Author Topic: Z-Wave command class COMMAND_CLASS_POWERLEVEL  (Read 3556 times)

Offline Ap15e

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
  • Karma: +12/-0
Z-Wave command class COMMAND_CLASS_POWERLEVEL
« on: September 30, 2011, 05:26:46 am »
What functionality is the Z-Wave command class COMMAND_CLASS_POWERLEVEL supposed to provide?

Does Vera support COMMAND_CLASS_POWERLEVEL?


Offline JohnR

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Z-Wave command class COMMAND_CLASS_POWERLEVEL
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2012, 07:36:03 pm »
Not sure if anyone is still reading on this post, but I had the same query.  I have a Jasco switch that has this Class listed.  Can it read power?

I found the fundamental level source code documentation at

http://open-zwave.googlecode.com/svn-history/r185/trunk/cpp/src/command_classes/Powerlevel.h

which has the look of 'sound levels' -- guessing at the dB indicators are decibels, but who knows.

In any event, let me know if you got a better grip on this command class's particulars.

JohnR

Offline oTi@

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
Re: Z-Wave command class COMMAND_CLASS_POWERLEVEL
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2012, 10:58:25 pm »
I thought it was for test/optimization purposes, to test communication links between nodes (by altering their transmit power).
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline Ap15e

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
  • Karma: +12/-0

Offline JohnR

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Z-Wave command class COMMAND_CLASS_POWERLEVEL
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 09:29:39 am »
Hmmm, yes, I gather that looks like internal network power setting (can't read the code too well and a bit sparse on comments).

Just to widen this thread a bit, is it a fair to say that any proper power metering will only be available with devices that have COMMAND_CLASS_METER in their device capabilities statement?  Leaving aside perhaps COMMAND_CLASS_METER_PULSE, which I presume is used for pulse-type readers on external 'dial type' electricity meters?