Vera less than a foot from each other.   I can get it to include as a controller (hold down 1+3 until amber, then put Vera in full-power include mode).

However, Vera says "Adding local load #1" for a few seconds, then the awful "Failed to go into learn mode."  Then it goes back to "Add devices now."  I end up with a "_4 button zone controller (scene)" and that's it.

Other suggestions have been:
1) Do it again, and have Vera re-include.  I do that, and usually Vera deletes the controller.

2) Hold down 2+4 to do it again for the local load.  When I try this, I get button 1 to blink amber one (or 2) times, and nothing.

Any thoughts?   >:(
« Last Edit: September 24, 2011, 10:05:04 pm by PurdueGuy »
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2011, 09:53:26 pm »
2) Hold down 2+3 to do it again for the local load.  When I try this, I get button 1 to blink amber one (or 2) times, and nothing.
I believe it's 2+4 for the local load separately.
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2011, 10:04:50 pm »
2) Hold down 2+3 to do it again for the local load.  When I try this, I get button 1 to blink amber one (or 2) times, and nothing.
I believe it's 2+4 for the local load separately.
Oops...I meant 2+4.  I'll update the original post.
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline big517

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2011, 05:47:45 am »
Try putting vera into EXCLUDE mode then exclude it, and / or Factory Reset the switch by holding 1+3 for 10 seconds I believe.
I also remember something about putting the switch into learn mode BEFORE putting vera into include mode.

Let us know if it works.


Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2011, 01:42:39 pm »
Try putting vera into EXCLUDE mode then exclude it, and / or Factory Reset the switch by holding 1+3 for 10 seconds I believe.
I also remember something about putting the switch into learn mode BEFORE putting vera into include mode.

Let us know if it works.
I know I went silent, was in Asia for a few weeks.  Unfortunately, I've reset in, excluded/included, low-power, high-power, etc.  And I out the switch in learn mode first.  It's the same process with the Monster scene controllers, Leviton Zone Controllers (without local load).

I'm going to try some more, or get an exchange.
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2011, 02:02:29 pm »
I'm going to try some more, or get an exchange.
Just to be sure: it really is a VRCZ4-MRX / local load works after full reset?
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline PurdueGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Issues including Leviton VRCZ4-MRX
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2011, 02:05:12 pm »
Just to be sure: it really is a VRCZ4-MRX / local load works after full reset?
It's definitely with local load. After a reset, I can turn the light on and off.  Once I include it to Vera, Vera says "Including local load #1", and then "Failed to go into learn mode."  I can check the version number later.
Vera3, Leviton, Intermatic, SQ Blaster, HomeWave, DSC 1832, Insteon/Altsteon