We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector  (Read 67190 times)

Offline Kozanator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2008, 02:10:38 am »
I just bought the Intermatic CA9000 motion detector because it's the only z-wave motion detector available in Canada.

I've been trying all day to get it to work, with NO luck.

Have you guys fixed the issues with this motion detector, or should I just try and return it to www.aartech.ca ? I hope they'll take it back.

If I am to get a new motion detector, what is the best one? I've been hearing talk about HSM100 and ZIR000 but you only sell the ZIR000 on your site.

My Z-WAVE Network: Intermatic - 6x HA18 Light Switches, 6x HA02 Modules, 3x HA04 Outdoor Modules, 1x InTouch CA8900 Thermostat and 1x HA09 Controller. Leviton - 3x VRS15-1LX Light Switches. HomeSeer - 3x HSM100 Multi-Sensors and of course... VERA

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2008, 08:37:06 am »
Just search this forum for CA9000

Offline wseverino

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Da Man, Da Myth, Da Legend - in his own mind!
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #17 on: November 16, 2008, 10:05:28 am »
My ZWave Network: Too friggin big to list.....

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #18 on: November 16, 2008, 10:06:59 am »
HSM100 isn't yet supported - guys, just search!

Offline Kozanator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #19 on: November 16, 2008, 11:59:01 pm »
Just did a search like you said and this forum only pulled up this tread and one other. So, I don't know what kind of searching you are doing.

Also, I already know there are problems with the CA9000, I just want to know if they are fixed.
My Z-WAVE Network: Intermatic - 6x HA18 Light Switches, 6x HA02 Modules, 3x HA04 Outdoor Modules, 1x InTouch CA8900 Thermostat and 1x HA09 Controller. Leviton - 3x VRS15-1LX Light Switches. HomeSeer - 3x HSM100 Multi-Sensors and of course... VERA

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2008, 07:27:22 pm »
It seems the CA9000 just cannot be made to work.  Intermatic insists that although it says Z-Wave, it's actually proprietary and designed to only work with an Intermatic controller.  They won't give us any of the variables/assocations or docs needed to figure out how it works.  We are adding support for the HSM and also the Hawking sensors.

Offline denix

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #21 on: November 26, 2008, 05:59:00 pm »
We are adding support for ... the Hawking sensors.

Do you mean door/window sensors?
Veras (1, 2, 3, Lite, Plus), lots of different Z-Wave modules, Luup plugins and theater/security integration.

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2008, 09:20:27 pm »
yes

Offline scottresnik

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #23 on: December 12, 2008, 03:22:32 pm »
Where can I find status on the HSM100 being supported.  Is there any way to make it work with the vera until offical support can be added?

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #24 on: December 16, 2008, 05:06:19 pm »
The HSM100 is supported in the new firmware, due in a day or two.  I'm using it and it works quite well.  The CA9000 is now also supported.  It works 50% of the time.  When it fails, though, it's because the unit doesn't do anything in response to motion.  It could be I have a defective unit, because it seems everything works fine on Vera's end.

Offline dean.collins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2008, 09:43:05 pm »
so how realistic is Vera to use as an 'alarm' system with this new firmware?

where can we find the information on how to set up this sensor?


Cheers,
Dean

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #26 on: December 17, 2008, 10:57:55 pm »
The HSM100 is supported in the new firmware, due in a day or two. 
When are you going to make it available in your store?

Offline zmistro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 966
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #27 on: December 17, 2008, 11:54:23 pm »
There is a issue with the Intermatic CA 9000 and battery consumption if the sensor does not go into sleep.

This may be the proprietary issue i'm not sure.

Offline 325xi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • V1, V2, still V2...
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #28 on: December 18, 2008, 12:00:12 am »
There is a issue with the Intermatic CA 9000 and battery consumption if the sensor does not go into sleep.

This may be the proprietary issue i'm not sure.


The biggest problem with CA9000 is that it's not 100% z-wave compatible. It depends on its proprietary InTouch controller properties, and Intermatic won't release the required documentation to adapt Vera (or any other 3rd party controller for instance) to be used with InTouch line.

There's no reason to use it on its own, ZIR000 and HSM100 seems to be much better alternatives

Offline micasaverde

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +15/-1
Re: Intermatic CA9000 motion detector
« Reply #29 on: December 20, 2008, 08:05:32 pm »
The HSML100 works fine with the new 404 firmware (see official announcements)