Author Topic: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)  (Read 3612 times)

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1194
  • Karma: +56/-22
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2018, 10:17:26 pm »
Shouldn't you guys report these bugs to that beta email address?  I don't think the developers are reading this thread are they?

Well I just did. Good suggestion.
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (134 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +26/-12
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2018, 02:43:03 am »
Does anyone have connection issues after upgrade?
I've lost connection to my remote controller. It was upgraded yesterday and worked fine till this morning, so probably issue is not related to the beta.
But maybe update has something with connection to Vera relays, or connection to router over WiFi?

Offline Sorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 937
  • Karma: +80/-8
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2018, 04:22:20 am »
@Sorin,

1. Very impressed by the increased UI speed. I have a lot of devices and UI7 always had a long lag to load the device page. It is significantly faster on this beta.
2. Something strange: The choice of icon for the binary light device "indoor switch" subcategory 1 is a plug while the "outdoor" one is a light bulb. Seems to be a mistake. Only the inwall switch (subcat 3) and on/off switch(subcat 0)should be a plug I believe. I can always go an edit all my subcategories but it seems odd.

Although not a very "visible" release, it has been but a lot of effort instability of on the Vera side, but also on the cloud side, starting with hardware updates, see https://status.getvera.com/ for past events: and continuing with the MMS software updates.

Does the upgrade of Z-wave SDK mean that there is no longer "restoring backup issue" for those, who already received such upgrade from Customer Care as a solution for stability issues?

Yes, the beta adds the final version of the Z-wave firmware, the Customer Care was uploading by hand.

There is something with icons: some of my lights are now presented as wallplugs.

Please report these to beta@getvera.com but make sure it's not some kind of a cache browser issue in the first place.

If you have critical problems, like loss of control of your Vera controller or similar, please contact our Customer Care at support@getvera.com or +1 866 966 2272 (toll free)

Shouldn't you guys report these bugs to that beta email address?  I don't think the developers are reading this thread are they?

Please report issues to beta@getvera.com. I will also keep an eye in here for critical reports.

Also, A BIG THANKS to everyone participating and making Vera a better place to be, by reporting vital feedback.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2018, 04:26:55 am by Sorin »
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION for Customer Care Department - 24/7

Offline Tsviper

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2018, 01:16:11 pm »
Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.

Offline rgmessick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2018, 01:27:18 pm »
Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.

I have to do the same thing after every upgrade. Before upgrading the device was at 71%, after upgrading 92% (I think), and after removing the other country's z-wave firmware was back down to 73%.

Offline Tsviper

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2018, 05:06:47 pm »
rgmessick,

Thank for commenting on this.  This is the first time I have ran into this issue and I usually try all the latest beta's.  Not sure why this time I ran into the problem.  The memory on these things is incredibly small (8.6mb).  The only thing I have installed that is using a lot of this space is the DataMine plugin.  Shows it using 2.6mb but other than that not sure what else I can eliminate to get more free space.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2018, 05:09:45 pm by Tsviper »

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +26/-12
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2018, 03:17:51 am »
Seems that there is problem with updating status of the devices.
Yesterday I had problem with Fibaro RGBW controller (one channel was reported as ON, when in fact it was ON), today I've tracked similar issue with Qubino (device is ON, in the system reported as OFF, but showing correct power consumption)

Offline rgmessick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2018, 07:45:00 am »
Tsviper,

Another problem that takes up space are plugin-ins, even if uninstalled.  Not thinking it would be a problem, I tried lots of them just to see what they did or how they could help automate things; then I would uninstall them.  Unfortunately the problem with that is some files are left behind even after uninstalling the plug-ins.  I searched this site and found bits here and there on how to clean this up and deleted almost 200 plug-in files that were no longer installed on my system. At that time I was running at around 90 percent even with the other country's z-wave firmware removed.  After removing the left behind plug-in files it was down to 71 percent. 

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1194
  • Karma: +56/-22
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2018, 11:57:09 am »
Tsviper,

Another problem that takes up space are plugin-ins, even if uninstalled.  Not thinking it would be a problem, I tried lots of them just to see what they did or how they could help automate things; then I would uninstall them.  Unfortunately the problem with that is some files are left behind even after uninstalling the plug-ins.  I searched this site and found bits here and there on how to clean this up and deleted almost 200 plug-in files that were no longer installed on my system. At that time I was running at around 90 percent even with the other country's z-wave firmware removed.  After removing the left behind plug-in files it was down to 71 percent.

Actually... plugin never really get deleted in my experience. Once you install it, the files never go away unless you go delete them manually. They just accumulate in the /etc/cmh-ludl folder. When a plugin is deleted, it just deletes the associated devices in the user file and the lines from the startup.
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (134 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +26/-12
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2018, 02:53:13 pm »
I've lost connection to my remote controller. It was upgraded yesterday and worked fine till this morning, so probably issue is not related to the beta.
But maybe update has something with connection to Vera relays, or connection to router over WiFi?

I've checked and the controller was not available online (remotely), while at the same time perfectly fine when connected locally.
I was prepared to make hard reset, but surprisingly connecting it via LAN (default was WiFi) solved the issue - it appeared as online on the web interface and worked without issues.
No change in network settings was needed.

Offline therealdb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Automate all the things!
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2018, 01:43:26 pm »
uhm, I wanted to add some code to my startup.lua, and added a bunch of lines (12) to my 1735 line of codes (I prefer to use scene to handle event and move much of the logic into a central place, under source control, etc).

I noticed that if I go over 1750 lines (more or less), no matter what the lines have inside, the LUUP engine crash at startup and I'm not able to recover it unless I go back to 1735. Code is working for sure, I double checked. Even commented code seems to trigger it.

I understand I can move some code to external files, but this seems a nasty bug to me...
Vera Edge, Fibaro FGRM 222 (12), Fibaro FGS 223 (20), Fibaro FGS 222 (5), Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor (2), Fibaro Plug (3), NeoCoolCam Door Sensor (3), NeoCoolCam PIR (1), Nest (3), Raspberry PI running my own integrations, Harmony Hub, OpenSprinkler, Personal Weather Station

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1194
  • Karma: +56/-22
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2018, 01:46:40 pm »
uhm, I wanted to add some code to my startup.lua, and added a bunch of lines (12) to my 1735 line of codes (I prefer to use scene to handle event and move much of the logic into a central place, under source control, etc).

I noticed that if I go over 1750 lines (more or less), no matter what the lines have inside, the LUUP engine crash at startup and I'm not able to recover it unless I go back to 1735. Code is working for sure, I double checked. Even commented code seems to trigger it.

I understand I can move some code to external files, but this seems a nasty bug to me...

Wow... you probably want to spin off some of your code into a file to include in you lua startup. I am pretty sure it crashes because your vera times out trying to load the startup lua.
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (134 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline therealdb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Automate all the things!
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2018, 01:49:57 pm »
it's working OK. what they do is to get all the code in scenes and append before the startup.lua, so that will not change very much.

I think I found the bug, related to char limits -> http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=53039.0
Vera Edge, Fibaro FGRM 222 (12), Fibaro FGS 223 (20), Fibaro FGS 222 (5), Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor (2), Fibaro Plug (3), NeoCoolCam Door Sensor (3), NeoCoolCam PIR (1), Nest (3), Raspberry PI running my own integrations, Harmony Hub, OpenSprinkler, Personal Weather Station

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1194
  • Karma: +56/-22
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2018, 03:03:23 pm »
it's working OK. what they do is to get all the code in scenes and append before the startup.lua, so that will not change very much.

I think I found the bug, related to char limits -> http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=53039.0

This is for scenes though. We may have the same thing for the startup lua in terms of # of lines?
openLuup (97 devices, 134 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (134 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 20 scenes , 2 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa. VeraPlus ExtRooted!

Offline xeinth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
« Reply #29 on: April 23, 2018, 10:41:04 pm »

Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.

I have to do the same thing after every upgrade. Before upgrading the device was at 71%, after upgrading 92% (I think), and after removing the other country's z-wave firmware was back down to 73%.

I have to do the same thing as well.  Why Vera refuses to fix this and instead manage all of these supoprt tickets manually doing the same thing is beyond me.  At the very least, automate deleting the unneeded files if you wont fix the partition.

X