We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: SQ Remote import to Vera  (Read 5505 times)

Offline Adam2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
SQ Remote import to Vera
« on: October 05, 2011, 05:12:52 pm »
Is there any way to take the data from SQ Remote and create .xml files that can be uploaded to Vera using a PC?

My situation is that I'm trying to controll a Samsung TV and the iPad App does this flawlessly. However, when I try to control it via Vera's native UI, it sends the command and does nothing after it says the command was successfully sent.

I think my current .xml files (the ones on Vera) are configured properly because I can see all the options like VolumeUp and VolumeDown etc. I contacted a Samsung CSR via chat and asked for the remote codes sent from the remote to the TV that were specific to the model number of the Samsung TV in question. They sent those, but they are all in the wrong format.

Uploaded is the xml file from the iPad (working) that I don't know how to get to work with the PC UI.

Thanks for your help!

Offline Adam2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 05:17:54 pm »
Sorry for the double post, but if you would like any other files, please let me know. I may not be able to get those to you until Monday however, because of a business trip that is up in the air right now  :-\

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2011, 05:38:10 pm »
I assume you have a blaster already and you are using the blaster plugin?

Anyway you can create Vera Plugins from the blaster backups, see the following two threads for methods:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=7239.0
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=4639.15
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline Adam2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2011, 05:42:36 pm »
strangely - Thanks for your reply and those threads.

Yes I've got an IR Puck that is verified working with an old Zenith. I'll see what those threads have to offer and I'll get back as soon as I can
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 05:44:14 pm by Adam2013 »

Offline Adam2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2011, 06:16:37 pm »
Okay I think I got them. I just don't know what to name them  ???  8)

The implementation file is New Text Document_I.xml and the other is (obviously) New Text Document_D.xml

I know it matters what they are named, and I have no idea what they should be named. If you could let me in on that secret, that would be much appreciated :)

Thank you for all your help!!!

And for all those who read this thread and who are looking for a good in-browser XLST tool, look no farther than http://www.shell-tools.net/index.php?op=xslt

EDIT: Forgot to upload files :S
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 06:18:30 pm by Adam2013 »

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2011, 10:29:13 pm »
A few things:

a) Typically I name the files I_SQdev839896760.xml, and D_SQdevdev839896760.xml, named after the source file.
b) Avoid using spaces in Plugin filenames, we don't know how well that will behave (or mis-behave) in MiOS
c) The D_SQxxxxxx.xml file has a reference to the I_SQdevxxxxxx.xml, so if you change the filenames, you must change this reference (inside the file) also.
d) You MUST generate the I_ file first, and the D_ file second
e) You MUST use the I_ file, and the filter to generate the D_ file.


Reading your current D_ file, it looks like (d) or (e) was messed up somehow, since it's missing a lot of it's content, content that would normally be generated out of the I_ file.

Offline Adam2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2011, 02:26:04 am »
Okay I'll get those named correctly. As for part e), I know I didn't use the I_ file and the .xls to generate the D_ file. Where would I copy those both into this parser: http://www.shell-tools.net/index.php?op=xslt ? Would it be something like it is in the screen shot (Capture.jpg)?

The SQBlaster_D.xsl is here from your previous post: http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_sqblaster/browser/trunk/xslt/SQBlaster_D.xsl

EDIT:
Attached the resulting D_ and I_ files.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 02:40:37 am by Adam2013 »

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2011, 02:41:14 am »
In the online tool, you paste the contents of the SQBlaster_D.xsl file into the "xslt" field, and the contents of the I_SQdev839896760.xml file into the "xml" field.

The transformed output would then need to be saved as D_SQdev839896760.xml

Offline Adam2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2011, 02:46:29 am »
In the online tool, you paste the contents of the SQBlaster_D.xsl file into the "xslt" field, and the contents of the I_SQdev839896760.xml file into the "xml" field.

The transformed output would then need to be saved as D_SQdev839896760.xml

Okay thank you. That's what I did to get the resulting D_ file above  :)
Does everything look correct to you?

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2011, 10:42:51 am »
@Adam2013,
Looking at the latest revs of the D_ and I_ files you've attached above, they look correct.

Note that there are a number of IR Commands that couldn't be mapped, you'll see these in the I_xxxx file in blocks like this one:
    <action>
      <serviceId>urn:squareconnect-com:serviceId:PlaceHolderAV1</serviceId>
      <name>PICTURE MODE MOVIE 1</name>
      <sqblaster command_name="PICTURE MODE MOVIE 1" SQKeyCode="0"/>
      <ir>P9f18 957d 6be0 224a ae23 70ef 907d 5522 a2eb b587 4805 42e3 0f5c 048e d36d 3e41 f5d3 201b fc5c be57 a76a e9d5 ae7b 85a3 a2eb b587 4805 42e3 0f5c 048e d36d 3e41 d95c 04e7 037b 83eb 5146 4643 5211 c619 e2fd 670d 1b21 4432 ec1b b994 12df fcaa 4a58 3f03 6eb4 4c41 8b69 06de 27bc 5281 d95c 04e7 037b 83eb 5146 4643 5211 c619 eca3 b16d 5300 c50f fcd8 be57 419f 1b50  </ir>
    </action>


Most have a SQKeyCode value of "0", but some actually have a value, it's just that I don't know how to "map" these onto the equivalent codes in MiOS.


In the online tool, you paste the contents of the SQBlaster_D.xsl file into the "xslt" field, and the contents of the I_SQdev839896760.xml file into the "xml" field.

The transformed output would then need to be saved as D_SQdev839896760.xml

Okay thank you. That's what I did to get the resulting D_ file above  :)
Does everything look correct to you?

Offline Adam2013

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2011, 04:53:12 pm »
@strangely: Those look like mostly the input selection, picture mode, PiP, and only some sound options; many of which can be changed via the menu function anyway. While those are not important for my use, is there anything I can provide you with that will help revise the .xls files that you provided for others to use? Or are you just waiting on an updated API? I'll upload them on Monday around 3pm CST (UTC -5) and let you know how they work. I don't have any doubts though  ;D

Thank you so much for your help!!

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: SQ Remote import to Vera
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2011, 10:10:05 pm »
@Adam2013,
It might pay to raise up the items that have SQKeyCode=0, but appear to have "common" functions, to Mat/John.  These should be listed with SQKeyCodes as that's the primary driver to "map" these IR functions to something else (like MiOS).

I have a fallback behavior when SQKeyCode=0, which looks at the Label, but it's not very precise, and likely to create duplicate Actions under MiOS (so I've used it extremely sparingly in the XSLT files)